

Transportation Interim Committee

66th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

CYDNIE (CARLIE) BOLAND DIANE SANDS – Vice Chair GORDON VANCE -- Chair JEFF WELBORN HOUSE MEMBERS ROSS FITZGERALD DENLEY LOGE ANDREA OLSEN MARK SWEENEY COMMITTEE STAFF SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, Research Director JOE CARROLL, Staff Attorney BRI NORDHAGEN, Secretary

Transportation Interim Committee State Capitol, Room 152 9:00 a.m. Monday, January 13

AGENDA ITEM TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

9:00 a.m.	Call to Order - Roll Call
9:05 a.m.	 DOJ Motor Vehicle Division updates 1. Division Administrator Sarah Garcia 2. Questions from the Committee
9:15 a.m.	 Real ID Follow-up - Tab 1 1. Introduction - Ms. Nowakowski 2. DOJ Updates 3. Questions from the Committee 4. Public Comment 5. Direction to Staff
9:30 a.m.	 DOT updates 1. MDT Chief Operating Officer Kevin Christensen 2. Questions from the Committee
10:00 a.m.	 SJ 28: Traffic Safety Systems and Policy – Tab 2 Safety Discussion MDT Next Steps – Carol Strizich Questions from the Committee Public Comment
11:00 p.m.	 De-icer Costs and Benefits – Tab 3 1. Introduction – Senator Dee Brown 2. Overview – Doug McBroom 3. Questions from the Committee 4. Public Comment
11:30 a.m.	 Accessibility in Montana 1. Introduction - Senator Sands 2. Montana Independent Living Project - Joel Peden 3. Questions from the Committee 4. Public Comment
12:00 p.m.	Lunch

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE

1:00 p.m.	 HJ 45: Bicycle and Pedestrian Pathways - Tab 4 1. Introduction and Update - Rep. Loge 2. MDT 2019 Pedestrian & Bicycle Plan and Funding - Carol Strizich and Sheila Ludlow 3. Questions from the Committee 4. Public Comment
1:30 p.m.	 Electric Bikes in Montana - Tab 5 1. Introduction - Ms. Nowakowski 2. Local Government Perspectives a. Aaron Wilson and Ben Weiss - City of Missoula b. Martin Madsen and Taylor Lonsdale - City of Bozeman 3. Questions from the Committee 4. Public Comment
2:00 p.m.	 Biodiesel Refunds Report (15-70-433, MCA) Tab 6 1. MDT Administrator Larry Flynn 2. Questions from the Committee
2:15 p.m.	 Administrative Rule Review - Tab 7 1. Introduction - Mr. Carroll 2. Questions from the Committee
2:30 p.m.	 Administrative Matters 1. Update on HB 661 - Tab 7 2. Work Plan Update and Calendar - Tab 8 3. Mapping the Road to Construction Projects in Montana - Ms. Nowakowski - Tab 9 4. Written and Electronic Comment Received - Tab 10 5. Discussion of Next Meeting 6. Instructions to Staff
2:45 p.m.	Public Comment on matters within TIC jurisdiction not on agenda

3:00 p.m. **Adjourn**

Public comment provided in person at a committee meeting is a public record that is videotaped, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative website as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting. The Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. If you require an accommodation, please contact Sonja Nowakowski at 406-444-3078 or snowakowski@mt.gov at least 5 working days before the meeting date to discuss the nature of the accommodation you need.