

# **Criminal Justice Oversight Council**

### 68th Montana Legislature

CHRIS FRIEDEL RYAN LYNCH

SENATE MEMBERS HOUSE MEMBERS AMY REGIER - Chair LAURA SMITH

PUBLIC MEMBERS HON, LUKE BERGER ELDENA BEAR DON'T WALK CHARLIE BRERETON ROSS CANEN ALAN DOANE **BRIAN GOOTKIN** MELISSA KELLY

PUBLIC MEMBERS SHAREN KICKINGWOMAN HON, JEROME McCARTHY JIMMY PATELIS - Vice Chair BRETT SCHANDELSON AMY TENNEY SCOTT TWITO

COMMITTEE STAFF

LAURA SHERLEY, Lead Staff VACANT, Secretary

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706

(406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

### **TENTATIVE AGENDA – Data Warehouse Work Group**

April 9, 2024

State Capitol, Room 102 and Zoom

PLEASE NOTE:

- All times are approximate; some agenda items may take more or less time than allotted.
- The agenda may be adjusted at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- See page 2 of this agenda for information on accessibility and public participation.
- 1:00 p.m. **Call to Order and Roll Call** Chair Gootkin

#### Introductions 1:05 p.m.

- Work Group Members •
- Staff

### 1:15 p.m. Senate Bill 11 (2023) Review

Laura Sherley, Research Analyst

- Review of 2023-2024 interim requirements
- Public comment\* on the topic •
- Member questions and discussion

### **Criminal Justice Data Warehouse Overview and Update** 1:30 p.m.

Natalia Bowser, Board of Crime Control Executive Director Adam Carpenter, Chief Data Officer, Department of Administration Janice Fries, Statistical Analysis Center Director, Board of Crime Control

- Presentation
- Public comment\* on the topic •
- Member questions
- **Public Comment\*** on any matter within the scope of the work group that was 2:15 p.m. not on the agenda
- 2:30 p.m. Break

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • JASON MOHR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ANALYST, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES

# 2:45 p.m. Work Session

Chair Gootkin

- Outline of work and work group discussion of possible action items
- Directions to staff, if any
- Other discussion
- Next steps Ms. Sherley

4:45 p.m. Adjourn

## **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Registration deadline for virtual public comment is April 8<sup>th</sup> @ 5 PM

The public may attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol or provide public comment either remotely via Zoom or in writing.

**In person**: A podium with microphone is available for your public comment. You may leave written comment for the committee instead of or in addition to your spoken comment.

**Virtually:** Please submit the online form for remote participation: <u>https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/cjoc/meeting-info/remote-participation-cjoc/</u> You will receive an email with the login information by 11:59 p.m. the night before the meeting.

**In writing:** You may submit written comments either through the <u>online form</u> or by mailing the comments to Criminal Justice Oversight Council, PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620. Comments provided by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting will be given to the work group at the meeting. Comments provided after that time will be given to the work group at the next meeting.

\* Public comment provided in person or remotely at a committee meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting.

The Montana Legislative Services Division makes reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Laura Sherley at 406-444-4408 or Laura.Sherley@legmt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • JASON MOHR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ANALYST, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES