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HJR 48/49: CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
KEY STEPS IN THE LEGAL PROCESS 
 

INTRODUCTION 

When a child is removed from the home because of concerns related to child abuse or neglect, the removal sets in motion a 
legal process in which the Department of Public Health and Human Services must provide a court with evidence that the 
child needs to remain in the out-of-home placement or the family needs services to 
allow for the child's safe return to the home, or both.  

State law generally sets the standards the department must meet for each step in the 
legal process and spells out what happens next if a judge grants the state's requests. If 
the case involves an Indian child, then the state must meet the standards set in the 
federal Indian Child Welfare Act.  

Importantly, state law requires judges to schedule abuse and neglect cases ahead of 
other items on their dockets. Under 41-3-422, MCA, abuse and neglect petitions "must 
be given highest preference by the court in setting hearing dates." Other statutes set the 
timelines by which certain activities must be completed. 

The table on the following pages summarizes the key steps in the judicial process as outlined in state law and presented in the 
2013 Montana Dependency and Neglect Best Practice Manual, prepared by the Montana Uniform Dependency and Neglect 
Workgroup that was formed and funded through the Montana Supreme Court's Court Improvement Program. 

By law, abuse and 
neglect cases take 
priority over other types 
of cases in district 
court. 
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Procedural Step Question to Be Answered Standard for Approval Result/Next Steps 

Initial Petition for 
Emergency Services 

Do sufficient facts exist to grant 
emergency protective services until a 

show cause hearing is held? 

Probable cause that the child has been 
abused or neglected or is in danger of 
abuse or neglect. 

The court may immediately issue an 
order of protection and emergency 
services. 
Court must schedule a show cause 
hearing within 20 days of the date the 
petition was filed and appoint a public 
defender for an indigent parent and for 
the child if a guardian ad litem is not 
appointed.  

Show Cause Hearing Was the child in imminent danger of 
harm? Was the DPHHS action 

reasonably necessary? 

Consideration of the child's safety. Child 
is not considered safe when: 
→ threats of danger exist within the 

family; 
→ child is vulnerable to those dangers; 

and 
→ parents are unable to manage or 

control the threats. 

The court: 
→ will determine whether the child 

should be removed from the home 
or, if already removed, remain in 
an out-of-home placement;  

→ will establish visitation and support 
requirements; and 

→ may adjudicate the child as a youth 
in need of care, if certain 
circumstances are met.  

If no adjudication is made, an 
adjudication hearing must be held within 
90 days. 

Petition for 
Temporary 
Investigative 
Authority 

Are the allegations of abuse, neglect, or 
abandonment true? 

The court may grant this petition at the 
show cause hearing if it is filed at the 
same time as the initial petition. 

If granted, DPHHS has 90 days to 
investigate. 
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Procedural Step Question to Be Answered Standard for Approval Result/Next Steps 

Adjudication Hearing Is the child a youth in need of care 
because of abuse, neglect, or 

abandonment? 

Preponderance of evidence that the child 
has been abandoned or faces a 
substantial risk of physical or 
psychological abuse or neglect. 

The court must dismiss the case if the 
evidence does not show the child is a 
youth in need of care. 
If the child is found to be a youth in 
need of care: 
→ the report of abuse is considered 

substantiated, leading to additional 
consequences for parents;* 

→ the court must hold a dispositional 
hearing within 20 days of entering 
the adjudication order; and 

→ DPHHS must complete and 
distribute a treatment plan 10 days 
before the hearing. 

If the court addresses disposition 
immediately after the adjudication 
hearing, a review hearing should be held 
within 30 to 60 days. 

Disposition Hearing What is the best option for protecting 
the child's welfare? 

Options range from parental custody, 
with conditions imposed by the court, to 
temporary legal custody by the state, for 

up to 6 months at a time 

For the state to receive temporary 
custody, preponderance of evidence 
must show: 
→ dismissing the petition would create 

a substantial risk of harm to the 
child; and 

→ reasonable services have been 
provided to the family to prevent 
removal or facilitate reunification 

Court schedules review hearings within 
30 to 60 days of the disposition. 
DPHHS must complete and distribute a 
treatment plan within 10 days if one was 
not completed before the hearing. 

* When a report of child abuse or neglect is determined to be substantiated, the person responsible for the abuse or neglect will be disqualified from working or volunteering in some 
positions that involve children and some employers or organizations may obtain information related to the abuse or neglect charge. 

 



4 

 

 

Procedural Step Question to Be Answered Standard for Approval Result/Next Steps 

Approval of 
Treatment Plan 

What is the plan for addressing the 
situation and creating a safe home 

environment? 

Court may order a treatment plan if the 
judge has found the child to be a youth 
in need of care or if the parties have: 
→ admitted to the allegations; or 
→ stipulated the child is a youth in 

need of care. 

This step often occurs at the same time 
as the disposition hearing. 

Review Hearing How are the child and parents doing? Is 
out-of-home placement still needed? 

 If little progress has been made, court 
considers: 
→ whether changes are needed to the 

treatment plan; and 
→ how long it's reasonable to continue 

working toward reunification. 

Extension of 
Temporary Legal 
Custody 

What's next for the child when the state's 
custody is about to expire? 

Options range from extension of state 
custody to dismissal of the case. 

Based on evidence presented, the court 
may grant the state's request or ask the 
state to amend its petition to allow for a 
different outcome. 

If no final disposition is made, review 
hearings continue every 30 to 60 days. 

Petition to Terminate 
Parental Rights 

Should the parent-child relationship be 
terminated? 

Clear and convincing evidence showing a 
number of factors outlined in law. 
State must seek termination when: 
→ child has been in foster care 15 of 

the most recent 22 months; or 
→ court has found that reasonable 

efforts at reunification aren't 
necessary. 

If parental rights are terminated, court 
may transfer custody to the state to 
consent for adoption or guardianship. 
If parental rights aren't terminated, 
review hearings continue every 30 to 60 
days. 
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Procedural Step Question to Be Answered Standard for Approval Result/Next Steps 

Permanency Hearing Is DPHHS making a reasonable effort to 
find a permanent placement? 

Hearing must be held: 
→ within 30 days of finding that 

reasonable efforts for family 
preservation or reunification 
services aren't needed; or 

→ within 12 months of finding that a 
child is a youth in need of care or 
within 12 months after the child's 
first 60 days of removal from the 
home, whichever occurs first. 

Subsequent hearings must be held every 
12 months after the initial permanency 
hearing, if necessary. 
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