WASHINGTON Preschool Program
Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program (ECEAP)

LEGISLATURE

In 2010, state Legislature established the ECEAP as
a statutory entitlement for all eligible children, not
funded by Head Start, by 2022.

LEAD AGENCY

—_— Washington State Department of
Children, Youth and Families

REVENUE SOURCE

State general fund, the Education Legacy
Trust Account funded by estate taxes, and the
“opportunity pathways account” financed by
lottery proceeds.

COST PER CHILD
State dollars per child $8,854

All reported spending per child
enrolled $8,854

NIEER State of Preschool Report

DELIVERY SYSTEM

A wide array of public and private entities serve under contract as WA preschool providers.

HEAD START AGENCIES FAMILY HOMES

PRIVATE SCHOOLS NON-PROFITS

TRIBAL ORGANIZATIONS SCHOOL DISTRICTS LICENSED CHILD CARE CENTER

COMMUNITY COLLEGES

ELIGIBILITY

3 & 4 year olds. Need based, low income family 110%
FPL or have an IEP (regardless of income); up to 25%
of ECEAP enrollment may include children whose
families do not meet the poverty requirement but
experience other risk factors that could jeopardize
learning, development, or school success.

QUALITY IMPROVEMENT

ALLECEAP sites must participate in Early Achievers, WA
quality rating and improvement system (QRIS).ECEAP
requires research based developmentally appropriate
curriculum, ratios, professional development.

DURATION

Part day (3 hours) several days a week during school
year, full day (6 hours) classes 4 or 5 days a week
during school year, extended day available at least
10 hours a day year round (combines child care and
pre-k).

MONITORING

ECEAP children are assessed quarterly in six domains
of development and learning using a developmentally
appropriate assessment that is aligned with the state’s
WaKiDS kindergarten entry assessment.
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COLORADO Preschool Program
. FUNDING

LEAD AGENCY

Colorado Department of Education

LEGISLATURE
Colorado General Assembly created CPP in 1998.

COST PER CHILD
State dollars per child $2,535

REVENUE SOURCE

State funded each year, general assembly provides funding for
up to 29,360 children considered to be at risk. (0.5 per pupil
revenue as counted in the Student Oct. count, most children
are counted as half-day pupils). Other funding streams such as
early childhood special education funding, Head Start, CO
Child Care Assistance Program, Title 1, general funds, tuition,
and other sources are expected to be used to equitably serve
the children in the preschool classroom.

DELIVERY SYSTEM

SCHOOL DISTRICT

School districts and their preschool advisory council are
charged with administering the CPP.

All reported spending per child
enrolled $4,240

NIEER State of Preschool Report

HEAD START ’

COMMUNITY PRESCHOOLS ’

LOCAL CHILD CARE ’

* If a child has an IEP and qualifies for state Per Pupil
Revenue (PPR) funding from special education, that
child may be funded for an additional half day of
programming if they meet the eligibility criteria of CPP.

ELIGIBILITY

Children must be 3, 4, or 5 years old and have
eligibility factor(s) present. Three-year olds (3-risk
factors present), four and five year olds (1-risk factor

present). QUALITY IMPROVEMENT
* The child is eligible to receive free or reduced-cost . .
meals. Preschool programs are required to be licensed

through Colorado Dept. of Human Services Child Care

Homelessness of the child’s family. ! : : - /
licensing. Colorado Shines, quality-rating system

An abusive adult residing in the home of the child.

Drug or alcohol abuse in the child’s family.

Either parent of the child was less than eighteen years
of age and unmarried at the time of the birth of the
child.

The child’s parent or guardian has not successfully
completed a high school education or its equivalent.
Frequent relocation by the child’s family to new
residences.

Poor social skills of the child.

If they are in need of language development, including
but not limited to the ability to speak English.

If they are receiving services from the State
Department of Social Services as neglected or
dependent children (i.e. foster children).

(1-5). Outcomes are measured through the Results
Matter Assessment System, which offers educators
a menu of tools to measure progress, individualize
instruction, and monitor children’s growth.

MONITORING

Annual reapplication annual report in the spring.
TA monitoring visits from the CDE. Track children’s
progress through elementary school.
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WEST VIRGINIA Preschool Program

Universal Pre-K

LEGISLATURE LEAD AGENCY
Legislation passed in 2002
required state to expand access —>
to preschool education to all 4
year old children by 2012-2013.

West Virginia Department of Education
(in collaboration with Dept of Health and Human
Resources and Head Start).

REVENUE SOURCE COST PER CHILD

State funding (through K-12 funding formula). State dollars per child $6,508

Public schools receive funding directly. ) ]
All reported spending per child

enrolled $9,640
NIEER State of Preschool Report

DELIVERY SYSTEM

PUBLIC SCHOOLS

County Collaborative Early Childhood Team needs to be established and meet
regularly to ensure that key decisions are made to meet requirements and to
foster a high quality pre-k program. Half of all programs required to partner

with child care centers, private pre-K or Head Start to meet demand.

v v v

PRIVATE PRE-K CHILD CARE CENTER HEAD START
ELIGIBILITY QUALITY
Universal — four year olds and 3 year olds Pre-K standards (ages 3-5) are aligned with
with an |EP. the Head Start Early Learning Outcomes
Framework and College-and Career Readiness
DURATION Standards for Kindergarten. Includes seven

content areas: approaches to learning, social
emotional development, English language
arts, mathematics, science, health and
physical development, arts. Early Learning
MONITORING Reporting System is used to track children'’s

Structured classroom observations ongoing development across key domains.
(more than once/year); site visits.

Full-time. Minimum 800 hours/year and 25
hours and 4 days/week
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MISSISSIPPI Preschool Program

Early Learning Collaborative Act

LEGISLATURE LEAD AGENCY
The Early Learning Collaborative Act established state pre-K —> Mississippi Department of
programs, known as Early Learning Collaboratives (ELC). Education
REVENUE SOURCE COST PER CHILD

Approved collaboratives receive state funding to operate State dollars per child $2,161
full-day or half-day programs. The funding amounts to $4,300
per child enrolled in full-day programs and $2,150 per child
enrolled in half-day programs. The state of Mississippi provides
half of these costs ($2,150 per child enrolled in full-day pre-k
and $1,075 per child enrolled in half-day pre-k). The state
requires that the other half be provided by local matching
funds, which may include local tax dollars, federal dollars,

parent tuition, and philanthropic contributions.

DELIVERY SYSTEM

EARLY LEARNING COLLABORATIVES — LEAD PARTNER

Collaborative are required to have two or more partners including at least one school
district and at least one Head Start (if one exists in the community). Lead Partner
serves as the fiscal agent of the collaborative. The Lead Partner manages the budget,
submits reimbursements to MDE, and disburse awarded funds.

All reported spending per child
enrolled $5,774

NIEER State of Preschool Report

ELIGIBILITY

Any child who is 4 on or before September 1st of the
school year.

Collaborative students attending Head Start must
meet income guidelines.

QUALITY IMPROVEMENT

Programs must meet 10 of 10 quality benchmarks by
the National Institute for Early Education Research
(NIEER).

MONITORING

Lead Partner is responsible for monitoring.
Assessments: Kindergarten Readiness Assessment,
state required, MKAS. Brigance Early Childhood Screen
11 (3-5), developmentally appropriate techniques to
measure children'’s progress.

ZERO T?'FIVE

for our children, for our future



TEXAS Preschool Program
High Quality Pre-K Program

LEGISLATURE

Determine eligibility for free public pre-k

ELIGIBILITY
3 & 4 year olds needs based (districts with 15 or

REVENUE SOURCE

State Foundation School Program (k-12 funding system).
School districs receive state funding for full-day instruction.
(Used to be half day, 2019 bill (HB-189) proposed overhaul
school finance system including money for full-day pre-k for
qualifying students).

LEAD AGENCY

Texas Education Agency

COST PER CHILD
State dollars per child $3,559

All reported spending per child
enrolled $3,612

NIEER State of Preschool Report

DELIVERY SYSTEM

SCHOOL DISTRICT

School districts and open enrollment charter schools receive state funding
for full-day instruction. Districts can contract with non-public preschools.

QUALITY IMPROVEMENT
Must be aligned with the 2015 Texas Pre-K Guidelines.

more eligible 4-year olds are required to offer pre-k,

districts with 15 or more eligible 3 year olds can offer MONITORING

pre-k but are not required to do so. L
» Qualify for free/reduced lunch (185% of FPL) School districts, open-enrollment charter schools,
« Homeless and districts of innovation must submit the student

Foster care

Child of active duty member

Child of first responder

Unable to speak or comprehend English

Parent eligible for the Texas Star Award

Child outside of eligibility requirements
can pay tuition.

progress monitoring data for their eligible four-year-
old students into Early Childhood Data System (ECDS)
that assesses the five developmental domains from a
tool that is listed on the 2017-2021 Commissioner’s
List of Approved Prekindergarten Assessment
Instruments.
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ALASKA Preschool Program

LEGISLATURE LEAD AGENCY
Creates, oversees, revises, funds Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
REVENUE SOURCE COST PER CHILD
Alaska Department of Education and Early State dollars per child $10,159
Development (DEED) provides funding directly ) )
to school districts or Head Start agencies. Since All reported spending per child
1980, Alaska has supplemented federal funding enrolled $10,159
for Head Start agencies. NIEER State of Preschool Report

DELIVERY SYSTEM

Participating programs can subcontract with public schools, Head Start programs, or private agencies.

HEAD START AGENCIES SCHOOL DISTRICT
ELIGIBILITY ELIGIBILITY
Must meet Head Start Universal a child who is at least four,
program income guidelines. but not more than five, years of age
on or before Sept 1 may enter a public
school early education program.

QUALITY IMPROVEMENT

All pre-k must implement the State of Alaska Early Learning Guidelines. School
must assess each child to determine the child’s progress or status on all domain
areas of development. Early Learning Assessments (Alaska CLIMBS, Alaska
Developmental Profile).

MONITORING

Programs must submit an end-of-year report to the Department
of Education and Early Development.
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