68th Legislature 2023 SB 109.1

1	SENATE BILL NO. 109
2	INTRODUCED BY K. REGIER
3	
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REVISING PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION DISTRICTS;
5	CREATING PROCEDURES FOR COMMISSION DISTRICT ADJUSTMENT; AMENDING SECTION 69-1-104,
6	MCA; AND PROVIDING AN IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATE."
7	
8	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
9	
10	Section 1. Section 69-1-104, MCA, is amended to read:
11	"69-1-104. Public service commission districts. (1) In this state there are five public service
12	commission districts, with one commissioner elected from each district, distributed as follows:
13	(1)(a) first district: Blaine, Cascade, Chouteau, Daniels, Dawson, Fergus, Garfield, Glacier, Hill, Judith
14	Basin, Liberty, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Toole,
15	Valley, and Wibaux Counties;
16	(2)(b) second district: Big Horn, Carbon, Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Prairie, Rosebud,
17	Treasure, and Yellowstone Counties;
18	(3)(c) third district: Beaverhead, Broadwater, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Golden Valley, Jefferson,
19	Madison, Meagher, Musselshell, Park, Silver Bow, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Wheatland Counties;
20	(4)(d) fourth district: Deer Lodge, Granite, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli, and Sanders
21	Counties;
22	(5)(e) fifth district: Flathead, Glacier, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Pondera, and Teton Counties.
23	(2) The legislature shall evaluate existing commission districts during the legislative session
24	following the receipt of the official final decennial census data and may adjust commission boundaries to
25	comply with the United States constitution."
26	
27	NEW SECTION. Section 2. Effective date. [This act] is effective on passage and approval.
28	- END -

