

## Legislative Council – Legislative Space Workgroup

## 68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS JANET ELLIS JASON ELLSWORTH PAT FLOWERS

HOUSE MEMBERS DAVID BEDEY DEREK HARVEY RHONDA KNUDSEN PUBLIC MEMBERS AMY CARLSON - Director, LFD ANGUS MACIVER - Director, LAD JERRY HOWE - Director, LSD MARILYN MILLER, Secretary of the Senate CAROLYN TSCHIDA, Chief Clerk of the House COMMITTEE STAFF JOE TRIEM - Lead Staff DANIEL ROSENBERG - Secretary

- TO: Legislative Council Members
- FROM: The Legislative Space Workgroup

RE: Long-Range Legislative Branch Capital Development Plan

DATE: March 14, 2024

Based on feedback received at the November 6, 2023, meeting of the Legislative Council, the Space Plan Workgroup modified its Long-Range Legislative Branch Capital Development Plan as follows. The modified report:

- Identifies the optimal long-range space requirements of the legislature and its supporting professional staff;
- Acknowledges that broad legislative input and additional study are necessary to determine whether capital improvements are necessary;
- Removes the recommendation for capital improvement;
- Clarifies that some program elements are ideally suited to be within the Capitol Building, while others may be more effectively designed if located in a facility outside of the Capitol Building.

In compliance with the requirements of HB 856, the Space Plan Workgroup respectfully submits this modified report that contains:

- Recommendations based on stakeholder input about necessary space requirements;
- An impartial analysis by the design team about the optimal long-range space requirements;
- An impartial determination by the design team that the existing historic Capitol is not capable of supporting the optimal space needs without additional space allocated outside of the historic Capitol Building;
- Recognition that this report is a framework based on optimal conditions, and that future implementation could vary from optimal yet still be effective;
- An acknowledgment that further study is required to determine the highest/best use priorities for the legislature and its staff before any solution is implemented.

Representative Rhonda Knudsen *Presiding Officer*  Senator Jason Ellsworth President of the Senate

**Representative Derek Harvey** 

Senator Pat Flowers Senate Minority Leader

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL MANAGER • KELLY DASILVA, HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER