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Medical Record Retention Required of Health Care Providers: 50
State Comparison
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This comparative map shows medical record retention requirements applicable to health care providers in all 50 states plus the District of
Columbia. State law governs the length of time that providers must maintain medical records, and this map categorizes states by the minimum
length of time providers must retain records. Some states have different time limits applicable to certain types of providers and/or certain patients.
These narrower requirements are identified by the categories "Record retention is dependent on the type of provider” and "Record retention is
dependent on patient condition.” Where laws vary by provider, requirements may be specific to hospitals, primary care physicians, specialty care
physicians, long-term care facilities, or other facility and provider types as noted in the laws listed below. Where laws vary by patient condition, the
most prevalent distinction in requirements is between living and deceased patients (as of discharge). The table below also includes laws applicable
to miner patients’ records. State-level details regarding record retention are listed in the table below and in the summaries of individual state laws,
which can be accessed by clicking on the linked citation.

VT

Click on & state to see more information on Medical Records Collection, Retention, and Access in that state

Medical Record Retention Time Required by State Law

M Records must be kept for a minimum of 3-5 years

B Records must be kept for a minimum of -9 years
Records must be kept for a minimum of 10 or more years
Record retention is dependent on the type of provider
Record retention is dependent on patient condition

Medical Record Retention

Time Required by State Law Details

State

ALA. ADMIN. CODE r. 420-5-7-.13: Hospital records must be retained for at least five years. In
the case of minor patients, medical records must be retained for at least 5 years after the
patient has reached adulthood.

Records must be kept for a ALA. ADMIN. CODE r. 540-X-9-.10: Physician medical records must be maintained by the
minimum of 3-5 years physician for the period necessary to treat the patient and for additional time as may be
required for medical or legal purposes.

ALA. ADMIN. CODE R. 545-X-4-.08: Physicians should maintain patient medical records for as
long as necessary for treatment purposes, and for any additional time as is legally required.

Alabama

ALASKA STAT. § 18.20.085: A hospital must retain its patient records for 7 years following the
Records must be kept for a discharge of the patient. In the case of a minor patient. the records must be retained for 2 years
minimum of 6-9 years after the patient reaches the age of 19 years or until 7 years following the discharge of the
patient, whichever is longer.

Alaska

ARIZ. REV. STAT. ANN. 8 12-2297: A health care provider (defined as a physician, health care
institution or hospital, ambulance service, or health care services organization) must retain
patient records for 6 years from the last date of treatment. In the case of a minor, the records

must be retained for at least 3 years after the patient's 18" birthday or 6 years after the last

Records must be kept for a

Arizona minimum of 6-9 years



Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of
Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Towa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 3-5 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 3-5 years

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

date of treatment, whichever Is latest.

ARK. CODE R. § 007.05.17: Table 8: A hospital must maintain medical records for each patient
and retain them for 10 years, and for an additional 2 years in the case of a minor.

ARK. CODE R. 007.05.17-14: Hospital records must be maintained for 10 years after discharge.
The medical records of minors must be kept for 2 years after the patient reaches the age of
majority.

22 CA ADC §70751: Hospital records must be kept for at least 7 years, except that records of
unemancipated minors must be kept for an additional year after they reach they age of
majority.

6 COLO. CODE REGS. § 1011-1: IV-8.102 Medical records must be preserved as originals or
electronically for 10 years after the most recent care encounter, and for minors, the period of
minority plus 10 years or 10 years after the most recent care encounter, whichever is later.

CONN. AGENCIES REGS § 19-13-D3: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years after
discharge of patients, except that original records may be destroyed prior if they are preserved
in accordance with current hospital industry standards.

CONM. AGENCIES REGS § 19-13-D4a: Children's hospitals must retain medical records for 25
years after discharge of patients, except that originals may be destroyed sooner if they are
microfilmed in accordance with state department of health policy.

CONN. AGENCIES REGS § 19-13-D5: Long-term hospitals must retain medical records for 25
years following the discharge of patients, except that originals may be destroyed sooner if they
are microfilmed in accordance with state department of health policy.

CONM. AGENCIES REGS. § 19a-14-42: A health care provider must retain medical records for 7
years from the last date of treatment or, upon the date of the patient, for 3 years.

DEL. CODE ANN. tit. 24 § 1761 A physician must maintain a patient's record for seven years
from the last entry in the patient's record.

D.C. MUN. REGS. tit. 17 § 4612: A physician must maintain records for each patient and retain
them for 3 years after last seeing the patient or 3 years after a minor patient reaches 18 years
of age.

D.C. MUN. REGS. tit. 22-B § 2030: A hospital must maintain records for each patient and retain
them for 10 years after discharge or. in the case of a minor, 3 years after the minor patient
reaches 18 years of age.

FLA. ADMIN. CODE ANN. r. 64B8-10.002: A physician must maintain written medical records
for a period of 5 years from the last patient contact.

GENERAL RECORDS SCHEDULE - G54 PUBLIC HEALTH CARE FACILITIES AND PROVIDERS:
Public hospitals must retain patient medical records for seven years after the last entry.

GA. COMP. R. & REGS. § 111-8-40-.18: Hospitals must retain patient records for 5 years. In the
case of a minor patient, medical records must be retained 5 years after a patient turns 18 years
old. Providers, other than hospitals, must retain patient records for at least ten years from the
date of its creation.

HAW. REV. STAT. § 622-58: Health care providers must retain medical records for 7 years after
the last date of treatment. In the case of minor patients, records must be retained for 7 years
past the minor's 181 birthday.

IDAHO CODE ANN. § 39-1394: Hospitals must retain clinical laboratory test records and
reports for 5 years. X-ray film may be destroyed 5 years after exposure, or 5 years after the
patient turns 18, whichever is later, provided that there is documentation that a physician has
reach the x-ray films.

2101ILL. COMP. STAT. § 85/6.17: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years. If the
hospital is notified before the expiration of 10 years by an attorney regarding pending litigation
invelving a particular patient, the hospital must retain the record until being notified in writing
that the case has concluded, or for a period of 12 years from when the record was produced,
whichever occurs first.

IND. CODE § 16-39-7-1: Medical records must be retained for 7 years.

IOWA ADMIN. CODE R. 653-13.7: A physician must maintain patient medical records for 7
years from the date of last service. A physician must also maintain the medical records of a
minor patient for a period of 1 year after the minor reaches the age of majority.

KAN. ADMIN. REGS. § 28-34-9a: Hospitals must maintain patient records and retain the
records for 10 years, or for a year after a patient turns 18, whichever is longer.

KAN. ADMIN. REGS. § 100-24-2: Physicians must retain patient records for 10 years.

902 KY. ADMIN. REGS. 20:058: A primary care center must maintain a medical record for each
patient and retain them for 5 years after a patient's death or discharge or, in the case of a
minor, 3 years after the patient reaches adulthood, whichever is the longest.

902 KY. ADMIN. REGS. 20:016: Hospitals must maintain medical records for a period for 5
years from the date of discharge or, in the case of a minor, 3 years after the patient reaches
adulthood.

LA. REV. STAT. ANN.§ 40:2144: A hospital must maintain medical records and retain the
records for 10 years from the date of a patient’s discharge.

LA. REV. STAT. ANN. § 40:1299.96: Physicians must retain medical records for 6 years.
LA. ADMIN. CODE tit. 48, pt. I § 8395: Hospitals must retain patient records for 10 years.

10-144 ME. CODE R. Ch. 112 § 3.5.5: Hospitals must retain patient records for 7 years. In the
case of minor patients, records must be retained for 6 years past the minor's 181 birthday.

MD. CODE REGS. §10.01.16.04: A health care provider must retain medical records for 5 years
or, in the case of minor patients, until the patient is 21 years old, whichever is longer.

MD. CODE ANN., HEALTH-GEN. § 4-403: Health care providers must retain medical records for
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Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Maontana

Mebraska

MNevada

New
Hampshire

MNew Jersey

MNew Mexico

Mew York

Morth Carolina

Morth Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Kecords must be kept tor a
minimum of 3-5 years

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Record retention is dependent
on patient condition

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 3-5 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Record retention is dependent
on the type of provider

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Record retention is dependent
on patient condition

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years
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recard will be destroyed, and provided with a synopsis of the record and a 20-day opportunity
to retrieve the record. If the patient is a minor, the provider must keep the record for three
years after the patient turns 18, or for 5 years after the record is made, whichever is longer,
unless the parent or guardian is notified in accordance with the terms described above, or the
minor patient is notified under certain circumstances.

243 MASS. CODE REGS. § 2.07: Physicians must maintain patient records for a minimum of 7
years. If the patient is a minor, the physician must maintain the record for either seven years or
until the patient reaches 18, whichever is longer.

MASS. GEN. LAWS ch. 111 8 70: Hospitals or clinics must retain medical records for 20 years
after the discharge or the final treatment of a patient.

105 MASS. CODE REGS. § 130.370: Hospitals must retain patient records for 20 years after the
discharge or treatment of the patient.

MICH. COMP. LAWS § 333.16213: A health care practitioner must maintain medical records
and retain the records for 7 years.

MINN. STAT. § 145.32: Hospitals must retain medical records for 7 years. In the case of a minor
patient, the hospital must retain the record for 7 years after the patient turns 18.

MISS. CODE ANN. § 41-9-69: Hospitals must retain medical records must be retained for 7
years for patients discharged at death, 10 years for adult patients discharged otherwise, for 7
years after a minor patient reaches 18 or for 7 years after the period that a patient is under a
known disability, but not to exceed 28 years. X-ray films and any other graphic data must be
retained for 4 years

MISS. CODE ANN. § 41-9-73: Hospitals may retain, preserve, and store medical records for
longer than the retention period established in Mississippi Code § 41-9-69 as in its discretion or
as may be required by any court.

MISS. CODE ANN. § 41-9-71: Hospitals may discard medical records earlier than the retention
period established in Mississippi Code & 41-9-69 upon the written consent of the patient
involved.

MO. CODE REGS. ANN. tit. 19, § 30-20.094: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years.
MO. REV. STAT. § 334.097: Physicians must retain patient records for 7 years.

MONT. CODE ANN. § 50-16-513: A health care provider must maintain a record of existing
health care information for 1 year following receipt of an authorization to disclose that health
care information.

MONT. CODE ANN. § 50-16-525: A health care provider must retain patient records for 3 years.
MONT. ADMIN. R. 37.106.402: A hospital must retain patient records for 10 years from a
patient's discharge or death. If the patient is a minor, the hospital must retain the record for 10
years after the patient reaches the age of 18, or dies if earlier.

175 NEB. ADMIN CODE § 9-006: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years following a
patient’s discharge. In the case of a minor patient, records must be retained 3 years after the

patient’s 18" birthday.

MEV. REV. STAT. § 629.051: A health care provider must retain patient records for 5 years. In
the case of a minor patient, the records must be retained until the patient turns 23 years old.

N.H. CODE ADMIN. R. ANN. He-P 802.20: A patient record must be maintained for each patient
admitted to a hospital and retained for seven years after discharge of a patient.

N.H. CODE ADMIN. R. ANN. Med 501.02: A licensed physician must maintain complete and
accurate medical records for all patients for 7 years.

N.]. STAT. ANN. § 26:8-5: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years following a
patient’s discharge.

N.]. ADMIN. CODE 13-35-6.5: Physicians must maintain patient records for 7 years.

N.M. STAT. ANN. § 14-6-2: A hospital must retain its patient records for 10 years following the
discharge of a patient.

N.M. CODE R. § 16.10.17.10: Physicians must maintain patient records and retain the records
for 10 years after the date of last treatment. In the case of minor patients, patient records must
be until the patient turns 21 years old.

MN.Y. EDUC. LAW § 6530: Physicians must maintain patient records for 6 years.

N.Y. COMP. CODES R. & REGS. § 405.10: Hospitals must maintain patient records and retain
the records for 6 years from the date of discharge. In the case of a minor patient, records must
be retained 3 years after the patient's 18 birthday.

10A N.C. ADMIN. CODE § 13B.3903: Hospitals must maintain patient records and retain them
for 11 years following the discharge of the patient. In the case of a minor patient, a hospital
must retain the patient’s record until the patient turns 30 years old.

N.D. ADMIN. CODE § 33-07-01.1-20: A hospital must retain patient records for 10 years from
the date a patient was last treated. In the case of minors, records must be retained until the
patient turns 21 years old or 10 years from the date the patient was last treated, whichever is
later.

OHIO ADMIN. CODE § 3701-84-11: The provider of a health care service must retain medical
records for 6 years from the date of discharge.

OKLA. ADMIN. CODE § 310:667-19-14: Hospitals must retain medical records for 5 years
beyond the date the patient was last seen or 3 years past a patient's death. Records of minor
patients must be retained 3 years past their 18t birthday.

OR. ADMIN. R. 333-505-0050: Hospitals must retain patient records for 10 years after a
patient’s discharge.



Pennsyhvania

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 6-9 years

Record retention is dependent

28 PA. CODE 8 115.23: HOsSpItals MUust retain patient records for / Years or, In the case of minor
patients, 7 years after a patient turns 18 years old.

49 PA. CODE § 16.95: Physicians must retain medical records for 7 years or, in the case of a
minor patient, 1 year past the patient’s 181 birthday.

31-5-41 R.I. CODE R. § 11.0: Physicians must retain all medical records for 7 years.

Rhode Island on the type of provider 31-4-18 R.I. CODE R. § 27.0: Hospitals must retain all medical records for 5 years. Medical
records of minors must be retained for 5 years after the minor reaches 18 years old.
5.C. CODE ANN. § 44-115-120: A physician must retain medical records for 10 years for adult
South Records must be kept for a patients and 13 years for minor patients.
Carelina minimum of 10 or more years  5,C, CODE ANN. REGS. 61-16 § 1107: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years. In the

South Dakota

Records must be kept for a
minimum of 10 or more years

Records must be kept for a

case of minor patients, medical records must be retained until the patient turns 18 years old.

S.D. ADMIN. R. 44:73:09:06: A health care facility must maintain patient records and retain
them for 10 year from the date of the patient’s treatment. If the patient is a minor, the facility
must retain the record until the patient reaches the age of 20, provided that it is not less than 10
years from the date of the visit.

S.D. CODIFIED LAWS § 36-4-38: A physician may destroy patient records that have become
inactive, or for which the whereabouts of the patient are unknown.

TENN. COMP. R. & REGS. 1200-08-01-.06: Hospitals must maintain patient records and retain
them for 10 years or, in the case of a minor, 1 year past the minor's 18™ birthday.

TENN. COMP. R. & REGS. 0880-02-.15: Physicians must maintain patient records and retain
them for 10 years from the physician’s last professional contact with the patient or, in the case
of a minor, records must be retained 1 year after the minor turns 18 years old, whichever is

Tennessee - longest.
minimum of 10 or more years
TENN. CODE ANN. § 68-11-305: Hospitals' patient records must be retained for 10 years
following a patient's discharge or death or, in the case of a minor, the records must be retained
for 1 year past the patient's 18t birthday, whichever is longer.
TENN. CODE ANN. § 68-11-307: Hospitals may retain their patient records longer than the
period mandated by law.
22 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 165.1: Physicians must retain medical records for 7 years or, in the
case of a minor patient, until the patient turns 21 years old, whichever is longest.
Record retention is dependent
Texas on the type of provider TEX. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE 8 241.103: A hospital must retain medical records for 10 years or,
in the case of a minor patient. records must be retained until the patient turns 20 years old,
whichever is longer.
UTAH ADMIN. CODE 5432-100-33: Hospitals must retain medical records for 7 years. Medical
Records must be kept for a S ——————— R ;
Utah minimum of 6-0 years records of minor patients must be kept for 4 years past the minor's 18 birthday, but not less
than 7 years.
12-5-14 VT. CODE R. §946: A hospital must maintain medical records for every patient and
Vermont Records must be kept for a retain the records for 10 years.
minimum of 10 or more years i
VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 18 § 1905: A hospital must retain patient records for 10 years.
18 VA. ADMIN. CODE § 85-20-26: A physician, osteopathic physician. podiatrist, and
chiropractor must retain medical records for 6 years or, in the case of a minor patient, records
Record retention is dependent ~ Must be retained for until the patient turns 18 years old.
Wirginia .

& on the type of provider 12 VA. ADMIN. CODE § 5-410-370: A hospital must maintain medical records for each patient
and the records must be retained for 5 years after a patient's discharge. In the case of a minor
patient, the records must be retained for 5 years after the patient's 181" birthday.

WASH. REV. CODE § 70.41.190: Hospitals must retain medical records for 10 years following a
Washington Records must be kept for a disch s ; - follow h .  pirthd
asi minimum of 10 or more years patient’s discharge or, in the case of a minor, 2 years following the patient's 18" birthday,
whichever is longest.
\West Virginia Records must be kept for a W.VA. CODE R. 64-12-7: A hospital must retain medical records for every patient treated in its
8 minimum of 3-5 years emergency room or outpatient department for 5 years.
WIS. ADMIN. CODE MED §21.03: A physician or physician assistant must maintain patient
: Records must be kept for a .
records and retain them for 5 years.
R minimum of 3-5 years o
WIS. ADMIN. CODE DHS §124.14: Hospitals must maintain medical records for at least 5 years.
Wyoming Records must be kept fora WYO. STAT. ANN. § 35-2-606: Hospitals must retain medical records for 3 years.

minimum of 3-5 years
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