

#### Water Policy Interim Committee

#### 66th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS JEFF WELBORN, Vice Chairman JILL COHENOUR BRUCE (BUTCH) GILLESPIE JON SESSO HOUSE MEMBERS ZACH BROWN, Chairman BOB BROWN CARL GLIMM BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT SHANE MORIGEAU WALT SALES

COMMITTEE STAFF JASON MOHR, Lead staff

CORINA HACH, Staff attorney NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

DRAFT AGENDA (as of Sept. 1, 2020)

# WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE

Room 172, State Capitol Building Sept. 14-15, 2020 AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

Note: Committee members will attend this meeting via video conference call

## Monday, Sept. 14

## 1 p.m. Call to order

• Roll call

## 1:05 p.m. Clark Fork River Basin Task Force update (85-2-350, MCA)

- David Shively, task force member
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 1:15 p.m. Upper Clark Fork River Basin Steering Committee update (85-2-338, MCA)

- Maureen Connor, steering committee member
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 1:30 p.m. HJ40: Insurance industry perspective on weather modification

- Matthew Nielsen, Government and Regulatory Affairs senior director (RMS, Inc.)
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 1:45 p.m. Adjudication update (Tab 1)

- Water Court
- Matt Murphy, Adjudication Bureau chief (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## **2 p.m.** Update on Water Rights Information System upgrade (Tab 2)

- Millie Heffner, Water Rights Bureau chief (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 2:15 p.m. Geocodes and water right ownership updates: Updates to DNRC manual

- Ms. Heffner
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## **2:30 p.m.** Administrative rule review (Tab 3)

- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 2:45 p.m. Legislative Services Division update

- LSD manager
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

# 3 p.m. Recess

# Tuesday, Sept. 15

## 9 a.m. Final committee reports (Tab 4)

- Summary of written public comments--Mr. Mohr
  - o HJ14
  - o HJ40
  - o Climate
- Additional public comment (may be taken after each individual report)
- Committee questions and discussion (may be held after each individual report)
- Committee adoption of final reports

# 9:30 a.m. Committee consideration of draft legislation (Tab 5)

- Draft legislation:
  - Geocodes
    - Weather modification
    - Benchmarks
- Public comment (may be taken after each individual bill)
- Committee questions and discussion (may be held after each individual bill)
- Committee approval of bills for pre-introduction (may be taken after each individual bill)
- Assignment of sponsors

# **10:30 a.m.** Overview of proposed agency legislation (Tab 6)

- John Tubbs, DNRC director
- Myla Kelly, Standards and Modeling Section supervisor (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion
- Committee consideration of bills for pre-introduction

## **11 a.m.** Staff evaluations (Tab 7)

- Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 11:15 a.m. Propose areas of study for 2021-22 WPIC

- Mr. Mohr
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

#### 11:30 a.m. Discussion of future WPIC meeting dates

- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

## 11:40 a.m. Public comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of the WPIC

#### 11:50 a.m. Directions to staff

Noon Adjourn

## **\*Public Participation Information**

- Due to COVID-19 public health concerns, the public is discouraged from physically attending meetings in the State Capitol Building.
- The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view it only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on www.leg.mt.gov.
- Members of the public who want to offer public comment may join the meeting for public comment periods. To offer public comment, please contact Jason Mohr at jasonmohr@mt.gov by 5 p.m. on July 10 with the following:
  - o your name;
  - the agenda item(s) for which you wish to offer public comment; and
  - o whether you'll provide comment by telephone or via your computer.

You'll receive instructions for joining and participating in the meeting. During the public comment periods, people who have joined the meeting may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or the meeting host. Comments will be taken in order received. The presiding officer may limit the amount of time provided for public comment.

- Written public comment provided in advance of the meeting is accepted and encouraged. Written comments may be sent to jasonmohr@mt.gov. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.
- The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact committee staff at jasonmohr@mt.gov or 406-444-1640.