



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 67th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

Mark Blasdel Jill Cohenour Jason Ellsworth Pat Flowers JP Pomnichowski Cary Smith

HOUSE MEMBERS

Kim Abbott Laurie Bishop Wylie Galt Derek Harvey Casey Knudsen Rhonda Knudsen

COMMITTEE STAFF

Susan Fox - Executive Director Todd Everts - Attorney Fong Hom - Secretary

MINUTES LOG

December 17, 2021 Room 355/Zoom, Capitol Building Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Sen. Mark Blasdel, Chair (R)

Rep. Kim Abbott, Vice Chair (D)

Rep. Laurie Bishop (D)

Sen. Pat Flowers (D)

Rep. Wylie Galt (R)

Rep. Derek Harvey (D)

Rep. Rhonda Knudsen (R)

Sen. JP Pomnichowski (D)

Sen. Cary Smith (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Sen. Jill Cohenour (D)

Sen. Jason Ellsworth (R)

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Rep. Casey Knudsen (R)

STAFF PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Susan Fox, Executive Director Todd Everts, Attorney Fong Hom, Secretary

AGENDA

VISITORS' LIST

COMMITTEE ACTION

The Legislative Council voted to allocate \$50,000 to the Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission from the Emerging Funds Account.

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

13:02:49 Presiding Officer Blasdel called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. The committee

secretary called roll. (Attachment 1)

REQUEST FROM DISTRICTING AND APPORTIONMENT FOR ADDITIONAL FUNDS

13:05:18 Sen. Blasdel discussed the Districting and Apportionment Commission's request

for \$50,000 to hire outside technical and professional consultants to assist the

Commission in its redistricting tasks. (Exhibit 1)

Motion

Rep. Abbott moved to appropriate \$50,000 to the Montana Districting and

Apportionment Commission.

Vote

The motion passed on a voice vote of those members present to vote.

ADJOURNMENT

13:08:13 With no further business before the committee, Sen. Blasdel adjourned the

meeting at 1:08 p.m.