

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY
PATRICK HOLMES
PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDEDIAH HINKLE
JIM KEANE
MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS
PAT FLOWERS
STEVE HINEBAUCH
TOM JACOBSON
MIKE LANG
CARY SMITH
MARK SWEENEY

PUBLIC MEMBERS JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT BRAD HAMLETT MONICA TRANELL COUNCIL STAFF
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
HOPE STOCKWELL, Research Analyst
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

FINAL AGENDA ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL via Zoom July 20, 2021

NOTE: AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

8:00 a.m. Call to Order - Roll Call

Rep. Cary Smith (senior Senator)

8:05 a.m. **Administrative matters**

Committee member introductions
 Staff introductions - Mr. Kolman
 EQC budget overview - Mr. Kolman

Adoption of EQC rules

Election of the EQC Chair and Vice Chair

8:20 a.m. **Council and staff responsibilities** - Mr. Kolman

8:30 a.m. Water Policy Interim Committee update

Mr. Mohr

Questions/discussion -- EQC

Committee action, if any

Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee update

Mr. Graff

Questions/discussion -- EQC

• Committee action, if any

8: 40 a.m. Statutory administrative rule review

General overview - Mr. Carroll

Public comment

Questions/discussion -- EQC

• Committee action, if any

	•
Agency	overviews
115CIIC y	OVCIVICANS

8:45 a.m. Department of Natural Resources and Conservation - Director Amanda Kaster Questions/discussion -- EQC 9:05 a.m. Department of Environmental Quality - Director Chris Dorrington Questions/discussion -- EQC 9:25 a.m. **BREAK** Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks - Director Hank Worsech 9:35 a.m. Questions/discussion -- EQC 9:50 a.m. **Public Comment** Committee action, if any 10:00 a.m. Orphan Share remedial action update (SB 96, 2015) Terri Mavencamp, Contaminated Site Cleanup Bureau Chief, DEQ Public comment Questions/discussion -- EQC Committee action, if any 10:15 a.m. Libby asbestos Superfund oversight committee report (HB 30, 2019) DEQ/oversight committee members Public comment Questions/discussion -- EQC Committee action, if any 10:30 a.m. Fire season & water supply update Sonya Germann, Forestry Division Administrator, DNRC Ann Schwend, Water Resources Planner, DNRC Public comment Questions/discussion -- EQC Committee action, if any **Interim Items** 11:00 a.m. Overview of Work Plan, Mr. Kolman Questions/discussion - EQC Public comment Committee action, if any 11:30 a.m. Discussion and adoption of interim EQC calendar 11:35 a.m. Public comment on any matter not contained in this agenda and that is within the jurisdiction of the EQC 11:30 a.m. Other business Instructions to staff 11:45 p.m. Adjourn



ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE

DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY
PATRICK HOLMES

PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDEDIAH HINKLE
JIM KEANE
MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH TOM JACOBSON MIKE LANG CARY SMITH MARK SWEENEY PUBLIC MEMBERS JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT BRAD HAMLETT MONICA TRANELL COUNCIL STAFF
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
HOPE STOCKWELL, Research Analyst
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at http://leg.mt.gov/eqc.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Please email jkolman@mt.gov with your name and a request and you will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jkolman@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Joe Kolman (jkolman@mt.gov, 406-444-3474) as soon as possible before the meeting date.