

#### Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

## 66th Montana Legislature

**SENATE MEMBERS** 

JEFF WELBORN, Vice Chairman
JILL COHENOUR
BRUCE (BUTCH) GILLESPIE
JON SESSO

**HOUSE MEMBERS** 

ZACH BROWN, Chairman BOB BROWN CARL GLIMM BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT SHANE MORIGEAU WALT SALES **COMMITTEE STAFF** 

JASON MOHR, Lead staff CORINA HACH, Staff attorney NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

## WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE

Room 102, State Capitol Building
May 18-19, 2020
AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

Note: Committee and work group members will attend this meeting via video conference call.

## Monday, May 18

#### 9 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

#### 9:05 a.m. HJ14: Study of the future of the Water Court

- Review of study progress--Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

#### 9:15 a.m. HJ14: Status and future duties of the Montana Water Court

- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

#### 9:45 a.m. HJ14: DNRC reaction to March proposal by Judicial Branch

- Jan Langel, Water Resources Division administrator (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

## 10 a.m. HJ14: Water Court reaction to March proposal by DNRC

- Hon. Russ McElyea, Montana Water Court chief judge
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

## 10:15 a.m. HJ14: Proposed Water Court administration of decrees

- Hon. Stephen Brown, Montana Water Court associate judge
- Peter Fritsch, Teton River water commissioner
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

#### 11 a.m. Lunch recess

## 1 p.m. HJ14: District Court workload issues

- Beth McLaughlin, Montana Supreme Court administrator
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

## 1:30 p.m. HJ14: Discussion of supervision of water commissioners

- George Alberda, water commissioner in Gallatin County
- Montana Assoc. of Conservation Districts (tentative)
- Laura Rennick, Water Resources Division operations manager (DNRC)
- Hon. Judge Brown
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

# 2:15 p.m. HJ14: Proposed Water Court jurisdiction over ditch easements and irrigation district boundaries

- Hon. Judge McElyea
- Erling Juel, district manager, Greenfields Irrigation District
- Mike Murphy, Montana Water Users Association
- Jim Torske, water rights attorney from Hardin
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

## 3 p.m. Recess

## Tuesday, May 19

#### 9 a.m. Reconvene

## 9:05 a.m. HJ40: Study of weather modification

- Review of study progress--Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

#### 9:15 a.m. HJ40: Insurance company perspective on weather modification activities

- TBD
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

## 9:40 a.m. Reexamined and HB110 water right claims: Proposed benchmarks

- Review of reexamination and HB110 processes--Ms. Hach
- Matt Murphy, Water Adjudication Bureau chief
- Hon. Judge McElyea
- Hon. Judge Brown
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

#### 10 a.m. Recommendations from the Geocodes Working Group

- Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

10:30 a.m. Next steps for HJ14, HJ40 studies

#### 10:40 a.m. Administrative Rule Review

- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

10:50 a.m. Public comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of the WPIC

11 a.m. Adjourn

\* Due to **Covid-19 public health concerns** and the resulting Governor's emergency declaration and social distancing restrictions, **the public is prohibited from physically attending this meeting in the State Capitol Building**.

**This meeting is open to the public.** The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate may join the meeting. If you want to participate, please email committee staff at jasonmohr@mt.gov with your name and a request. Staff will send you a calendar invite with instructions for joining and participating in the call by 5 p.m. the day before the call.

A time will be provided for oral public comment on the agenda, at that time, members of the public who have joined may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or the meeting host. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment via email in advance of the meeting to jasonmohr@mt.gov is also welcome and will be provided to committee members.

Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact committee staff as soon as possible before the meeting date at jasonmohr@mt.gov or (406)444-1640.