

Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

67th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

JILL COHENOUR
SHANE MORIGEAU
WALT SALES
JEFF WELBORN, presiding officer

HOUSE MEMBERS

WILLIS CURDY, vice-presiding officer ROBERT FARRIS-OLSEN TOM FRANCE RHONDA KNUDSEN MARTY MALONE BOB PHALEN **COMMITTEE STAFF**

JASON MOHR, lead staff CORI HACH, legal staff NADINE SPENCER, secretary

FINAL agenda

Water Policy Interim Committee

March 15-16, 2022 Room 152 Agenda times are approximate

Tuesday, March 15

1 p.m. Call to order

- Roll call
- Meeting overview—Mr. Mohr

1:05 p.m. Water research (85-2-105, MCA): Water Information System

- Troy Blandford, GIS specialist and WIS manager, Montana State Library
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

1:30 p.m. Report from Stream Gauge Oversight Work Group (2-15-3308, MCA)

- Paul Azevedo, chief, Water Management Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

2 p.m. Water rights on BLM lands (Tab 3)

- Ron Stoneberg, supervisor, Valley County Conservation District
- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

3 p.m. Adjudication Advisory Committee: Proposed legislation (Tab 4)

- John Bloomquist, chairman, Adjudication Advisory Committee
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

3:30 p.m. Narrative nutrient standards: Update and explanation of an adaptive management program

- Amy Steinmetz, administrator, Water Quality Division (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

4:30 p.m. Agency rulemaking and ballot initiative update

- Joe Carroll, legislative attorney, Legal Services Office
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

5 p.m. Recess

Wednesday, March 16

8:30 a.m. Reconvene

8:35 a.m. Implementation of State Water Plan (85-1-203, MCA) (Tab 5)

- Paul Azevedo, chief, Water Management Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

9 a.m. Update on Comprehensive Review of Water Administration and Management

- Anna Pakenham Stevenson, administrator, Water Resources Division (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

9:30 a.m. Update on state drought plan (Tab 6)

- Valerie Kurth, water resource planner, Water Management Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

10 a.m. Study of Flathead River erosion (SJ28): Statewide erosion and statewide boating issues

- Statewide erosion issues
 - Jeff Ryan, Lewis and Clark Conservation District (LCCD)
 - Karl Christians, Missouri River Conservation District Council and LCCD
 - Tenlee Atchison, Cascade Conservation District
 - o Becky Clements, Gallatin Conservation District
 - Mark Siderius, Flathead Conservation District
 - Rich Janssen Jr., department head, Natural Resources (CSKT)
- Statewide boating issues
 - Phil Kilbreath, program manager (Recreation and Commercial Wildlife Program (FWP)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

11:15 a.m. Study of selenium standards for Lake Koocanusa (HJ37): Update from Special Committee

- Sen. Sales, presiding officer of HJ37 special committee
- Steven Ruffatto, chairman, Board of Environmental Review
- Chris Dorrington, director, Department of Environmental Quality
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

12:15 p.m. Administrative matters

- Mr. Mohr
- Future meeting locations, dates
- Direction to staff

12:30 p.m. Adjourn

Note: All meeting materials are available on the WPIC website at leg.mt.gov/water.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on www.leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Requests to comment may be made on the committee meeting information page at https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/wpic/meeting-info. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by

the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jasonmohr@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (<u>jasonmohr@mt.gov</u>, (406)444-1640) as soon as possible before the meeting date.