

Local Government Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

66th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JASON ELLSWORTH
JOHN ESP
MARGARET MACDONALD

SUE MALEK

HOUSE MEMBERS
GERALDINE CUSTER
MARY ANN DUNWELL
DAVE FERN
TYSON RUNNINGWOLF
LOLA SHELDON-GALLOWAY
PEGGY WEBB

COMMITTEE STAFF
TONI HENNEMAN, Lead Staff
JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney
BRI NORDHAGEN, Secretary

AGENDA

Local Government Interim Committee

November 12-13, 2019 State Capitol Building, Room 137

Agenda times are approximate.

Tuesday November 12, 2019

1:00 pm Call to Order & Roll Call – Sen. Margie MacDonald, Chair

1:05 pm Meeting Overview – Ms. Henneman

1:10 pm MSU Local Government Center update (Tab 1) – Dan Clark, Director

Public Comment*

2. Questions from the Committee

1:45 pm Opportunity Zones (Tab 2)

- 1. Current status and update Tara Rice, Department of Commerce Director
- 2. Relevance for affordable housing Bruce Brensdal, Montana Housing Administrator
- 3. Public Comment*
- 4. Questions from the Committee

2:45 pm BREAK

3:00 pm Regional Fire Authority Topic (Tab 3)

- 1. Review of 2017-18 LGIC work and SB 17 Ms. Henneman
- 2. Stakeholder Panel Discussion
 - a. Mike DeGrosky, DNRC
 - b. Kelly Lynch, MLCT
 - c. Doug Martens, Rosebud County Commissioner
 - d. Rich Cowger, MT Fire Chiefs' Association

- e. Paul McKenzie, FH Stoltze Land and Lumber Company
- 3. Public Comment*
- 4. Questions from the Committee

4:30 pm Review Wednesday agenda – recess for the day

Wednesday November 13, 2019

8:00 am Reconvene – roll call – Chair MacDonald

8:05 am Pension system overview – Local Government impacts (Tab 4)

- 1. Treasure State Endowment Program (TSEP) history and background Ms. Henneman and Cathy Duncan, Legislative Fiscal Division
- 2. Pension system overview Sam Schaefer, LFD and Sheri Scurr, LSD
- 3. Public Comment*
- 4. Questions from the Committee

9:00 am Entitlement Share (Tab 5)

- 1. History of HB 124 (2001) and HB 33 (2015) Ms. Henneman
- 2. Entitlement Share historical revenues and expenditures Sam Schaefer, Legislative Fiscal Division
- 3. Public Comment*
- 4. Questions from the Committee

10:30 am BREAK

10:45 am SJ 3 – Impacts of Failing On-site wastewater treatment systems (Tab 6) – Mike Koopal, Whitefish Lake Institute

- 1. Public Comment*
- 2. Questions from the Committee

11:30 am LUNCH

12:30 pm SJ 3 – Local Government Regulation and Oversight (Tab 7)

- Lewis & Clark County Septic Maintenance Program Beth Norberg, Lewis
 & Clark County Sanitarian
- 2. Local Sanitarian/Environmental Health Officer Panel Discussion
 - a. Shannon Therriault Missoula County
 - b. Shawn Rowland Broadwater County
 - c. Hillary Hanson Flathead County
 - d. Lori Christenson Gallatin County
 - e. Beth Norberg Lewis & Clark County
- 3. Public comment*

4. Questions from the Committee

2:00 pm Public Comment* on any other topic within the committee's jurisdiction

2:15 pm Committee work session

- 1. Updated work plan outline
- 2. Questions and directives for staff
- 3. Next meeting overview

2:30 pm Adjourn

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Lenore Adams at 406-444-4456 or leadams@mt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.

^{*}Public comment provided in person to the committee is a public record that is videotaped, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting.