

Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

67th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

JILL COHENOUR SHANE MORIGEAU WALT SALES JEFF WELBORN, presiding officer **HOUSE MEMBERS**

WILLIS CURDY, vice-presiding officer ROBERT FARRIS-OLSEN TOM FRANCE RHONDA KNUDSEN MARTY MALONE BOB PHALEN COMMITTEE STAFF

JASON MOHR, lead staff CORI HACH, legal staff NADINE SPENCER, secretary

FINAL agenda

HJ37 Special Committee on Selenium Standards for Lake Koocanusa

Jan. 27, 2022 Room 172 Agenda times are approximate

Special committee members are: Sen. Walt Sales (presiding officer), Sen. Jill Cohenour, Rep. Willis Curdy, Rep. Steve Gunderson, Rep. Rhonda Knudsen, Rep. Marilyn Marler, Sen. Cary Smith, Sen. Mark Sweeney

Thursday, Jan. 27

8:30 a.m. Call to order

- Roll call
- Meeting overview—Mr. Mohr

8:45 a.m. Review of data and processes used in adoption of ARM 17.30.632

- Chris Dorrington, director, Department of Environmental Quality
- Data and processes
 - Myla Kelly, supervisor, Water Quality Standards Section (DEQ)
 - Lauren Sullivan, water quality science specialist (DEQ)
- Proposed work plan for HJ37
 - o Ms. Kelly
 - Mr. Dorrington
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

9:45 a.m. Stringency review of 17.30.632(7)(a)

- Drew Cionk, acting attorney for the Board of Environmental Review
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

10:15 a.m. Administrative matters

- Future meeting dates
- Direction to staff

10:30 a.m. Adjourn

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the WPIC website at leg.mt.gov/water.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on www.leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Requests to comment may be made on the committee meeting information page at https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/wpic/meeting-info. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jasonmohr@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (jasonmohr@mt.gov, (406)444-1640) as soon as possible before the meeting date.