Current Penalty Schedule

TOTAL	3 counts	\$1,900 20 days	TOTAL	3 counts	\$1,800 12 days
Failed to timely submit catering	1 count	\$1,000 20 days	Sale to intoxicated person	1 count	\$1,500 12 days
Failure to display age placard	1 count	\$600	No RASS	1 count	\$50
Failure to display license	1 count	\$300	Sale to underage person	1 count	\$250

Given that our current rule says we will propose to revoke a license after 4 violations, licensees typically want to settle with us where we decrease the number of violations on their record and they pay a higher fine.

Typical settlement	1 count	\$2,000 2 days	Typical settlement	1 count	\$4,000 3 days
Proposed Penalty Schedule					
Failure to display license	1 point	\$300	Sale to underage person	5 points	\$1,500
Failure to display age placard	1 point	\$300	No RASS	4 points	\$50
Failed to timely submit catering	1 point	\$300	Sale to intoxicated person	5 points	\$1,500
TOTAL	3 points	\$900	TOTAL	14 points	\$3,050

Fine goes down \$1,000-\$2,100 and no suspension

Fine actually goes down \$950 from a settlement, and no suspension

Suspension won't occur for another 12 points.

Suspension would occur with next point.

We feel that these penalties better align with the violations that are occurring. The violations on the left represent much less potential for public harm that those on the right and we feel they should be penalized at a lower level.

Penalty comparisons across states

Sales to underage person

Jurisdiction	1 st offense	2 nd offense	3 rd offense
Idaho	10 days suspension &/or fine	30 days suspension &/or fine	6 month suspension &/or fine
Maine	\$550-\$1,810 & suspension or Revocation if person under 17	\$800-\$1,810 & suspension or revocation if person under 17	\$1,200-\$1,810 & suspension or revocation if person under 17
Maryland	\$1,000	\$2,000-\$3,000 or suspension	up to \$20,000, suspension or revocation
Michigan	\$1,000, suspension or revocation	\$1,000, suspension or revocation	\$1,000, suspension or revocation
Mississippi	1 week suspension	Required revocation	N/A
Montana	\$250	\$1,000	\$1,500
New Hampshire	minimum \$500 and 3 days	\$5,000, suspension or revocation	\$5,000, suspension or revocation
North Carolina	\$1,200 or 12 days	\$2,400 or 24 days	\$5,000 & 15 days OR 30 days
Ohio	Determined case by case	Determined case by case	Determined case by case
Oregon	\$1,650 or 10 days	\$4,950 or 30 days	30 days
Utah	\$500-\$3,000 &/or 5-30 days	\$1,000-\$9,000 &/or 10-90 days	15 days-revocation
Virginia	25 days lifted with \$2,000 payment	30 days lifted after 10 days & \$3,000	60 days lifted after 15 days and \$5,000
West Virginia	\$1,000, suspension or revocation	\$1,000, suspension or revocation	\$1,000, suspension or revocation

Alberta	\$4,000 and/or 16 days	\$8,000 and/or 32 days	\$16,000 and/or 64 days
British Columbia	\$7,500-\$10,000 &/or 10-15 days	20-30 days	30-60 days
Saskatchewan	\$1,000	\$4,000	\$7,000
Alaska	\$10,000 & up to 1 year in jail	\$10,000 & up to 1 year in jail	\$10,000 & up to 1 year in jail
Arizona	\$1,000-\$2,000 &/or up to 30 days	\$2,000-\$3,000 &/or up to 30 days	\$3,000 &/or up to 30 days
Arkansas	\$500-\$1,000	\$1,000-\$2,000	\$1,500-\$3,000
California	\$750-\$3,000 or suspension	\$2,500-\$20,000 or 25 days	Revocation
Colorado	15 days, 5 served 10 in abeyance	20 days, 8 served 12 in abeyance	35 days, 16 served 19 in abeyance
Delaware	Reprimand to suspension	Reprimand to revocation	Reprimand to revocation
DC	\$2,000-\$3,000 and 5 days	\$3,000-\$5,000 and 10 days	\$5,000-\$10,000 and 15 days
Florida	\$1,000 and 7 days	\$3,000 and 30 days	Revocation
Hawaii	\$2,000	7 days	30 days
New Mexico	\$1,000-\$2,000 and 1 day	\$2,000-\$3,000 and 7 days	up to \$10,000 and revocation
Oklahoma	Revocation	N/A	N/A
Texas	8-12 days or \$300/day	16-24 days and \$300/day	48 days-revocation and \$300/day
Washington	\$500 or 5 days	7 days	30 days