

SENATE MEMBERS Kenneth Bogner Jason Ellsworth Steve Fitzpatrick Pat Flowers Shannon O'Brien Susan Webber

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 68th Montana Legislature

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

HOUSE MEMBERS Kim Abbott Alice Buckley Derek Harvey Rhonda Knudsen Matt Regier Sue Vinton COMMITTEE STAFF Todd Everts - Legal Division Director Jerry Howe - Executive Director Daniel Rosenberg - Secretary

MINUTES LOG

August 23, 2023 Capitol Room 137 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <u>https://leg.mt.gov</u>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Matt Regier, Chair (R) Sen. Pat Flowers, Vice Chair (D) Sen. Kenneth Bogner (R) Rep. Alice Buckley (D) Sen. Jason Ellsworth (R) Sen. Steve Fitzpatrick (R) Rep. Derek Harvey (D) Rep. Rhonda Knudsen (R) Rep. Sue Vinton (R) Sen. Susan Webber (D)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Rep. Kim Abbott (D) Sen. Shannon O'Brien (D)

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Todd Everts, Legal Division Director Jerry Howe, Executive Director

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL SERVICES MANAGER Daniel Rosenberg, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

09:30:35 Chair Regier called the meeting to order at 9:30 AM. The committee secretary took roll.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE

09:31:49 Jerry Howe, Executive Director, Legislative Services Division (LSD)

New Employee Introductions

09:32:02 Kelly DaSilva, Human Resource Manager, LSD

OLIS Hiring Update

09:35:20 Dale Gow, Chief Information Officer, LSD

EXHIBIT1 EXHIBIT2

Committee Questions/ Discussion

- 09:48:00 Sen. Ellsworth
- 09:51:40 Sen. Flowers
- 09:53:24 Todd Everts, Legal Director, LSD
- 09:54:29 Sen. Fitzpatrick
- 09:59:28 Rep. Vinton
- 10:00:22 Rep. Knudsen
- 10:02:00 Rep. Harvey
- 10:03:08 Chair Regier
- 10:08:10 Sen. Ellsworth
- 10:08:51 Rep. Knudsen

Motion

10:10:57 Rep. Harvey moved to approve four positions out of the IT reserve account.

Discussion on the Motion

| 10:11:11 | Sen. Ellsworth |
|----------|----------------|
| 10:12:25 | Rep. Buckley |

<u>Vote</u>

10:13:21 The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

LEGAL OFFICE UPDATE

Codification

10:14:30 Todd Everts

2023 MCA Reduced Folio Pricing for Local Government Entities

10:15:32 Todd Everts

Committee Questions/ Discussion

10:18:03 Rep. Vinton

Public Comment

| 10:20:25 | Connor Fitzpatrick, Lewis and Clark County Elections |
|----------|--|
| | |

10:21:31 Amy Reeves, Lewis and Clark County, Treasurer/Clerk and Recorder

<u>Motion</u>

10:22:55 Rep. Vinton moved that local government be charged the same rate for the folio that state agencies are charged.

Committee Questions/ Discussion

10:23:20 Chair Regier

<u>Vote</u>

10:23:33 The motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

Uniform Electronic Legal materials Act

10:24:01 Todd Everts <u>EXHIBIT3</u> EXHIBIT4

Litigation Update, SB 442

10:28:45 Todd Everts EXHIBIT5

LEGISLATIVE AUDITOR MOVE UPDATE

10:31:20 Angus Maclver, Director, Legislative Audit Division (LAD)

Committee Questions/ Discussion

10:37:37 Chair Regier

10:38:38 Steve Baiamonte, General Services Administrator, Department of Administration (DOA) resumed the presentation.

Committee Questions/ Discussion

- 10:40:30 Rep. Knudsen
- 10:45:10 Chair Regier
- 10:48:42 Rep. Knudsen asked Steve Baiamonte about the ROWS acronym.

HISTORICAL SOCIETY REPORT ON STATE MUSEUM

10:49:45 Molly Kruckenburg, Director, State Historical Society <u>EXHIBIT6</u>

Committee Questions/ Discussion

10:53:07 Rep. Knudsen

RECESS

10:56:13 Reconvened at 11:04:31

LEGISLATIVE SPACE PROJECT UPDATE

11:05:17 Gregg Sanders, Hennebery Eddy Architects

EXHIBIT7

- 11:33:54 Rep. Knudsen
- 11:36:34 Rep. Harvey
- 11:45:29 Rep. Knudsen
- 11:46:01 Gregg Sanders
- 11:48:41 Chair Regier

Committee Questions/ Discussion

- 11:49:17 Rep. Vinton
- 11:51:20 Chair Regier
- 11:52:18 Sen. Ellsworth
- 11:53:39 Sen. Bogner
- 11:54:28 Rep. Knudsen
- 11:55:11 Rep. Vinton
- 11:56:03 Chair Regier
- 11:56:54 Rep. Buckley
- 11:57:35 Chair Regier
- 11:58:37 Joe Triem, Deputy Director, Legislative Fiscal Division
- 12:01:41 Sen. Ellsworth
- 12:03:16 Todd Everts
- 12:03:45 Rep. Vinton
- 12:04:14 Rep. Knudsen
- 12:04:49 Sen. Ellsworth
- 12:06:32 Chair Regier
- 12:07:00 Sen. Bogner
- 12:08:12 Rep. Knudsen

Public Comment on any matter under the Legislative Council's jurisdiction

12:09:16 None

OTHER COUNCIL BUSINESS

| 12:10:02 | I odd Everts |
|----------|------------------|
| 12:11:22 | Sen. Fitzpatrick |

- 12:11:46 Sen. Webber
- 12:11:53 Sen. Ellsworth
- 12:12:04 Rep. Vinton

<u>Motion</u>

12:12:20 Chair Regier moved that Sen. Webber, Sen. Fitzpatrick, Rep. Vinton and Rep. Buckley be appointed to the Legislative Rules Subcommittee.

<u>Vote</u>

12:12:33 The motion passed unanimously by voice vote.

Committee Questions/ Discussion

12:12:51 Kelly DaSilva instructed council members about closed meetings.

12:13:25 Closed Meeting

ADJOURNMENT

12:43:09 Chair Regier adjourned the meeting at 12:43 PM