Clickable Image

     1-1-216. Legal holidays and business days. (1) The following are legal holidays in the state of Montana:
     (a) Each Sunday;
     (b) New Year's Day, January 1;
     (c) Martin Luther King Jr. Day, the third Monday in January;
     (d) Lincoln's and Washington's Birthdays, the third Monday in February;
     (e) Memorial Day, the last Monday in May;
     (f) Independence Day, July 4;
     (g) Labor Day, the first Monday in September;
     (h) Columbus Day, the second Monday in October;
     (i) Veterans' Day, November 11;
     (j) Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November;
     (k) Christmas Day, December 25;
     (l) State general election day.
     (2) (a) If any of the holidays in subsection (1)(b) through (1)(l) fall on a Sunday, the Monday following is a holiday.
     (b) If any of the holidays in subsection (1)(b) through (1)(l) fall on a Saturday, the Friday preceding is a holiday.
     (c) All other days are business days.

     History: En. Sec. 10, Pol. C. 1895; re-en. Sec. 10, Rev. C. 1907; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 21, L. 1921; re-en. Sec. 10, R.C.M. 1921; Cal. Pol. C. Secs. 10-11; re-en. Sec. 10, R.C.M. 1935; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 209, L. 1955; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 6, L. 1965; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 89, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 32, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 16, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 19-107(part); amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 431, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 17, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 131, L. 2013.

Previous Section MCA Contents Part Contents Search Help Next Section