Clickable Image

     5-1-102. Composition of commission. (1) The majority and minority leaders of each house shall each designate one commissioner for the commission provided for in 5-1-101. Two commissioners must be appointed from each district listed in subsection (2). The majority leader in the senate has first choice of the district from which the majority leader will select a commissioner, and the majority leader of the house has second choice. Within 20 days after their designation, the four commissioners shall select the fifth member, who shall serve as the presiding officer of the commission. If the four members fail to select the fifth member within the time prescribed, a majority of the supreme court shall select the fifth member.
     (2) The commission districts are the following counties:
     (a) District 1: Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli, Powell, Granite, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, Park, Sweet Grass, Stillwater, and Carbon;
     (b) District 2: Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Richland, McCone, Garfield, Petroleum, Fergus, Judith Basin, Cascade, Chouteau, Teton, Pondera, Lewis and Clark, Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley, Musselshell, Treasure, Rosebud, Custer, Prairie, Dawson, Wibaux, Fallon, Carter, Powder River, Big Horn, and Yellowstone.

     History: En. Sec. 2, Ch. 21, L. 1973; R.C.M. 1947, 43-109; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 52, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 254, L. 2003.

Previous Section MCA Contents Part Contents Search Help Next Section