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SEXUAL OFFENSES THAT REQUIRE REGISTRATION

The current 14 sexual offenses that requite registration in Montana's sex offender registry are contained in the definition of

"sexual offense" in section 46-23-502, MCA:!

Unlawful restraint, if the victim was less than 18 and the offender is not a parent of the victim, [45-5-301, MCA];
Kidnapping, if the victim is less than 18 and the offender is not a parent of the victim [45-5-302, MCA];
Aggravated kidnapping, if the victim is less than 18 and the offender is not a parent of the victim [45-5-303, MCA];

Sexual assault, if the offender is a professional licensed under Title 37 and commits the offense during any

treatment, consultation, interview, or evaluation of a person's physical or mental condition, ailment, disease, ot injury
[45-5-502, MCA];

Sexual assault, if the victim is less than 16 and the offender is 3 or more years older than the victim [45-5-502(3),
MCAJ;

Sexual intercourse without consent [45-5-503(1), (3), or (4), MCAJ;
Indecent exposure, third or subsequent conviction [45-5-504(2)(c), MCAJ;

Indecent exposure, if the victim is less than 16 and the offender is 4 or more years older than the victim [45-5-
504(3), MCA]

Incest, if the victim is less than 18 and the offender is 3 or more years older than the victim or if the victim is 12 years
or younger at the offender is 18 or older at the time of the offense [45-5-507, MCAJ;

Aggravated sexual intercourse without consent [45-5-508, MCA];

Prostitution, if the person patronized was a child and the patron was 18 years or older at the time of the offense,
whether or not the patron was awate of the child's age [45-5-601(3), MCAJ;

Promoting prostitution, if the person engaging in prostitution was a child and the patron was 18 or older at the time
of the offense, whether or not the patron was aware of the child's age [45-5-602(3), MCAJ;

Aggravated promotion of prostitution, if the victim was a child [45-5-603(1)(b), (2)(b), or (2)(c), MCA];

! The number 14 only includes each statutory crime section once, though at least three crimes (sexual assault,
incest, and aggravated promotion of prostitution) include different subsections or victim/offender scenarios
that could require registration.
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https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0460/chapter_0230/part_0050/section_0020/0460-0230-0050-0020.html
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e Sexual abuse of children [45-5-625, MCA];
e Sexual servitude [45-5-704, MCA]; or
e Patronizing a victim of sexual servitude [45-5-705, MCA].

The definitions include any actual violation of the listed statute, as well as an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a
violation of the listed statute. Offenses that require registration include offenses for which a person was found in youth court
to have committed or for which the person was adjudicated in youth court. Registration is also required for a person who

violated a reasonably similar law of another state, a tribal government, or the federal government.

Additional Information

e 5] 19 Study Page (2019-2020 Interim): https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/2019ljic/sj-19-svor

e Overview of the Montana Sexual or Violent Offender Registration Act, September 2019, available at:

https://leg.mt.gov/content/Committees/Interim /2019-2020/Law-and-Justice/Committee-Topics /S]-19-Study/s{19-

svor-background-september-2019.pdf
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