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Key to Task Types 
E = Education;   N = Notification;   R = Registration;   S = Sentencing or Risk Evaluation 
 

 

•Mail registration verification forms to offender at 
designated times ‐ R

•Enter offender's DNA into identification index ‐ R

•Disseminate certain information about and offender to 
the public and develop a community notification policy to 
assist local law enforcement ‐ N

•Assign risk levels for certain offenders required to register 
because of a tribal, other state, or federal conviction ‐ S

•Develop community education curriculum on the release 
of sexual or violent offenders to the community ‐ E

Department of Justice 
(DOJ)

•Inform offender in writing of duty to register prior to the 
offender's release from custody ‐ R

•Obtain and give to DOJ and local law enforcement: 

•the address where the offender will reside upon release;

•the offender's fingerprints and photograph; and

•a form signed by the offender stating the offender's duty 
to register has been explained. ‐ R

•Probation officer to verify the offender's registration 
status with local law enforcement ‐ R

•Adopt qualifications for pyschosexual evaluators ‐ S

•Designate risk level for certain offenders without one 
prior to release from confinement ‐ S

Department of Corrections (DOC)

•Chief of police to notify county sheriff when an offender 
registers with the police department ‐ N

•Obtain fingerprints, photographs, DNA sample, and other 
information from the offender and foward to the DOJ ‐ R

•Forward information about changes in offender name, 
resident, student or employment status, or transient 
status to the DOJ ‐ R

•Disseminate information to the public ‐ N

Local law enforcement

(Defined as "registration agency" in 
SVORA and is the local chief of police or 

county sheriff)

•Clerk of District Court of the county in which a conviction 
occurs to notify county sheriff within 10 days of entry of 
the judgment ‐ N

•Consider petitions for relief from duty to register ‐ R

•Designate a risk level for an offender at sentencing or 
upon receiving a petition ‐ S

•Order records expunged after a final reversal of a sexual 
or violent offense ‐ S

Courts
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Sources:  

Montana Sexual or Violent Offender Registration Act, Title 46, chapter 23, part 5; 

Montana Department of Justice website (https://app.doj.mt.gov/apps/svow/) and staff 

Last update: October 18, 2019 

Registry Element  Sexual Offenders  Violent Offenders 

Federal involvement in standard‐

setting 

Yes  No 

Penalty for failure to register or 

keep registration current 

Up to 5 years in prison and/or a 

fine of up to $10,000 

Up to 5 years in prison and/or a 

fine of up to $10,000 

Risk level assigned  Yes  No 

Duration  Life, with option for certain 

offenders to petition court for 

relief 

10 years from release from 

confinement or end of sentence 

(but must petition court to be 

relieved from registration) 

Offender may petition court for 

relief from registration duty? 

Yes, after 10 years for level 1 

Yes, 25 years for level 2 

No for level 3 

Yes, 10 years from release from 

confinement or end of sentence 

Photograph, fingerprints, DNA 

samples required? 

Yes  Yes 

Photograph updates  At minimum annually  Annually 

Address verification  DOJ mails a verification form: 

     ‐ every 90 days for a level 3 

offender; 

     ‐ every 180 days for a level 2 

offender: 

     ‐ every year for a level 1 

offender 

A sex offender must return the 

form in person. 

DOJ mails a verification form every 

year 
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Montana (1995) Yes Yes Yes* Yes (adult) Yes Yes Yes Includes meth manufacturing crimes
Alabama (2013) Yes No

Alaska (1998) Yes (child victim) Yes
1998 is when kidnapping was added to the sex 
offender registry

California (1961/1984)* Yes Yes No 1961 for controlled substance registration

Connecticut (2014) Yes* No
A person who has been convicted of an offense 
committed with a deadly weapon must register.

Florida (2002)* Yes Yes Yes Yes
Has a registry for violent career or habitual offenders 
and a registry for any felony offender

Illinois (2004/2006)* Yes* Yes (youth victim)* Yes Yes (child victim) Yes Yes
Arson registry was created in 2004; Meth was created 
in 2006; registry includes murder if victim is adult

Indiana (2007) Yes * Yes Yes

2007 is when violent offender provisions effective; 
requires registry of properties that were the site of a 
meth lab

Kansas (1997/2007)* Yes Yes Yes Yes (both) Yes Yes 2007 is when drug provisions were effective

Louisiana (2005/2010)* Yes* Yes No

Limited to offenses against a peace officer and 
includes terrorism offenses as of 2019; arson added in 
2010.

Michigan (2015) Yes

Reports meth offenders to national association of 
drug investigators, limits offenders' ability to purchase 
precurors
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Minnesota (1991/2006)* Yes* Yes* Yes (both) Yes No*

Noncompliant offender information is public; certain 
violent offenses don't require registration unless the 
offender has previously been convicted of a predatory 
crime; the drug‐related offense registry was created in 
2006 and is for meth manufuacturing crimes. That 
database is public 

Nevada* No
Offender with two or more felony convictions must 
register regardless of type of offense

Ohio (2013/2019)* Yes Yes (adult)* Yes* Yes*

Abduction is also a registration offense; Information 
on offenders is only at local sheriff's office; Arson 
registry started in 2013; violent offenders added in 
2019

Oklahoma (2004) Yes Yes Yes* Yes

Registration can be required for certain abuse crimes 
if ordered by a judge; a separate meth registry exists 
for certain meth‐related convictions

Tennessee (2005) Yes Yes Also has a public registry for animal abusers (2016)

Utah Yes (adult) Yes
Utah also has separate registries for white collar 
crimes (2015) and child abuse (2017)

Virginia Yes* Yes *Only when victim a minor
Washington (1997) Yes (both)

* See Other Notes column for additional information specific to the state
**See note on kidnapping in NCSL Crime Registry Acts document, kidnapping with a child victim often included in sexual offender registries
Source: NCSL Crime Registry Acts document available at:
 https://leg.mt.gov/content/Committees/Interim/2019‐2020/Law‐and‐Justice/Committee‐Topics/SJ‐19‐Study/sj19‐crime‐registry‐requirements‐ncsl‐september‐2019‐update.pdf




