1	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5
2	INTRODUCED BY B. TSCHIDA, M. BLASDEL, D. HOWARD, J. FULLER, C. HINKLE, B. MITCHELL, V.
3	RICCI, J. SCHILLINGER
4	
5	A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF
6	MONTANA ON THE FEDERAL TAXATION OF GUNS.
7	
8	WHEREAS, the federal government, under the administration of President Biden, is promoting the
9	taxation of privately owned guns; and
10	WHEREAS, the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution states that " the right of the
11	people to keep and bear Arms shall not be infringed"; and
12	WHEREAS, the word "infringement" means "an encroachment, as of a right or privilege"; and
13	WHEREAS, we, the duly elected representatives of the State of Montana, believe such taxation is an
14	unconstitutional infringement of the constitutional right of all of our citizens to keep and bear arms.
15	
16	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
17	THE STATE OF MONTANA:
18	That the State of Montana, through the vote of its duly elected state senators and representatives,
19	declare that the taxation of privately held guns is unconstitutional and does not have the power of law and is,
20	therefore, unenforceable.
21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that in the event of the introduction of any such legislation, our United
22	States senators and representative be directed to vociferously voice this opinion of the citizens of the State of
23	Montana to the United States Senate and House of Representatives, respectively.
24	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that in the event of the introduction of such a bill, our United States
25	senators and representative be directed to vote unanimously against the legislation or any other legislation that
26	may in any way infringe on the constitutional right to bear arms.
27	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State send a copy of this resolution to each
28	member of the Montana Congressional Delegation, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States



- 1 Senate and House of Representatives, the President of the United States, the Governor of Montana, the
- 2 Montana Attorney General, the Montana State Superintendent of Schools, and the Montana State Auditor.

3

- END -

