

## **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE HOUSE MEMBERS
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY
MIKE FREEMAN PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDEDIAH HINKLE

STEVE GUNDERSOI JEDEDIAH HINKLE JIM KEANE MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS MIKE LANG -- Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH TOM JACOBSON CARY SMITH MARK SWEENEY PUBLIC MEMBERS BRAD HAMLETT – Vice Chair JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT MONICA TRANEL

COUNCIL STAFF
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

### Tuesday, January 25, 2022

#### 8:00 a.m. Wildland Fire & Air Quality (Tab 4)

- Air Quality Reporting
  - Bo Wilkins, Air Quality Bureau Chief, DEQ
- Health effects of smoke
  - Jessie Fernandes, Supervisor, Health Improvement Section Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Bureau, Montana Department of Health and Human Services (Zoom)
  - Erin Landguth, Associate Professor, University of Montana School of Public and Community Health Sciences (Zoom)
  - Katelyn O'Dell, Postdoctoral Researcher, George Washington University (Zoom)
  - Public comment
  - Questions/discussion -- EQC
  - Committee action, if any

#### 9:00 a.m. Fire Season & Water Supply update

- Sonya Germann, Forestry Division Administrator, DNRC
- Michael Downey, Water Planning Section Supervisor, DNRC
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

10:00 a.m. Break

### 10:15 a.m. Federal Land Management and State Coordination

- Leanne Martin, Regional Forester, United States Forest Service
- Sonya Germann, Forestry Division Administrator DNRC
- Quentin Kujala, Chief of Staff, FWP
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

Noon Lunch

#### 1:00 p.m. Compliance and Enforcement Reports (Tab 5)

- Overview Mr. Kolman
- DEO

- Director Amanda Kaster, DNRC (Zoom)
- Agriculture
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

#### 1:45 p.m. Agency Litigation Reports (Tab 6)

- Overview Mr. Kolman
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

#### 2:15 p.m. **Agency updates from Directors**

#### Department of Environmental Quality - Chris Dorrington

• Questions/discussion – EQC

2:30 p.m. **Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks** – Hank Worsech

Questions/discussion – EQC

2:45 p.m. Department of Natural Resources and Conservation – Amanda Kaster (Zoom)

Questions/discussion -- EQC

#### 3:00 p.m. Other business

- Instructions to staff
- Public comment on matter not on in agenda but within the jurisdiction of EQC

#### Adjourn

#### Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at <a href="http://leg.mt.gov/eqc">http://leg.mt.gov/eqc</a>.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Please email jkolman@mt.gov with your name and a request and you will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jkolman@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.



# **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE

DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY
MIKE FREEMAN

PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSO
JEDEDIJAH HINKI F

PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON JEDEDIAH HINKLE JIM KEANE MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS MIKE LANG -- Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH TOM JACOBSON CARY SMITH MARK SWEENEY PUBLIC MEMBERS BRAD HAMLETT – Vice Chair JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT MONICA TRANEL

COUNCIL STAFF
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Joe Kolman (jkolman@mt.gov, 406-444-3474) as soon as possible before the meeting date.