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COMPENSATION STATUTES: A NATIONAL OVERVIEW 

35 states + Federal government + Washington, DC have laws to compensate the wrongfully convicted AL, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IA, IL, IN, KS, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, 

MT, NC, NE, NH, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV. 
  

I. Monetary Compensation: 18 states + Federal+ D.C.  provide at least $50,000 per year of wrongful incarceration. 

 

A. More than $50,000= 8 States +D.C.  

• Washington, DC- $200,000 

• NV- 1-10 years= $50,000/yr; 10-20 years= $75,000/yr ; 20 or more years = $100,000/yr 

• TX- $80,000 

• CO- $70,000  

• KS-$65,000 

• OH- $52,625.18 

• CA- $51,110 

• CT- $49,314-$131,506  

• VT- $30,000-$60,000 

 

B. $50,000= 10 States AL, FL, HI, IN, MI, MN, MS, NJ, NC, WA 

 

C. Less than $50,000/yr.  7 states IL, IA, LA, MO, VA, UT, WI 

 
D. No Annual Amount= 9 States MA, MD, ME, NE, NH, NY, OK, TN, WV 

 

II. Additional Compensation for Years on Death Row and/or Post-Release Supervision: 
4 states +Federal Government 

• Federal:  Additional $100,000 per year on death row. 

• CO: $50,000 additional compensation per year on death row; $25,000 per year on parole, probation or sex offender registry.  

• MN: $25,000 per year on parole, probation or sex offender registry. 

• WA: $50,000 additional per year on death row, $25,000 per year on parole, probation, sex offender registry.  

• KS: $25,000 per year for each additional year served on parole, post-release supervision or on sex offender registry. 

 

III. Funding Source 

 

A. State Tort Claims/Risk Management Fund (9 states) KS, MS, NE, NJ, NV, NY, OK, TN, WA 
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B. Legislature Makes Appropriation (16 states) AL, CA, CO, CT, FL, HI, IA, IL, LA, MA, ME, MN, MO, TX, VA, WV 

C. Exoneree Compensation Fund (Appropriated by Legislature/2 states): IN, MI. 

D. Emergency Fund (3 states): MD (or appropriated by Gov), NC, OH 

E. State Treasury (3 states): NH, VT, WI 

F. Crime Victims Fund & Commission on Criminal Justice (1 state): UT 

 

IV. How States Issue Payments 

 

A. Not specified: 15 states =CA, CT, HI, IA, IL, ME, MN, NC, NE, NH, NV, NY, OK, VT, WI FEDERAL 

B. Lump Sum Only: 2 states+ D.C.  =OH, WV 

C. Option for Lump Sum or Installments/Annuities: 10 states AL, CO, KS, MA, MI, MD, NJ, WA, TN, TX 

D. Installments/Annuities Only 7 states: FL, IN, LA, MO, MS, UT, VA 

 

V. Non-Monetary Services 19 states. 

 

A. Tuition assistance: 14 states (CO, CT, FL, KS, LA, MA, MN, MT, NC, NJ, NV, TX, VA, VT) 

B. Medical expenses: 8 states (CA, IL, KS, MN, NJ, NV, TX, VT) 

C. Job search assistance: 6 states (CA, CT, IL, NC, NJ, TX) 

D. Housing assistance: 3 states (CA, KS, NJ) 

E. Counseling services: 11 states: (CA, CT, IN, KS, MA, NJ, NV, TX, VA, VT, WA) 

F. Re-entry services:  7 states: (CA, CT, IL, IN, NV, TX) 

G. Immediate assistance upon exoneration: 1 state (CA) 
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C 
State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

AL Ala.Code 1975 § 

29-2-150, et seq. 

ENACTED 2001 

Conviction vacated or reversed and the charges 

dismissed on grounds consistent with innocence. There 

is no definition of "innocence" in the statute or AL case 

law.  

State Division of Risk 

Management determines 

eligibility.  

$50,000 per year Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis.  Legislative Committee on 

Compensation for Wrongful 

Convictions certifies the payments. 

No Not 

specified 

CA Cal Penal Code 

§§ 4900 to 4906; 

§ Amended 

2000; 2006; 

2009; 2013; 

2015; 2017; 2018 

The claimant shall prove the facts set forth in the 

statement constituting the claim, including the fact that 

the crime with which he or she was charged was either 

not committed at all, or, if committed, was not 

committed by him or her, and the pecuniary injury 

sustained by him or her through his or her erroneous 

conviction and imprisonment.  

California Victim 

Compensation Fund 

determines eligibility, AG 

issues a recommendation.  

$51,110 per year 

($140 per day) 

Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis. The California Victim 

Compensation Board recommends 

that the legislature make an 

appropriation for the purpose of 

indemnifying the claimant for the 

injury. 

No Not 

specified 

CO C.R.S.A. § 13-65-

101, et seq.;  

ENACTED 2013 

Exonerated and found to be actually innocent.  (1)(a) 

“Actual innocence” means a finding by clear and 

convincing evidence by a district court that 1) His or 

her conviction was the result of a miscarriage of 

justice; 2) He or she presented reliable evidence that he 

or she was factually innocent of any participation in the 

crime at issue, 3) He or she did not solicit that 

commission of the crime at issue or any crime factually 

related to the crime at issue; 4) He or she did not 

conspire to commit the crime at issue or any crime 

factually related to the crime at issue; 5) He or she did 

not act as a complicit or in the commission of the crime 

at issue or any crime factually related to the crime at 

issue.  

District court determines 

eligibility.  

$70,000 per year Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis after initial 

appropriation.  

$50,000 for 

each year on 

death row 

Civil offset. 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

CT CT ST 54-102uu  

ENACTED 

2008; 2016 

(a) A person is eligible to receive compensation for 

wrongful incarceration if:  (A) the complaint or 

information dismissed on grounds of innocence, or (B) 

the complaint or information dismissed on a ground 

citing an act or omission that constitutes malfeasance 

or other serious misconduct by any officer, agent, 

employee or official of the state that contributed to 

such person's arrest, prosecution, conviction or 

incarceration. 

Claims Commissioner 

decides if the amount 

does not exceed 20K. If 

the amount exceeds 20K, 

the Claims Commissioner 

makes a recommendation 

and General Assembly 

must approve or can 

change the compensation 

award.  

$74,168. - 

$148,336  

Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis. The Office of the Claims 

Commissioner recommends an award. 

The Claims Commission shall order 

immediate payment unless it is over 

$20,000, in which case the General 

Assembly must confirm, deny or 

modify such claim.   

No Bars  

DC DC ST § 2-421, et 

seq.; ENACTED 

1981; 2017 

(a) Any person bringing suit under § 2-421(1) must 

allege and prove the following: The conviction for the 

offense has been reversed or set aside by the Superior 

Court of the District of Columbia (“Superior Court”) 

on the stated ground of innocence and unjust 

conviction; The person has obtained a certificate of 

innocence from the Superior Court; and  based upon 

clear and convincing evidence, the person did not 

commit any of the acts charged or the person's acts or 

omissions in connection with such charge constituted 

no offense against the United States or the District of 

Columbia the maximum penalty for which would equal 

or exceed the imprisonment served and the person did 

not, by his or her misconduct, cause or bring about his 

or her own prosecution.  

US District Court 

determines eligibility. The 

Director of the Office of 

Victim Services and 

Justice Grants pays. 

$200,000 per year Tort Claims Fund. $40,000 for 

each year 

served on 

parole, 

probation, 

supervised 

release, or as a 

registered sex 

offender, 

Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

FL FL ST 961.01, 

ENACTED 

2008; many 

amendments, last 

in 2013, 2014 

(HB 227), and 

2017 (HB 393) 

Clear and convincing evidence that the person did not 

commit the act or offense that served as the basis for 

the conviction and incarceration and that the person did 

not aid, abet, or act as an accomplice or accessory to a 

person who committed the act or offense. 

Original sentencing 

court if prosecutor 

certifies actual innocence. 

If prosecutor contests 

actual innocence, original 

sentencing court makes a 

recommendation and 

sends the case to an 

administrative judge for a 

determination.  

$50,000 per year Continuing Appropriation from 

General Revenue Fund  

No Bars 

HI HRS § 661B-1 

ENACTED 2016 

Preponderance of evidence the judgement of conviction 

was reversed or vacated because the petitioner was 

actually innocent, or was granted a pardon based on 

actual innocence. The judgment of conviction was 

reversed or vacated because the petitioner was actually 

innocent of the crimes for which the petitioner was 

convicted, and the court decision so states; or (2) The 

petitioner was pardoned because the petitioner was 

actually innocent of the crimes for which the petitioner 

was convicted and the pardon so states. "Actual 

Innocence" not defined.  

Circuit court where 

petitioner lives or the 

circuit court for the first 

circuit (if petitioner lives 

out of state).  

$50,000 per year Statute says "the state" without 

specifying which entity.  

No Not 

specified 

IA Iowa Code Ann. § 

663A.1 

ENACTED 1997 

Conviction vacated or reversed and charges dismissed, 

and no further proceedings can be or will be held 

against the individual on any facts and circumstances 

alleged in the proceedings which had resulted in the 

conviction. “Innocence” supporting wrongful 

imprisonment claim can be shown by clear and 

convincing proof that the individual did not commit the 

acts or that the acts in question did not constitute a 

crime.  

District Court 

determines eligibility; 

State Appeal Board or 

Civil Ct. awards 

Compensation.  

$18,250 per year Legislature makes appropriation 

thru General Fund.   

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

IL Ill Rev Stat ch. 

705 § 505/1, et. 

Seq.  ENACTED 

1945; many 

amendments, last 

in 2009, and 2011 

(SB 389) 

Certificate of innocence from circuit court or 

gubernatorial pardon based on innocence. In order to 

obtain a certificate of innocence the petitioner must 

prove by a preponderance of evidence that:(1) the 

petitioner was convicted of one or more felonies by the 

State of Illinois and subsequently sentenced to a term 

of imprisonment, and has served all or any part of the 

sentence; (2)(A) the judgment of conviction was 

reversed or vacated, and the indictment or information 

dismissed or, if a new trial was ordered, either the 

petitioner was found not guilty at the new trial or the 

petitioner was not retried and the indictment or 

information dismissed; or (B) the statute, or application 

thereof, on which the indictment or information was 

based violated the Constitution of the United States or 

the State of Illinois; (3) the petitioner is innocent of the 

offenses charged in the indictment or information or his 

or her acts or omissions charged in the indictment or 

information did not constitute a felony or misdemeanor 

against the State; and (4) the petitioner did not by his or 

her own conduct voluntarily cause or bring about his or 

her conviction.  

Circuit Court 

determines eligibility; 

Court of Claims pays. 

Less than 5 yrs= 

$85,350 max 

($17,070 per 

year); 5-14 years= 

$170,000 max; 

14+ 

years=$199,150 

max 

Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis. Payment is contingent on 

legislative approval, which can be 

denied 

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

IN HB 1150 

ENACTED 2019 

To be eligible, an exoneree must meet the following 

criteria: (1) sentenced to the department of correction 

or a county jail as the result of a criminal conviction; 

(2) who is pardoned by the governor, or whose 

conviction is vacated, reversed, or set aside; (3) who is 

actually innocent. 

Indiana Criminal 

Justice Institute 

determines eligibility and 

pays. 

$50,000 per year Legislature makes appropriation to 

Exoneration Fund, which is 

administered by Criminal Justice 

Institute, subject to legislature making 

appropriation. 

No.  Civil bar 

KS KS ST 60-5004 

ENACTED 2018 

Preponderance of evidence: (A) The claimant was 

convicted of a felony crime and subsequently 

imprisoned; (B) the claimant's judgment of conviction 

was reversed or vacated and either the charges were 

dismissed or on retrial the claimant was found to be not 

guilty; (C) the claimant did not commit the crime or 

crimes for which the claimant was convicted and was 

not an accessory or accomplice to the acts that were the 

basis of the conviction and resulted in a reversal or 

vacation of the judgment of conviction, dismissal of the 

charges or finding of not guilty on retrial; and (D) the 

claimant did not commit or suborn perjury, fabricate 

evidence, or by the claimant's own conduct cause or 

bring about the conviction. Neither a confession nor 

admission later found to be false or a guilty plea shall 

constitute committing or suborning perjury, fabricating 

evidence or causing or bringing about the conviction 

under this subsection. 

District Court. File claim 

in district court, mirrors 

rules of civil procedure. 

$65,000 per year State Tort Claims Fund. "There is 

hereby established in the state 

treasury the tort claims fund which 

shall be administered by the attorney 

general." 

$25,000 for 

each additional 

year served on 

parole 

or post release 

supervision or 

each additional 

year the 

claimant was 

re- 

quired to 

register as an 

offender under 

the Kansas 

offender 

registration 

act, whichever 

is greater  

Civil offset. 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

LA R.S.15:572.8 and 

Code Civ. Pro. 

Art. 87 

ENACTED 

2005; amended 

2011, 2019.  

(1) A petitioner is entitled to compensation in 

accordance with this Section if he has served in whole 

or in part a sentence of imprisonment under the laws of 

this state for a crime for which he was convicted; (2) 

The conviction of the petitioner has been reversed or 

vacated; and (3) The petitioner has proven by clear and 

convincing scientific or non-scientific evidence that he 

is factually innocent of the crime for which he was 

convicted. B. For the purposes of this Section, “factual 

innocence” means that the petitioner did not commit 

the crime for which he was convicted and incarcerated 

nor did he commit any crime based upon the same set 

of facts used in his original conviction. 

19th Judicial District 

Court -  trial by judge 

alone. The State 

Treasury issues payment 

via the Innocence 

Compensation Fund  

$25,000 per year Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis.  

No Not 

specified 

MA Ann L. MA. 

Gen’l Laws, 

Chapter 258D § 

1-9 ENACTED 

2004; Amended 

2018 

A full pardon pursuant to section 152 of chapter 127, if 

the governor expressly states in writing his belief in the 

individual's innocence, or (ii) those who have been 

granted judicial relief by a state court of competent 

jurisdiction, on grounds which tend to establish the 

innocence of the individual as set forth in clause (vi) of 

subsection (C), meaning " he did not commit the 

crimes or crime charged in the indictment or complaint 

or any other felony arising out of or reasonably 

connected to the facts supporting the indictment or 

complaint, or any lesser included felony;"  

Superior Court in the 

county where the claimant 

was convicted or in 

Suffolk County. Claims 

are paid by the 

Commonwealth. 

No annual 

amount 

Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund.  

No Not 

specified 

MD Md State Fin & 

Proc § 10-501; 

ENACTED 

1999; amended 

2003; 2017 

"Conviction in error." Governor pardon stating that the 

individual's conviction has been shown conclusively to 

be in error or state's attorney certifies the conviction 

has been in error. 

Board of Public Works No annual 

amount 

General Emergency Fund or money 

that the Governor provides in the 

annual budget  

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

ME 14 Me Rev Stat 

Ann § 8241-8244 

ENACTED 1993 

 Governor who grants the pardon issues finding that the 

person is innocent of the crime for which that person 

was convicted; and the court finds that the person is 

innocent of the crime for which the person was 

convicted.  

Governor issues 

innocence pardon. 

Superior Court decides 

eligibility; Claims paid 

by General Fund.  

No annual 

amount 

Legislature appropriates funding.  No Not 

specified 

MI M.C.L.A. 

691.1753; 

M.C.L.A. § 

206.30 

ENACTED 

2016; amended 

2018 

New evidence demonstrates that the plaintiff was not 

the perpetrator of the crime or crimes and was not an 

accessory or accomplice to the acts that were the basis 

of the conviction and resulted in a reversal or vacation 

of the judgment of conviction, dismissal of the charges, 

finding of not guilty, or gubernatorial pardon. 

Court of Claims 

determines eligiblity. 

The Treasury pays via 

the Wrongful 

Imprisonment 

Compensation Fund. 

$50,000 per year Legislature appropriates funding to 

the Wrongful Imprisonment 

Compensation Fund 

No Explicitly 

permits 

federal 

lawsuits. 

MN M.S.A. § 590.11 

& § 611.362, et 

seq. ENACTED 

2014; amended 

2019 

Court reversed or vacated judgement on grounds 

consistent with innocence, meaning  there is any 

evidence of factual innocence whether it was available 

at the time of investigation or trial or is newly 

discovered evidence .  

District Court 

determines eligibility; 

Compensation Panel 

determines final amount 

and legislature 

appropriates funds ;  

 $50,000 per year  Legislature appropriates funding 

through state budget on a case-by-

case basis.  

Minimum of 

$25,000 

($50,000 max.) 

per year served 

on parole, 

probation, or as 

a registered sex 

offender as 

compensation.  

Not 

specified 

MO V.A.M.S. 

650.058; 

ENACTED 2006 

Person must be determined to be ‘actually innocent,’ 

meaning that: DNA testing demonstrates a person's 

innocence of the crime.  
  

Original sentencing 

court. 

$18,250 per year Legislature appropriate funding on 

case-by-case basis. The Department 

of Corrections determines the 

aggregate amount of restitution owed 

during a fiscal year and is 

appropriated money by the legislature 

for wrongful conviction restitution.  

No Bars 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

MS MS ST § 11-44-1, 

et seq. 

ENACTED 2009 

In order to present an actionable claim for wrongful 

conviction and imprisonment under this section, a 

claimant must establish by documentary evidence that: 

(a)  On grounds not inconsistent with innocence either 

through a pardon or the judgment of conviction was 

vacated and/or reversed; (b) If there was a vacatur or 

reversal, either the accusatory instrument was 

dismissed or no processed; or if a new trial was held, 

the defendant was found not guilty;  (c) The claimant's 

claim is not time-barred by the provisions of this act; 

and (d) The claimant did not intentionally waive any 

appellate or post-conviction remedy otherwise 

available in order to benefit under this Chapter. 

Circuit court of the 

county in which the 

claimant was convicted.  

$50,000 per year State Tort Claims Fund, which is 

overseen by the Tort Claims Board 

and administered by the Department 

of Finance and Administration. The 

fund is financed by monies paid to the 

Board by governmental entities 

participating in plans of self-

insurance or liability insurance: 

No Civil bar 

MT Mont. Code Ann. 

§ 53-1-214 

ENACTED 2003 

A person who was convicted in this state of a felony 

offense, who was incarcerated in a state prison for any 

period of time, and whose judgment of conviction was 

overturned by a court based on the results of 

postconviction forensic DNA testing that exonerates 

the person of the crime for which the person was 

convicted is entitled to receive educational aid at the 

state's expense. 

Funds to be 

appropriated by the 

legislature 

No monetary  N/A No Not 

specified 

NC NC Gen Stat §§ 

148-82 to 148-84 

ENACTED 

1947; amd.2008 

Governor pardon or Innocence Commission finding of 

innocence. 

Innocence Commission.  $50,000 per year Contingency and Emergency Fund.  No Not 

specified 

NE NE ST 29-4601, 

et seq. 

ENACTED 2009 

In order to recover under the Nebraska Claims for 

Wrongful Conviction and Imprisonment Act, the 

claimant 

shall prove by clear and convincing evidence: 

that he or she was innocent of the crime or crimes.  

State Claims Board No annual 

amount.  

State Tort Claims Fund.  No Permited  
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

NH NH Stat § 541-

B:14 ENACTED 

1977 

Allows the claimant to choose either an administrative 

or judicial remedy, does not have a statutory scheme 

setting forth elements of a wrongful conviction claim. 

The limitation of damages provision in N.H. Rev. Stat. 

§ 541-B:14 merely recognizes the existence of an 

action against the state "for time unjustly served in the 

state prison when a person is found to be innocent of 

the crime for which he was convicted. 

State Claims Board No annual 

amount;  

State Treasury No Not 

specified 

NJ NJ Stat Ann §§ 

52:4C-1 to 4C-7 

ENACTED 2013 

The claimant must establish "by clear and convincing 

evidence" that: they did not commit the crime they 

were convicted of; that they did not commit or suborn 

perjury, fabricate evidence, or by their own conduct 

cause or bring about their conviction (excludes false 

confessions & admissions); and that they did not plead 

guilty to the crime.  

The Superior Court 

decides eligibility.  

$50,000 per year. State Tort Claims Fund.  No Civil offset.  
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

NV AB 267; 

ENACTED 2019 

(A) He or she did not commit the felony for which he 

or she was convicted and the person: (1) Was not an 

accessory or accomplice to the acts that were the basis 

of the conviction; (2) Did not commit the acts that were 

the basis of the conviction; and (3) Did not aid, abet or 

act as an accomplice or accessory to a person who 

committed the acts that were the basis of the 

conviction; (B) He or she was not convicted of an 

offense necessarily included in the offense charged; (C) 

The basis for reversing or vacating the judgment of 

conviction was not legal error that was unrelated to his 

or her innocence,and if a court ordered a new trial, the 

person was found not guilty at the new trial or the 

person was not retried and thecharging document was 

dismissed; or the person was pardoned by the State 

Board of Pardons Commissioners on the grounds that 

he or she was innocent; and the person did not commit 

perjury or fabricate evidence at the criminal proceeding 

that brought about his or her felony conviction and the 

person did not by his or her own conduct cause or bring 

about his or her felony conviction. 

The district courts 

determines eligibility; 

State Board of 

Examiners pays.  

If imprisoned 1-

10 years= 

$50,000 per year 

of wrongful 

incarceration; 10-

20 years= 

$75,000 per year 

of wrongful 

incarceration; 20 

or more years = 

$100,000 per year 

of wrongful 

conviction  

State tort claims fund. Payments are 

made through the state's Reserve for 

Statutory Contingency Account, 

which is a fund used to pay certain 

claims against the state.  

No less than 

$25,000 for 

each year the 

person was on 

parole or not 

less than 

$25,000 for 

each year the 

person was 

required to 

register as a sex 

offender, 

whichever 

period of time 

was greater 

Civil offset. 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

NY NY Ct. of Claims 

Act § 8-b 

ENACTED 2007 

Clear and convincing evidence that: (i) he has been 

pardoned upon the ground of innocence of the crime or 

crimes for which he was sentenced and which are the 

grounds for the complaint; or (ii) his judgment of 

conviction was reversed or vacated, and the accusatory 

instrument dismissed or, if a new trial was ordered, 

either he was found not guilty at the new trial or he was 

not retried and the accusatory instrument dismissed; 

provided that the judgement of conviction was reversed 

or vacated, and the accusatory instrument was 

dismissed,. (iii) he did not commit any of the acts 

charged in the accusatory instrument or his acts or 

omissions charged in the accusatory instrument did not 

constitute a felony or misdemeanor against the state; 

and (iv) he did not by his own conduct cause or bring 

about his conviction. 

The Court of Claims 

determines eligibility and 

pays the claim.   

None State Tort Claims Fund. The state 

appropriates funds into a special 

account for the payment of 

settlements from the Court of Claims.  

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

OH Ohio Rev Code 

Ann § 2305.02 & 

§ 2743.48 

ENACTED 

2010; amended 

2019 

1. Charged with a felony or misdemeanor. 2. Did not 

plead guilty. 3. Sentenced to term of imprisonment, 4. 

Conviction vacated, dismissed, reversed on appeal; no 

criminal proceeding is pending for any act associated 

with that conviction; the prosecuting attorney has not 

sought any further appeal within one year after the date 

of vacating, dismissal or reversal: the prosecutor within 

one year of vacating, dismissal or reversal has not 

brought a criminal proceeding against the individual 

for any act associated with the conviction 5. Brady 

violation or it was determined by the court of common 

pleas in the county where the underlying criminal 

action was initiated either that the offense of which the 

individual was found guilty, including all lesser-

included offenses, was not committed by the individual 

or that no offense was committed by any person. 

Court of Common Pleas 

for eligibility. Court of 

Claims awards damages 

$ 52, 625.18 per 

year (2017 Ohio 

Court of Claims) 

Court of Claims orders payments. 

Legislative committee called the 

Ohio's Controlling Board pays on 

case-by-case basis thru emergency 

purposes account. 

No  Civil offset. 



                      
     

 15 

State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

OK 51 Okl. St. § 154 

ENACTED 2003 

(a) Clear and convincing evidence that the offense for 

which the individual was convicted, sentenced and 

imprisoned, including any lesser included offenses, was 

not committed by the individual  a. the individual was 

charged, by indictment or information, with the 

commission of a public offense classified as a felony, 

b. the individual did not plead guilty to the offense 

charged, or to any lesser included offense, but was 

convicted of the offense, c. the individual was 

sentenced to incarceration for a term of imprisonment 

as a result of the conviction, d. the individual was 

imprisoned solely on the basis of the conviction for the 

offense, and e.  in the case of a pardon, a determination 

was made by either the Pardon and Parole Board or the 

Governor that the offense for which the individual was 

convicted, sentenced and imprisoned, including any 

lesser offenses, was not committed by the individual. 

State Civil Court No annual 

amount. $175,000 

cap 

State Tort Claims Fund. The 

wrongful conviction compensation 

provision of the Governmental Tort 

Claims Act directs exonerees to file 

claims against the state for damages, 

under the Act.  

  No bar 

TN Tenn Code Ann 

§9-8-108 

ENACTED 

1984, and. 2004; 

2010; 2012; 2013 

a) After consideration of the facts, circumstances and 

any newly discovered evidence in a particular case, the 

governor may grant exoneration to any person whom 

the governor finds did not commit the crime for which 

the person was convicted.  

Governor decides if 

person is granted 

exoneration, board of 

claims pays. 

No annual 

amount. $1 m cap 

Risk management fund, which is 

housed within the Department of 

Treasury.  

No  Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

TX Tex Code Ann §§ 

103.001;103.051; 

052, 103.1041. 

ENACTED 

2001; amended 

2011 

(A) has received a full pardon on the basis of innocence 

for the crime for which the person was sentenced;(B) 

has been granted relief in accordance with a writ of 

habeas corpus that is based on a court finding or 

determination that the person is actually innocent of the 

crime for which the person was sentenced; or (C) Writ 

of habeas granted by district court and charge 

dismissed and state's attorney agrees to actual 

innocence. Texas Court of Criminal Appeals must 

approve 'actual innocence' finding. Actual innocence 

means clear and convincing evidence that, despite the 

evidence of guilt that supports the conviction, no 

reasonable juror could have found the applicant guilty 

in light of the new evidence. 

Texas Court of Criminal 

Appeals (CCA) must 

determine if the person is 

"actually innocent." 

Comptroller’s Judiciary 

Section pays the claim.  

$80,000 per year, 

plus an annuity; 

Legislature makes appropriation on 

case-by-case basis. The comptroller 

shall provide a list of claimants 

entitled to payment and the amounts 

due for each claimant to the governor, 

the lieutenant governor, and the chair 

of the appropriate committee in each 

chamber of the legislature, so that the 

legislature may appropriate the 

amount needed to pay each claimant 

and the amount to be paid to the state 

disbursement unit (for reimbursement 

of child support payments) on the 

claimant's behalf.  

$25,000 per 

year on parole, 

sex offender 

registry,  

Bars  
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

US 

(Fed) 

28 USC § 1495 & 

§ 2513 

ENACTED 2004 

A person must allege and prove that: He did not 

commit any of the acts charged or his acts, deeds, or 

omissions in connection with such charge constituted 

no offense against the United States, or any State, 

Territory or the District of Columbia (1) His conviction 

has been reversed or set aside on the ground that he is 

not guilty of the offense of which he was convicted, or 

on new trial or rehearing he was found not guilty of 

such offense, as appears from the record or certificate 

of the court setting aside or reversing such conviction, 

or that he has been pardoned upon the stated ground of 

innocence and unjust conviction and (2) He did not 

commit any of the acts charged or his acts, deeds, or 

omissions in connection with such charge constituted 

no offense against the United States, or any State, 

Territory or the District of Columbia, and he did not by 

misconduct or neglect cause or bring about his own 

prosecution. 

 U.S. Court of Federal 

Claims; US Comptroller 

pays. 

$50,000 per year;  General appropriation. Under the 

United States Court of Federal Claims 

Procedure, claims against the U.S. 

"shall be paid out of any general 

appropriation therefor, on 

presentation to the Secretary of the 

Treasury of a certification of the 

judgment by the clerk and chief judge 

of the court."  

$100,000 per 

year for each 

year on death 

row 

Not 

specified 

UT UT ST § 78B-9-

401 et. Seq 

ENACTED 

2008; anmended 

2011, 2012 

Factual innocence means that  newly discovered 

evidence exists that would establish the person did not 

(a) engage in the conduct for which the person was 

convicted; (b) engage in conduct relating to any lesser 

included offenses of the crime for which the person 

was convicted; or (c) commit any other felony arising 

out of or reasonably connected to the facts supporting 

the indictment or information upon which the person 

was convicted. The evidence cannot be merely 

cumulative or impeaching and viewed with all other 

evidence establishes factual innocence.  

The district court where 

conviction was rendered 

decides eligibility .   

$45,732 per year 

(Average non-

agricultural wage 

in 2017). 

$685,980 cap (15 

yrs max)  

Crime Victims Fund & 

Commission on Criminal and 

Juvenile Justice.  

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

VA 8.01-195.10, et 

seq. ENACTED 

2004; a2010, 

2012, 2014 

Issuance of writ of actual innocence based on 

biological evidence or non-biological evidence. Writ of 

actual innocence is granted based on court find by 

preponderance of evidence that  previously unknown or 

unavailable evidence is material and, when considered 

with all of the other evidence in the current record, will 

prove that no rational trier of fact would have found 

proof of guilt or delinquency beyond a reasonable 

doubt. 

General Assembly $48,819.60 per 

year (90% of the 

VA per capita 

personal income– 

for each year of 

incarceration, 

which was 

$54,244 in 2017) 

Legislature makes appropriation 

from General Fund on a case-by-

case basis. There is no entitlement to 

compensation. 

Payment is contingent on legislative 

approval, which can be denied 

(Source: Jeffrey S. Gutman, An 

Empirical Reexamination of State 

Statutory Compensation for the 
Wrongly Convicted, 82 MO. L. REV. 

(2017)) 

No Bars 

VT 13 V.S.A Chptr. 

182; ENACTED 

2007; amended 

2014 

The conviction was reversed or vacated and the charges 

dismissed, or tried to an acquittal, or a pardon was 

granted. The complainant is actually innocent of the 

felony or felonies that are the basis for the claim. As 

used in this chapter, a person is “actually innocent” of a 

felony or felonies if he or she did not engage in any 

illegal conduct alleged in the charging documents for 

which he or she was charged, convicted, and 

imprisoned. 

Washington County 

Supreme Court 

$30,000-$60,000 

per year 

(determined by 

judge) 

State Treasury Fund. (a) Any award 

made or compromise or settlement 

against the state of Vermont agreed 

upon by the attorney general 

inresponse to an action brought under 

this subchapter shall be paid by the 

state treasurer out of the treasury, and 

the emergency board shall reimburse 

the state treasurer therefor from time 

to time. (b) If the state elects to self-

insure for liability as defined in 

section 5601 of Title 12, any award, 

compromise, or settlement against the 

state of Vermont agreed to by the 

attorney general shall be paid by the 

treasurer from the liability self-

insurance fund. 

No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

WA RCWA 

§4.100.010, et 

seq; ENACTED 

2013 

(i) The claimant has been pardoned on grounds 

consistent with innocence for the felony or felonies that 

are the basis for the claim; or (ii) The claimant's 

judgment of conviction was reversed or vacated and the 

charging document dismissed on the basis of 

significant new exculpatory information or, if a new 

trial was ordered pursuant to the presentation of 

significant new exculpatory information, either the 

claimant was found not guilty at the new trial or the 

claimant was not retried and the charging document 

dismissed; (iii) The claimant did not engage in any 

illegal conduct alleged in the charging documents; and 

(iv) The claimant did not commit or suborn perjury, or 

fabricate evidence to cause or bring about the 

conviction. A guilty plea to a crime the claimant did 

not commit, or a confession that is later determined by 

a court to be false, does not automatically constitute 

perjury or fabricated evidence under this subsection. 

Superior Court 

determines eligibility.  

$50,000 per year Risk Management Fund. Payment 

of compensation claims is authorized 

by the Office of Risk Management, 

which directs payment from the state's 

liability account.  

$50,000 

additional for 

each year on 

death row; 

$25,000 for 

each year on 

parole, 

community 

custody or sex 

offender 

registry. 

Bars  

WI Wis Stat § 775.05 

ENACTED 1987 

Evidence is clear and convincing that the petitioner was 

innocent of the crime for which he or she suffered 

imprisonment. 

The Claims Board 

decides and pays.  

$5,000 per year; 

$25,000 cap 

The State Treasury.  No Not 

specified 
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State Statute Eligibility Who determines 

eligibility? 

Annual Amount 

$ 

Funding Source Additional $ 

for death row, 

parole, 

probation, sex 

offender 

registry 

Civil 

Litigation 

Offset or 

Bars? 

WV W Va Code § 14-

2-13(a) 

ENACTED 

1987; amended 

2014 

(A) The claimant has been arrested and confined, and 

charged by warrant, information, or any other 

accusatory instrument for one or more felonies or 

misdemeanors, and that the charges were dismissed 

against the claimant; when another person was 

subsequently charged, arrested, and convicted of the 

same felony or felonies, or misdemeanors, or;  Another 

person was subsequently charged, arrested and 

convicted of the same felony or felonies or 

misdemeanors; (B) The claimant has been pardoned 

upon the ground of innocence of the crime or crimes 

for which the claimant was sentenced and which are 

the grounds for the complaint; or(C) The claimant’s 

judgment of conviction was reversed or vacated, and 

the accusatory instrument dismissed or, if a new trial 

was ordered, either the claimant was found not guilty at 

the new trial or the claimant was not retried and the 

accusatory instrument dismissed; and (D) The claimant 

did not by his or her own conduct cause or bring about 

his or her conviction. 

Circuit Court No annual 

amount 

Legislature appropriates on a case-

by-case basis. The West Virginia 

Legislative Claims Commission 

makes a recommendation to the 

Legislature based upon its finding of 

a claim against the state.  

No  Not 

specified 

 
 
 


