HOUSE JOURNAL 68TH LEGISLATURE THIRD LEGISLATIVE DAY

Helena, Montana House Chambers January 04, 2023 State Capitol

House convened at 1:00 p.m. Mr. Speaker presiding. Invocation by Representative Duram. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Roll Call. All members present, except Representative Flament, excused. Quorum Present.

REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

APPROPRIATIONS (Jones, Chair):

01/03/2023

HB 53, do pass. Report adopted.

FISH, WILDLIFE AND PARKS (Fitzgerald, Chair):

01/03/2023

HB 73, do pass. Report adopted.

HB 86, do pass. Report adopted.

HUMAN SERVICES (Carlson, Chair):

01/03/2023

HB 39, do pass. Report adopted.

SECOND READING OF BILLS (COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE)

Majority Leader Vinton moved the House resolve itself into a Committee of the Whole for consideration of business on second reading. Motion carried. Representative Zolnikov in the chair.

Mr. Speaker: We, your Committee of the Whole, having had under consideration business on second reading, recommend as follows:

HR 1 - Representative C. Knudsen moved **HR 1** be adopted.

HR 1 - Representative J. Hinkle moved **HR 1**, second reading copy, be amended with HR0001.002.002.

Amendment **not adopted** as follows:

Yeas: Bergstrom, Brewster, Carlson, Deming, Duram, Essmann, Etchart, Falk, Fielder, Galloway, Gillette, Gunderson, Hellegaard, Hinkle C, Hinkle J, Keenan, Kerns, Kmetz, Knudsen R, Ler, Marshall, Mercer, Miner, Mitchell, Moore T, Nave, Nicol, Oblander, Phalen, Read, Regier A, Reksten, Rusk, Schillinger, Seekins-Crowe, Sheldon-Galloway, Smith T, Vinton, Yakawich, Zolnikov, Mr. Speaker.

Total 41

Nays: Abbott, Anderson, Barker, Baum, Bedey, Bertoglio, Binkley, Bishop, Brockman, Buckley, Buttrey, Caferro, Carter, Cohenour, Dooling, Fern, Fitzgerald, Fitzpatrick, France, Frazer, Gist,

Green, Hamilton, Harvey, Hawk, Hopkins, Howell, Jones, Karlen, Kassmier, Keogh, Kerr-Carpenter, Knudsen C, Kortum, Loge, Lynch, Malone, Marler, Matthews, Nikolakakos, Parry, Romano, Running Wolf, Smith F, Smith L, Sprunger, Stafman, Stewart Peregoy, Stromswold, Sullivan, Thane, Tuss, Walsh, Weatherwax, Welch, Windy Boy, Wirth, Zephyr. Total 58

Voted absentee: None.

Excused: Flament.

Total 1

Absent or not voting: None.

Total 0

HR 1 - Representative Brewster moved **HR 1**, second reading copy, be amended with HR0001.002.001.

Amendment **not adopted** as follows:

Yeas: Bergstrom, Bertoglio, Brewster, Carlson, Deming, Duram, Essmann, Etchart, Falk, Fielder, Galloway, Gillette, Gist, Gunderson, Hellegaard, Hinkle C, Hinkle J, Keenan, Kerns, Kmetz, Knudsen R, Ler, Malone, Marshall, Mercer, Miner, Mitchell, Moore T, Nave, Nicol, Oblander, Phalen, Read, Regier A, Reksten, Rusk, Schillinger, Seekins-Crowe, Sheldon-Galloway, Smith T, Vinton, Yakawich, Zolnikov, Mr. Speaker.

Nays: Abbott, Anderson, Barker, Baum, Bedey, Binkley, Bishop, Brockman, Buckley, Buttrey, Caferro, Carter, Cohenour, Dooling, Fern, Fitzgerald, Fitzpatrick, France, Frazer, Green, Hamilton, Harvey, Hawk, Hopkins, Howell, Jones, Karlen, Kassmier, Keogh, Kerr-Carpenter, Knudsen C, Kortum, Loge, Lynch, Marler, Matthews, Nikolakakos, Parry, Romano, Running Wolf, Smith F, Smith L, Sprunger, Stafman, Stewart Peregoy, Stromswold, Sullivan, Thane, Tuss, Walsh, Weatherwax, Welch, Windy Boy, Wirth, Zephyr.

Total 55

Voted absentee: None.

Excused: Flament.

Total 1

Absent or not voting: None.

Total 0

HR 1 - Minority Leader Abbott moved **HR 1**, second reading copy, be amended with <u>HR0001.002.004</u>.

Amendment **not adopted** as follows:

Yeas: Abbott, Baum, Bishop, Buckley, Caferro, Carter, Cohenour, Duram, Fern, France, Hamilton, Harvey, Hawk, Howell, Karlen, Keogh, Kerr-Carpenter, Kortum, Lynch, Marler, Matthews, Romano, Running Wolf, Smith F, Smith L, Stafman, Stewart Peregoy, Sullivan, Thane, Tuss, Weatherwax, Windy Boy, Zephyr.

Total 33

Nays: Anderson, Barker, Bedey, Bergstrom, Bertoglio, Binkley, Brewster, Brockman, Buttrey, Carlson, Deming, Dooling, Essmann, Etchart, Falk, Fielder, Fitzgerald, Fitzpatrick, Frazer, Galloway, Gillette, Gist, Green, Gunderson, Hellegaard, Hinkle C, Hinkle J, Hopkins, Jones, Kassmier, Keenan, Kerns, Kmetz, Knudsen C, Knudsen R, Ler, Loge, Malone, Marshall, Mercer, Miner, Mitchell, Moore T, Nave, Nicol, Nikolakakos, Oblander, Parry, Phalen, Read, Regier A, Reksten, Rusk, Schillinger, Seekins-Crowe, Sheldon-Galloway, Smith T, Sprunger, Stromswold, Vinton, Walsh, Welch, Wirth, Yakawich, Zolnikov, Mr. Speaker.

Voted absentee: None.

Excused: Flament.

Total 1

Absent or not voting: None.

Total 0

HR 1 - Representative C. Knudsen moved **HR 1** be adopted. Motion adopted as follows:

Yeas: Abbott, Anderson, Barker, Baum, Bedey, Bertoglio, Binkley, Bishop, Brockman, Buckley, Buttrey, Caferro, Carter, Cohenour, Dooling, Fern, Fitzgerald, Fitzpatrick, France, Frazer, Green, Hamilton, Harvey, Hawk, Hopkins, Howell, Jones, Karlen, Kassmier, Keogh, Kerr-Carpenter, Knudsen C, Kortum, Loge, Lynch, Malone, Marler, Matthews, Nikolakakos, Parry, Romano, Running Wolf, Smith F, Smith L, Sprunger, Stafman, Stewart Peregoy, Stromswold, Sullivan, Thane, Tuss, Walsh, Weatherwax, Welch, Windy Boy, Wirth, Zephyr Total: 57

Nays: Bergstrom, Brewster, Carlson, Deming, Duram, Essmann, Etchart, Falk, Fielder, Galloway, Gillette, Gist, Gunderson, Hellegaard, Hinkle C, Hinkle J, Keenan, Kerns, Kmetz, Knudsen R, Ler, Marshall, Mercer, Miner, Mitchell, Moore T, Nave, Nicol, Oblander, Phalen, Read, Regier A, Reksten, Rusk, Schillinger, Seekins-Crowe, Sheldon-Galloway, Smith T, Vinton, Yakawich, Zolnikov, Mr. Speaker.

Total: 42

Voted absentee: None.

Excused: Flament.

Total 1

Absent or not voting: None. Total 0

Majority Leader Vinton moved the Committee rise and report. Motion carried. Committee arose. House resumed. Mr. Speaker presiding. Chair Zolnikov moved the Committee of the Whole report be adopted. Report adopted as follows:

Yeas: Abbott, Anderson, Barker, Baum, Bedey, Bertoglio, Binkley, Bishop, Brewster, Brockman, Buckley, Buttrey, Caferro, Carter, Cohenour, Dooling, Duram, Essmann, Etchart, Falk, Fern, Fitzgerald, France, Frazer, Green, Hamilton, Harvey, Hawk, Hopkins, Howell, Jones, Karlen, Kassmier, Keogh, Kerns, Kerr-Carpenter, Knudsen C, Knudsen R, Kortum, Ler, Loge, Lynch, Malone, Marler, Matthews, Mercer, Miner, Moore T, Nikolakakos, Oblander, Parry, Phalen, Reksten, Romano, Running Wolf, Rusk, Smith F, Smith L, Smith T, Sprunger, Stafman, Stewart Peregoy, Stromswold, Sullivan, Thane, Tuss, Vinton, Walsh, Weatherwax, Welch, Windy Boy, Wirth, Yakawich, Zephyr, Mr. Speaker.

Nays: Bergstrom, Carlson, Deming, Fielder, Galloway, Gillette, Gist, Gunderson, Hellegaard, Hinkle C, Hinkle J, Keenan, Kmetz, Marshall, Mitchell, Nave, Nicol, Read, Regier A, Schillinger, Seekins-Crowe, Sheldon-Galloway, Zolnikov. Total 23

Voted absentee: None.

Excused: Flament.

Total 1

Absent or not voting: Fitzpatrick.

Total 1

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Mr. Speaker, I move that the following undersigned name be **ADDED** as sponsor to **HB 164**. Motion carried.

HB 164 (D. Harvey, Chief Sponsor)

R. Carter

Mr. Speaker, I move that the following undersigned name be **ADDED** as sponsor to **HB 165**. Motion carried.

HB 165 (D. Harvey, Chief Sponsor) J. Karlen

Mr. Speaker, I move that the following undersigned name be **ADDED** as sponsor to **HB 166**. Motion carried.

HB 166 (D. Harvey, Chief Sponsor) E. Matthews

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Committee meetings were announced by the committee chairs.

Majority Leader Vinton moved the House adjourn until 1:00 p.m., Thursday, January 05, 2023. Motion carried.

House adjourned at 2:17 p.m.

CAROLYN TSCHIDA Chief Clerk of the House MATT REGIER Speaker of the House