

Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

67th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

JILL COHENOUR SHANE MORIGEAU WALT SALES JEFF WELBORN, presiding officer **HOUSE MEMBERS**

WILLIS CURDY, vice-presiding officer ROBERT FARRIS-OLSEN TOM FRANCE RHONDA KNUDSEN MARTY MALONE BOB PHALEN **COMMITTEE STAFF**

JASON MOHR, lead staff CORI HACH, legal staff NADINE SPENCER, secretary

FINAL agenda

Water Policy Interim Committee

Oct. 12-13, 2021 Room 317 Agenda times are approximate

Tuesday, October 12

1 p.m. Call to order

- Roll call
- Meeting overview—Mr. Mohr

1:05 p.m. Adoption of final work plan (Tab 1)

- Mr. Mohr
 - o Committee topics
 - o Program review
 - Other oversight duties
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

1:30 p.m. Drought and water supply update (*Tab 2*) Update to 1995 Drought Plan

- Michael Downey, supervisor, Water Planning Section (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

2:15 p.m. Water storage in Montana (85-1-704, MCA) (Tab 3)

- Brian Holling, chief, Water Projects Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

- 2:45 Missouri Headwaters Basin Study (Tab 4)
 - Marketa McGuire, hydrologic civil engineer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Technical Service Center
 - Public comment
 - Committee discussion

3:30 p.m. Water projects and the American Rescue Plan Act (Tab 5)

- Amanda Kaster, director, DNRC
- Autumn Coleman, chief, Resource Development Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

4 p.m. Comprehensive Review of Water Administration and Management: Meeting Montana's Water Needs in the 21st century (Tab 6)

- Lt. Gov. Kristen Juras
- Rachel Meredith, general counsel, Governor's office
- Director Kaster
- Anna Pakenham Stevenson, administrator, Water Resources Division (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

4:30 p.m. Recess

Wednesday, October 13

8:30 a.m. Adjudication update (85-2-281, MCA) (Tab 7)

- Matt Murphy, chief, Adjudication Bureau (DNRC)
- Hon. Russ McElyea, chief water judge, Montana Water Court
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

9 a.m. Court decisions on expanded places of use for a water right

- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

9:30 a.m. Update from Nutrient Work Group

- Amy Steinmetz, administrator, Water Quality Division (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

10 a.m. Study of selenium standards for Lake Koocanusa (HJ37) (Tab 8)

- EQC appointments to special committee—Mr. Mohr
- Appointment of special committee members—Chairman Welborn
- Administration of special committee—Chairman Welborn
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

10:30 a.m. Study of Flathead River erosion (SJ28): Boating survey on the Flathead River and sloughs upstream of Flathead Lake (FWP, 2008) (Tab 9)

- Kenny Breidinger, biologist, Fisheries Division (FWP)
- Amber Steed, biologist, Fisheries Division (FWP)
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action

11 a.m. Legislative audit of Water Right Information System

- Austin Powell, performance auditor, Legislative Audit Division
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

11:30 a.m. Agency rulemaking update

- Ms. Hach
- Public comment
- Committee discussion and action, if necessary

11:45 a.m. Administrative matters

- Future meeting locations, dates
- Direction to staff

Noon Adjourn

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the WPIC website at leg.mt.gov/water.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on www.leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Requests to comment may be made on the committee meeting information page at https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/wpic/meeting-info. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jasonmohr@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (<u>iasonmohr@mt.gov</u>, (406)444-1640) as soon as possible before the meeting date.