
68th Legislature 2023 HB 360.1

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 360	
2	INTRODUCED BY S. GALLOWAY, S. GUNDERSON, T. WELCH, F. ANDERSON, S. KERNS, J.	
3	SCHILLINGER, T. RUNNING WOLF, S. GIST, G. NIKOLAKAKOS, K. ZOLNIKOV, S. VINTON, L. SHELDOI	N-
4	GALLOWAY, M. BERTOGLIO, L. BREWSTER, G. FRAZER, J. HINKLE, B. LER, A. REGIER, K. SEEKINS	}-
5	CROWE, R. MARSHALL, E. BUTTREY, L. JONES, D. LOGE, C. HINKLE, G. OBLANDER, J. BERGSTROM	M,
6	T. BROCKMAN, M. YAKAWICH, K. REGIER, S. HINEBAUCH, M. NOLAND, D. BARTEL, G. HERTZ, B.	
7	GILLESPIE, M. LANG, P. GREEN, G. KMETZ, C. SPRUNGER, B. BARKER, J. ETCHART, R. MINER, D.	
8	EMRICH, J. TREBAS, B. BEARD, L. DEMING, N. DURAM, R. KNUDSEN	
9		
10	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT ALLOWING COUNTIES TO ELECT COMMISSIONERS BY	
11	DISTRICT IF THE COUNTY HAS A COMMISSION FORM OF GOVERNMENT; AND AMENDING SECTION	7
12	3-412, MCA."	
13		
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:	
15		
16	Section 1. Section 7-3-412, MCA, is amended to read:	
17	"7-3-412. Selection of commission members. The commission shall-must be:	
18	(1) elected at large;	
19	(2) elected by districts in which candidates must reside and which are apportioned by population	١;
20	(3) elected at large and nominated by a plan of nomination that may not preclude the possibility	of
21	the majority of the electors nominating candidates for the majority of the seats on the commission from perso	ns
22	residing in the district or districts where the majority of the electors reside; or	
23	(4) elected by any combination of districts district, in which candidates must reside and which are	е
24	apportioned by population, and at large."	
25	- END -	

