
Comparison of Montana's Sexual and Violent Offender Registry Elements 
By Rachel Weiss for the Law and Justice Interim Committee's SJ 19 Study 

November 2019 

Sources:  

Montana Sexual or Violent Offender Registration Act, Title 46, chapter 23, part 5; 

Montana Department of Justice website (https://app.doj.mt.gov/apps/svow/) and staff 

Last update: October 18, 2019 

Registry Element  Sexual Offenders  Violent Offenders 

Federal involvement in standard‐

setting 

Yes  No 

Penalty for failure to register or 

keep registration current 

Up to 5 years in prison and/or a 

fine of up to $10,000 

Up to 5 years in prison and/or a 

fine of up to $10,000 

Risk level assigned  Yes  No 

Duration  Life, with option for certain 

offenders to petition court for 

relief 

10 years from release from 

confinement or end of sentence 

(but must petition court to be 

relieved from registration) 

Offender may petition court for 

relief from registration duty? 

Yes, after 10 years for level 1 

Yes, 25 years for level 2 

No for level 3 

Yes, 10 years from release from 

confinement or end of sentence 

Photograph, fingerprints, DNA 

samples required? 

Yes  Yes 

Photograph updates  At minimum annually  Annually 

Address verification  DOJ mails a verification form: 

     ‐ every 90 days for a level 3 

offender; 

     ‐ every 180 days for a level 2 

offender: 

     ‐ every year for a level 1 

offender 

A sex offender must return the 

form in person. 

DOJ mails a verification form every 

year 


