

Landowner assessments are fees charged to owners receiving wildfire protection on their property. Oregon and Washington currently use revenues generated by landowner assessments for wildfire suppression funding. California, Idaho, Montana, and Oregon use landowner assessments for wildfire preparedness funding.

Statute Citations:

Alabama: <u>Ala. Code § 9-13-193</u>

"The commission shall authorize a referendum among owners or lessees of forest land to determine whether an assessment shall be levied upon said owners or lessees to offset, in whole or in part, the cost of forestry and forest fire protection programs. The assessment levied against each owner or lessee under this article shall be ten cents per acre of forest land owned."

*In 2019, an Alabama bill (2019 SB 282) was enacted that exempts timber lands from local fire district service charges and fees; assigns responsibility for the control and coordination of fire prevention, fire protection and firefighting services in the state to the State Forestry Commission.

Arkansas: Ark. Stat. Ann. §15-31-111

"The Arkansas Forestry Commission is authorized to charge private landowners a rate not to exceed four dollars (\$4.00) per acre for the preparation of timber management plans. The proceeds from the charge shall be used to provide for the maintenance, operation, and improvement of the commission."

California: Cal. Pub Res Code §4213

*The Fire prevention Fee has been suspended since July 1, 2017 (2017 AB 398). Here is information on the bill before it was suspended.

"The Fire Prevention Fee is an annual fee, effective July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2017, for fire prevention services. Owners of habitable structures in the State's Responsibility Area (SRA), on record as of July 1 each year, are required by law to pay the fee. The most recent fee amount is \$152.33 per habitable structure located within the SRA for the period July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017. If the habitable structure is also within the boundaries of a local agency that provides fire protection services, the property owner will receive a \$35.00 reduction for each habitable structure."

"An owner of land classified as forest land that is within a wildland fire protection district or that is otherwise under contract for fire protection by a recognized agency is subject to the fees for fire protection provided in this section. The department shall provide fire protection to the land at a cost to the landowner of not more than \$50 for each landowner in the protection district and of not more than an additional 30 cents per acre per year for each acre in excess of 20 acres owned by each landowner in each protection district."

Oregon: Or. Rev. Stat. §477.270

"Forest landowners are required by law to provide protection from fire for their lands. Rather than having their own firefighting force, most private landowners have ODF or their local fire protective association protect their lands. To fund this service, they pay a forest patrol assessment to the state. Forestland classification is done at the local level. Each county within a forest protection district has a committee that meets periodically to determine which lands meet the definition of forestland and are subject to the forest patrol assessment. At minimum, a small property would pay \$18.75 annually, but the same property with a house on it would pay \$47.50 annually. Additional buildings on a property won't result in any increased assessment. Some properties that were inadvertently classified as grazing land, which would pay 93 cents an acre annually, may be changed to forestland, which requires \$2.04 an acre."

Washington: Wash. Rev. Code. § 52.04.181

"Forest Fire Protection Assessment (FFPA) is a fee that is paid by private forest landowners and exempt entities (counties, cities, non-profits, and state landowners) to help pay for the cost of preparing to fight wildfires as opposed to actually fighting the fire (the costs that are referred to as "suppression costs"). FFPA consists of a flat fee of \$17.50 and \$.27 on each acre exceeding 50 acres. Fifty cents of the total assessments paid per parcel is retained by the county expense fund to defray the cost of listing, billing, and collecting assessments."

*<u>Washington's rates</u> can vary based on location.