

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE HOUSE MEMBERS
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY
MIKE FREEMAN PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDEDIAH HINKLE

STEVE GUNDERSOI JEDEDIAH HINKLE JIM KEANE MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS MIKE LANG -- Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH TOM JACOBSON RYAN LYNCH CARY SMITH PUBLIC MEMBERS BRAD HAMLETT – Vice Chair JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT MONICA TRANEL

COUNCIL STAFF
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

FINAL AGENDA ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

Room 317, Capitol July 18-19, 2022

NOTE: AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

Monday July 18, 2022

Field Trip (Tab 1)

10:00 a.m. Meet at Montana State Prison

• Tour pheasant rearing operation, DFWP & Department of Corrections

State Buildings Energy Conservation Program, DEQ & DOC

Lunch at State Prison

1:00 p.m. Leave State Prison

1:30 p.m. Clark Fork Remediation Site, DEQ & Natural Resource Damage Program

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

8:30 a.m. Call to Order - Roll Call - Chair Lang

8:35 a.m. **Administrative matters** – Mr. Kolman

• Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee

Water Policy Interim Committee

8:45 a.m. HJ 27 Conservation District Funding (Tab 2)

Overview of draft report and legislation – Mr. Kolman

Questions/discussion – EQC

• Public comment

Committee action if any

9:15 a.m. Trapping Update (Online training; Incidental Trapping)

Ken McDonald, FWP Wildlife Division Administrator

Public comment

Questions/discussion -- EQC

Committee action if any

10:00 a.m. Habitat Montana Update (Tab 3)

Ken McDonald, FWP Wildlife Division Administrator

Public comment

Questions/discussion -- EQC

Committee action if any

10:45 a.m. **Break**

11:00 a.m. Fire Season & Water Supply Update

- Sonya Germann, Forestry Division Administrator, DNRC
- Michael Downey, Drought Program Coordinator, DNRC
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action if any

Noon Lunch

1:00 p.m. **Opencut Mining Update**

- History of statutory changes, Mr. Kolman
- Current Program update, Opencut Supervisor Whitney Bausch, DEQ
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action if any

2:00 p.m. Rule Review (Tab 4)

- Mr. Carroll, EQC attorney
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action if any

2:30 p.m. **Agency updates from Directors**

Department of Environmental Quality

Questions/discussion – EQC

2:45p.m. **Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks**

Questions/discussion – EQC

3:00 p.m. Department of Natural Resources and Conservation

Questions/discussion -- EQC

3:15 p.m. Other business

- Next Steps for HJ27 Conservation District Study
- Agenda items for September meeting
- Instructions to staff

3:30 Public comment on any matter not on agenda but within the jurisdiction of EQC

Adjourn

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at http://leg.mt.gov/eqc.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.



ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 **HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704** (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE HOUSE MEMBERS **DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE WILLIS CURDY** PAUL FIELDER MIKE FREEMAN

STEVE GUNDERSON JEDEDIAH HINKLE JIM KEANE MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS MIKE LANG -- Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH TOM JACOBSON RYAN LYNCH CARY SMITH

PUBLIC MEMBERS BRAD HAMLETT - Vice Chair JOHN C. BRENDEN DAVE GALT MONICA TRANEL

COUNCIL STAFF TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst JASON MOHR, Research Analyst NADINE SPENCER, Secretary JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Please email jkolman@mt.gov with your name and a request and you will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jkolman@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Joe Kolman (jkolman@mt.gov, 406-444-3747) as soon as possible before the meeting date.