

Representative Nelly Nicol House District 53 - Billings

DURING THE SESSION State Capitol Building PO Box 200400 Helena, MT 59620-0400 Phone: (406) 444-4800 Web: leg.mt.gov

HOME ADDRESS PO Box 20692 Billings, MT 59104 Phone: (406) 670-1745 Nelly.Nicol@legmt.gov

May 31, 2023

Angus Maciver Legislative Audit Division 1301 East Helena Avenue Helena, MT 59601

RECEIVED June 7, 2023 LEGISLATIVE AUDIT DIV.

Dear Mr. Maciver,

I am writing to request a performance audit of workplace safety programs at the Montana State Fund.

Montana has traditionally had a very high rate of workplace injuries compared to most other states. As the state's largest workers compensation insurer, it is important that the Montana State Fund takes these issues seriously and plays an effective role in reducing the incidence of workplace injury in the state.

The Montana State Fund has put in place a variety of safety programs, especially over the past decade. These include things like reducing premiums for certain policyholders based on their safety record. They also spend a lot on providing safety consultation for businesses, marketing and promotion relating to safety, and scholarships and other awards for promoting safety in schools.

Auditing these programs to identify how much all this is costing and whether it has any effect on workplace injuries for State Fund policyholders will help the legislature better understand these issues.

Please forward my request to the Audit Committee for inclusion in the next fiscal year audit prioritization process.

The following page has a list of legislators who have an interest in spending time on auditing the Montana State Fund safety program.

Sincerely,

Representative Nelly Nicol, House District 53



Representative Nelly Nicol House District 53 - Billings

DURING THE SESSION State Capitol Building PO Box 200400 Helena, MT 59620-0400 Phone: (406) 444-4800 Web: leg.mt.gov HOME ADDRESS PO Box 20692 Billings, MT 59104 Phone: (406) 670-1745 Nelly.Nicol@legmt.gov

Senator Kenneth Bogner Senator Barry Usher Senator Mark Noland Senator Terry Vermeire Senator Forrest Mandeville Representative Brandon Ler Representative Lyn Hellegard Representative Josh Kassmier Representative Ron Marshall Representative Jerry Schillinger Representative Nelly Nicol