

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 67th Montana Legislature

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS Mark Blasdel Jill Cohenour Jason Ellsworth Pat Flowers JP Pomnichowski Cary Smith HOUSE MEMBERS Kim Abbott Laurie Bishop Wylie Galt Derek Harvey Casey Knudsen Rhonda Knudsen COMMITTEE STAFF Todd Everts - Attorney Susan Fox - Executive Director Fong Hom - Secretary

MINUTES LOG Subcommittee on Succession Planning

September 27, 2021 Zoom Conference Call Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Blasdel, Chair (R) Sen. Ellsworth (R) Sen. Flowers (D) Sen. Smith (R) Sen. Pomnichowski (D)

Rep. Kim Abbott, Vice Chair (D) Rep. Bishop (D) Rep. Galt, Vice Chair (R) Rep. Derek Harvey (D) Rep. C. Knudsen Rep. R. Knudsen

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Sen. Jill Cohenour

STAFF PRESENT:

Susan Fox, Executive Director

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL SERVICES MANAGER AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST

SUBCOMMITTEE ACTION

Sen. Blasdel appointed Sen. Jason Ellsworth, Sen. JP Pomnichowski, Rep. Derek Harvey, and Rep. Rhonda Knudsen as members of the subcommittee.

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

08:02:40 Sen. Blasdel called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m. Susan Fox, Executive Director, called roll.

SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERS DISCUSSION

08:03:38 Sen. Blasdel said that Sen. Ellsworth and Rep. Rhonda Knudsen offered to serve on the subcommittee. Rep. Abbott said the House Democrats will appoint Rep. Harvey to the subcommitte and Sen. Pomnichowski said the Senate Democrats will appoint Sen. Pomnichowski to the subcommittee.

MEMBERS APPOINTED TO THE SUBCOMMITTEE

08:04:21 Sen. Blasdel said that without objection, he will appoint Sen. Jason Ellsworth, Sen. JP Pomnichowski, Rep. Derek Harvey, and Rep. Rhonda Knudsen as members of the subcommittee to work on the process of selecting the next Executive Director.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

08:05:13 *Rep. Harvey joined the meeting.*

ADJOURNMENT

08:05:38 Sen. Blasdel adjourned the meeting at 8:05 a.m.