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Committing Persons
Due to Dementia

« Older Montanans with dementia
committed to Montana State Hospital.

« In 2021, 10 persons with dementia
committed. None of 10 had mental
iliIness diagnosis.



State Hospitals Are Not
Appropriate for Dementia Care

« Until now, I have never heard of
commitments due to dementia.

« State hospitals are for persons with
mental illness.



Dementia Common Iin
Long-Term Care Facilities

* 48% of nursing facility residents have
dementia.

* 42% of assisted living facility residents
have dementia.

 Dementia is a progressive disease.

* Likely that:

 Facility resident will develop dementia, or
« Dementia will worsen.



Federal Nursing Facility Law

« Applies to any facility that accepts
Medicare and/or Medicaid.

 Broad application, because almost every
facility accepts Medicare or Medicaid.
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Federal Law re: Dementia Care

« Must provide necessary behavioral health
care so that resident can attain or
maintain highest practicable level of
functioning.

» Services based upon assessment and
care plan.

» Resident and resident’s representative
participate in care plan development.
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Nursing Facility Staff

* Nursing staff must have “appropriate
competencies and skills.”

» Certified nurse aides with at least 75
hours of individual training.

» Must pass written and hands-on tests.
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Dementia Covered in
Nursing Facility Training

* Training for nurse aides must address
dementia care, including
 Meeting needs of residents with dementia;
« Communicating with residents;
« Understanding behavior;
» Appropriate responses to behavior; and
« How to reduce effects of dementia.
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Assisted Living Based on
State Law

 Licensing standards set by state law.

« Even name of licensure type varies from
state to state.

- E.g., assisted living, personal care home,
residential care facility for the elderly.
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44 States Requiring Dementia
Training in Assisted Living

« Standards for
« Basic licensure, and/or
« Specialization in dementia care.

« My Opinion: Training requirements better
as part of basic licensure, since dementia
IS so common among older adults who
require assisted living care.
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Arizona Basic Licensure

« 62 hours of training for direct-care staff,
including 8 hours in dementia care.
« Meeting resident needs;
« Communicating;
« Understanding behavior; and
« Reducing effects of dementia.
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Training in Specialized Facilities

« Alabama: Staff must complete dementia
training series developed by state
agency.

« Arkansas: Additional 30 hours, including
dementia treatment, dementia stages,
behavior management, and
communications.
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Training in Specialized Facilities
(cont.)

« Maine: Additional 16 hours of training,
including “activity focused care,” how to
deal with “difficult” behaviors, and family
Issues.

« Massachusetts: 7 additional hours,
including therapeutic environments and
how to interpret expressions of distress.
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Summary

« Long-term care facilities should be
brepared to address needs of older
nersons with dementia.

* Eric Carlson
« (213) 309-9394
« ecarlson@justiceinaging.org
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