STATE	DV PLATE ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA	FEES	HANDICAP Parking
Montana	MCA 61-3-458: (4) (b) A veteran may be issued special license plates displaying the letters "DV", which entitles the veteran to the parking privileges allowed to a person with a special parking permit issued under Title 49, chapter 4, part 3, if the veteran: (i) has been awarded the purple heart and has been rated by the U.S. department of veterans affairs as 50% or more disabled because of a service-connected injury; or (ii) is currently rated 100% disabled or is paid at the 100% disabled rate by the U.S. department of veterans affairs for a service-connected disability.	Fees are waived	Yes
North Dakota	Veterans may be eligible for license plates with a Disabled American Veteran designation. Plates may be displayed on up to two excise tax-exempt vehicles licensed at a time. In order to qualify for these plates, applicants must: -Complete an Application for Certificate of Title -Receive a signed certification letter from the US Department of Veteran Affairs office stating the applicant is either 100% disabled due to military service, or is declared eligibility under Public Law 663 of the 79th Congress	Fees are waived	Yes
South Dakota	Before a person can receive a disabled veteran plate, they must be an owner of a motor vehicle or motorcycle and a resident veteran who is either: -A recipient of a Veterans Administration K Award; or -A recipient of an automobile under Public Law 187; or -A recipient of a statutory benefit for loss or loss of use of one or more extremities; or -A recipient of a veteran's allotment for total disability which is a service-connected injury. In addition, the injury must have been incurred in active duty during a time of war or while participating in a military mission involving armed conflict.	\$10 annual fee & \$5 one- time mailing fee	Not specified
Nebraska	Disabled American Veteran License Plates are available to any person who is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces, who was discharged or otherwise separated with a characterization of honorable or general (under honorable conditions) and who is classified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs with a disability that is 100% service-connected. To request Disabled American Veteran license plates, the applicant must be eligible for, and enrolled in, the Nebraska Veteran's Registry through the Nebraska Department of Veteran's Affairs and have served (with an honorable or general under honorable conditions discharge/separation) and is 100% service-connected disabled.	Fees required; exact amounts not available	Separate application required

Colorado	Any person who can demonstrate being 50% or more Permanent Service-Connected Disabled. Qualifying person must submit a copy of letter from the Veteran Administration or letter from their branch of service stating that the qualifying person is fifty percent or more, service-connected, permanent disability, or for loss of use of one or both feet or one or both hands, or for permanent impairment or loss of vision in both eyes that constitutes virtual or actual blindness. Honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States (Proof may be on the DD 214 or other discharge documents issued by the Armed Services of the United States)		Separate application required
Wyoming	A disabled veteran who receives 50% or more service connected disability compensation from the United States Department of Veteran's Affairs and who is a resident at the time of initial application and renewal application, may apply for distinctive license plates for a passenger car, pickup truck, motorcycle or multipurpose vehicle owned or leased by him upon registration of the vehicle.	Fees are waived	Cannot be used to park in handicap spots in Wyoming; separate handicap placard is required
Idaho	The Idaho Disabled Veteran license plate is available free to honorably discharged Veterans that have a 100% service-connected permanent disability. Veterans are limited to one set one set of Disabled Veteran license plates. Disabled Veterans must provide a copy of their VA disability benefit letter as proof of eligibility when they apply.	Fees are waived	Available with and without handicap logo
Oregon	Oregon Wounded Warrior Permit: -Have a valid Oregon Driver License or ID CardDoctor signature on the applicationProvide a letter from the Veterans' Administration indicating 50% or greater service connected disability; and -A discharge status other than dishonorable.	Fees are waived	3 types of permits; 1 allows for parking in handicap spots; others allow for free & extended parking in nonhandicap spots with time limits and parking meter fees
Washington	Available to: -Have lost the use of both hands or one foot; -Have become blind in both eyes as the result of military service; or -Are rated by the veterans administration or the military service from which the veteran was discharged and be receiving service-connected compensation at the one hundred percent rate that is expected to exist for more than one year (letter must be submitted with application).	Fees are waived	Separate application required

California	You may qualify for DV License Plates if you're a veteran who was made permanently disabled as a result of an injury or disease that occurred while on active service with the U.S. Armed Forces. You qualify if any of the following apply: -You have a disability rated at 100% by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (or the military service that discharged you) due to a diagnosed disease or disorder that substantially impairs or interferes with mobility (letter must be submitted with application). -You are unable to move without the aid of an assistive device. -You have lost the use of one or more limbs. -You are permanently blind as defined in the California Welfare and Institutions Code §19153.	Fees are waived	Yes
Nevada	For those with a qualifying service connected disability. NRS 482.0962 "Qualifying service-connected disability" means: -A service-connected disability rated at 100 percent; -More than one service-connected disability, the combined ratings of which add up to at least 100 percent; or -A service-connected disability of any rating that constitutes or includes a permanent disability that qualifies a person for non-veteran handicapped plates.	\$6 initial fee; annual fees are waived	Yes
Arizona	Plate recipient must be a veteran or immediate family member of a person issued a Veteran license plate.	\$25 application fee & \$25 annual fee (\$17 of each fee goes to special fund for veterans)	Available with and without handicap logo
New Mexico	The 50 percent disabled veteran plate is available to a veteran of the armed forces of the United States, upon the submission of proof satisfactory to the department that he was fifty percent disabled while serving in the armed forces of the United States.	Fees are waived	Available with and without handicap logo
Utah	This license plate recognizes Utah resident disabled veterans for their military service. As Utah Tax Code Section 41-1a-414 does not provide handicapped parking space privileges for the Disabled Veteran license plate, a disabled windshield placard must be obtained separately. This plate may be transferred to the surviving spouse of a disabled veteran so long as the surviving spouse remains unmarried. Letter from Utah Department of Veterans' and Military Affairs or other United States military entity certifying the disabled status of the veteran is required.	\$17 special plate fee & \$4 postage and handling fee; no annual fee	Handicap placard must be obtained separately
Alaska	You must submit certification from Veteran's Affairs (VA) stating you have a service-related disability of 50% or more to qualify for a Disabled Veteran's Plate(with or without wheelchair logo parking privileges).	Fees are waived	Available with and without handicap logo
Texas	Eligibility: -50% service-connected disability rating -40% or more service connected disability rating due to amputation of a lower extremity	Standard fees apply	Available with and without handicap logo