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 At its November 2019 meeting, the Children, Families, Health, and Human Services Interim Committee requested information regarding the 
timeframes in which surrounding states hold initial hearings in child abuse and neglect proceedings. The following chart provides information on 
timeframes for and the nature of initial hearings in Montana, as well as in Colorado, Idaho, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming.  
 
State Timeframe Nature of Hearing 
Montana A show cause hearing must be held within 20 days of the filing of 

an initial child abuse and neglect petition** unless otherwise 
stipulated by the parties or unless an extension of time is granted 
by the court upon a showing of substantial injustice.1 
 
**If emergency protective services are provided and a child is 
removed from the child’s home, an abuse and neglect petition 
must be filed within 5 working days, excluding weekends and 
holidays.2   

The court shall determine:  
• whether the child should be returned home, remain in out-of-home 

care, or be removed from home; 
• if removal is ordered or continuation of removal is ordered, why the 

child remaining in home would be contrary to the child’s best 
interests and welfare; 

• whether the Department made reasonable efforts to avoid protective 
placement or to safely return the child home; 

• financial support of the child; and 
• whether another hearing is needed and, if so, the date and time of 

the next hearing. 
The District Court may consider:  

• terms and conditions for parental visitation; and  
• whether orders for examinations, evaluations, counseling, 

immediate services, or protection are needed.3 
Colorado A temporary custody hearing:  

• must be held within 72 hours of placement, excluding 
weekends and holidays, if temporary custody of a child is 
placed with the county department of human or social 
services or when an emergency protection order is 
entered.   

• must be held within 48 hours, excluding weekends and 
holidays, if a child is removed from home by law 
enforcement and placed in a facility not operated by the 
department of human services.4   

The court shall determine further custody of the child or whether the 
emergency protection order should continue or, if the child is placed in a 
facility not operated by the department, whether the child is to be detained 
further.5 

Idaho A shelter care hearing: The court shall determine: 
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• occurs if a child or alleged offender has been removed 
from home by law enforcement or if there is a petition to 
remove a child or alleged offender from home; 

• must occur within 48 hours of removal of a child or within 
24 hours of removal of an offender, excluding weekends 
and holidays.6  

A shelter care hearing may be continued for a reasonable time at 
the request of the parent, custodian, or attorney for the child.7 

• whether there is reasonable cause to believe the child is within the 
jurisdiction of the Child Protection Act (i.e., whether the child is 
abused, neglected, abandoned, or homeless or whose 
parent/custodian fails to provide a stable home environment8); and 

• whether it is in the child’s best interest to remain in or be placed in 
shelter care.9 

North 
Dakota 

A shelter care hearing must be held promptly and not later than 96 
hours after the child is placed in shelter care.10 

The court shall determine: 
• whether there is probable cause to believe the child is deprived; and 
• whether the child’s shelter care is required under 27-20-14 

(providing, in part, that a child may be placed in shelter care in 
certain circumstances, including to protect the child, to prevent the 
child from being removed from the jurisdiction of the court, or 
because the child has no parent or guardian to care for or supervise 
the child). 

If continued shelter care is required, the judge or referee may order that the 
child be kept in shelter care for no more than 60 days from the date of the 
shelter care hearing.11 

South 
Dakota 

A temporary custody hearing must be held within 48 hours, 
excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and court holidays, after taking an 
apparent abused or neglected child into temporary custody, unless 
extended by order of the court.12  

The court shall consider the evidence of the need for continued temporary 
custody of the child in keeping with the best interests of the child.13 
After the temporary custody hearing, the court may: 

• order the release of the child to the child’s parent, guardian, or 
custodian, with or without conditions; or 

• continue the temporary custody of the child.14 
Wyoming A shelter care hearing must be held as soon as reasonably possible 

but no later than 48 hours, excluding weekends and legal holidays, 
after a child is taken into temporary protective custody.15 
If a judge is not available, a district court commissioner may hold 
the shelter care hearing. The court is required to review the 
commissioner’s report, orders, and actions as soon as reasonably 
possible and confirm or modify the order and actions as 
appropriate.16 

The court shall determine whether full-time shelter care of the child is 
required to protect the child’s welfare pending further proceedings. If the 
court determines that full-time shelter care is required, the court shall order 
the child placed in the legal custody of the department of family services. If 
full-time shelter care is not required, the court shall order the child released 
and may impose conditions on the release, including that the child be 
placed in the custody of the child’s parents under supervision of the 
department.17 
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1 § 41-3-432(1)(a) and (1)(c), MCA. 
2 § 41-3-301(6), MCA. 
3 § 41-3-432(5)-(6), MCA. 
4 C.R.S. 19-3-403. 
5 C.R.S. 19-3-403. 
6 Idaho Code § 16-1608. 
7 Idaho Code § 16-1615. 
8 Idaho Code § 16-1603. 
9 Idaho Code § 16-1615. 
10 N.D. Cent. Code, § 27-20-17. 
11 N.D. Cent. Code, § 27-20-17. 
12 S.D. Codified Laws § 26-7A-15. 
13 S.D. Codified Laws § 26-7A-18. 
14 S.D. Codified Laws § 26-7A-19. 
15 Wyo. Stat. § 14-3-409. 
16 Wyo. Stat. § 14-3-410. 
17 Wyo. Stat. § 14-3-409. 

                                                             


