

#### (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL – LEGISLATIVE SPACE WORKGROUP

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS Janet Ellis Jason Ellsworth Pat Flowers HOUSE MEMBERS David Bedey Derek Harvey Rhonda Knudsen **COMMITTEE STAFF** Joe Triem - Lead Staff Daniel Rosenberg - Secretary PUBLIC MEMBERS Amy Carlson Jerry Howe Angus Maciver Marilyn Miller Carolyn Tschida

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706



January 26, 2024 Capitol Room 102 & Zoom Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <a href="https://leg.mt.gov">https://leg.mt.gov</a>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Rep. Derek Harvey, Vice Chair (D) Rep. David Bedey, (R) Sen. Janet Ellis, (D) Sen. Jason Ellsworth, (R) Sen. Pat Flowers, (D) Amy Carlson Jerry Howe Angus Maciver Marilyn Miller Carolyn Tschida Rep. Rhonda Knudsen, Chair (R)

# MEMBERS EXCUSED:

## MEMBERS ABSENT:

# **STAFF PRESENT:**

Joe Triem, Lead Staff Daniel Rosenberg, Secretary

# AGENDA (Attachment 1)

## VISITORS' LIST

## COMMITTEE ACTION

## CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

10:02:02 Presiding Officer Knudsen called the meeting to order at 10:02 AM. The committee secretary took roll.

#### DISCUSS DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION PROPOSAL FOR LEGISLATIVE AUDIT DIVISION

- 10:03:31 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:03:42 Angus Maciver, Director, Legislative Audit Division
- 10:09:21 EXHIBIT 1 Sen, Ellsworth
- 10:09:21 Sen. Elisworth
- 10:11:39 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:11:56 Angus Maciver
- 10:12:36 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:13:32 Angus Maciver
- 10:14:43 Sen. Ellsworth
- 10:16:07 Sen. Flowers
- 10:16:41 Sen. Ellis
- 10:17:09 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:17:39 Vice Presiding Officer Harvey
- 10:17:46 Rep. Bedey
- 10:17:53 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:18:41 Sen. Ellsworth

# REVIEW THE SHORT-TERM PLAN APPROVED AT THE NOVEMBER 6 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL MEETING

- 10:19:20 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- EXHIBIT 2
- 10:19:56 Sen. Ellsworth
- 10:20:48Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:21:24 Vice Presiding Officer Harvey
- 10:22:01 Sen. Flowers
- 10:22:37 Presiding Officer Knudsen

## DISCUSS MEDIUM-TERM OPTIONS

10:23:20 Joe Triem, Deputy Director, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) <u>EXHIBIT 3</u> <u>EXHIBIT 4</u> <u>EXHIBIT 5</u> EXHIBIT 6

### EXHIBIT 7 EXHIBIT 8

## **Committee Questions/ Discussion**

- 10:29:52 Sen. Ellis
- 10:31:04 Carolyn Tschida, Chief Clerk of the House
- 10:32:26 Jerry Howe, Director, Legislative Services Division (LSD)
- 10:34:19 Marilyn Miller, Secretary of the Senate
- 10:35:11 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:35:32 Sen. Ellis
- 10:36:23 Jerry Howe
- 10:36:05 Daniel Rosenberg, Legislative Secretary, LSD
- 10:36:24 Jerry Howe
- 10:37:57 Joe Triem
- 10:41:52 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:42:27 Jerry Howe
- 10:46:26 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:52:14 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:52:40 Joe Triem
- 10:52:47 Marilyn Miller
- 10:53:15 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 10:53:21 Marilyn Miller
- 10:53:47 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:03:30 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:04:45 Rep. Regier
- 11:05:00 Angus Maciver
- 11:06:51 Rep. Regier
- 11:07:25 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:08:50 Joe Triem
- 11:09:59 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:11:06 Angus Maciver
- 11:16:39 Jerry Howe
- 11:17:22 Amy Carlson, Director, LFD
- 11:24:11 Rep. Bedey
- 11:25:00 Sen. Flowers
- 11:26:03 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:26:47 Jerry Howe
- 11:32:25 Amy Carlson
- 11:32:56 Rep. Bedey
- 11:34:52 Sen. Flowers

- 11:35:15 Angus Maciver
- 11:38:43 Amy Carlson
- 11:40:26 Jerry Howe
- 11:43:13 Vice Presiding Officer Harvey
- 11:44:10 Rep. Regier
- 11:44:59 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:49:37 Sen. Flowers

## **DISCUSS LONG-TERM PLANS/ IDEAS**

- 11:50:48 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 11:53:07 Rep. Bedey
- 11:54:47 Sen. Flowers
- 11:56:07 Amy Carlson
- 11:56:40 Vice Presiding Officer Harvey
- 11:58:21 Rep. Regier
- 12:00:33 Sen. Ellis
- 12:02:29 Presiding Officer Knudsen

# SELECT NEXT MEETING DATE

- 12:04:28 Presiding Officer Knudsen
- 12:05:42 Vice Presiding Officer Harvey
- 12:06:47 Jerry Howe
- 12:07:23 Rep. Regier
- 12:08:39 Presiding Officer Knudsen

## PUBLIC COMMENT

12:09:57 None

## **ADJOURNMENT**

12:10:15 Presiding Officer Knudsen adjourned the meeting at 12:10 p.m.