

Economic Affairs Interim Committee

66th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS JASON ELLSWORTH NATE MCCONNELL FRANK SMITH GORDON (GORDY) VANCE HOUSE MEMBERS DEREK HARVEY JOSH KASSMIER MARK NOLAND VINCE RICCI SHARON STEWART PEREGOY KATIE SULLIVAN

COMMITTEE STAFF PATRICIA MURDO, Research Analyst JAMESON WALKER, Staff Attorney FONG HOM, Secretary

November 13, 2019

Becky Schlauch, Division Administrator Montana Department of Revenue Alcoholic Beverage Control Division 2517 Airport Rd Helena, MT 59601

by intraoffice mail

Dear Ms. Schlauch,

A majority of the members of the Economic Affairs Interim Committee (EAIC) voted to renew the EAIC's objection to Montana Administrative Register Notice 42-1003. This notice relates to the implementation of a point-based penalty system and revising procedures relating to revocation, lapse, or suspension of alcoholic beverage licenses.

The EAIC made its objection under Montana Code Annotated section 2-4-305(9). This statute requires the Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division (Department) to delay the adoption of the proposed rule until the next committee meeting.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Sincerely,

Jameson Walker for Rep. Sharon Stewart Peregoy, presiding officer

Cla376 9319jwca.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE