MONTANA LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OVERSIGHT COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP, 2023-2024

The Criminal Justice Oversight Council includes members appointed by all three branches of government, including legislators, executive agency leadership, and other criminal justice stakeholders appointed by the Montana Supreme Court, the Attorney General, and the Governor.

Appointments are made in accordance to 53-1-216, MCA.

Member	Role
Rep. Amy Regier, Chair	Member of the House of Representatives
Jimmy Patelis, Vice Chair	Member of the Board of Pardons and Parole
Rep. Laura Smith	Member of the House of Representatives
Sen. Chris Friedel	Member of the Senate
Sen. Ryan Lynch	Member of the Senate
Hon. Luke Berger	District court judge
Hon. Jerome McCarthy	Municipal court judge
Alan Doane	Attorney general's designee
Director Brian Gootkin	Director of the Department of Corrections
Director Brett Schandelson	Director of the Office of State Public Defender
Director Charlie Brereton	Director of the Department of Public Health and Human Services
Sheriff Ross Canen	County sheriff
Scott Twito	County attorney
Eldena Bear Don't Walk	Member of a federally recognized Indian tribe located within the boundaries of the state of Montana who has expertise in criminal justice
Vacant	Representative of crime victims who also serves on the board of crime control established in 2-15-2008
Sharen Kickingwoman	Representative of civil rights advocates
Melissa Kelly	Representative of community corrections facilities
Amy Tenney	Representative of community corrections facilities

