

# **Criminal Justice Oversight Council**

#### PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

#### 68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS CHRIS FRIEDEL RYAN LYNCH

HOUSE MEMBERS AMY REGIER - Chair LAURA SMITH

PUBLIC MEMBERS HON. LUKE BERGER ELDENA BEAR DON'T WALK CHARLIE BRERETON ROSS CANEN ALAN DOANE BRIAN GOOTKIN MELISSA KELLY PUBLIC MEMBERS SHAREN KICKINGWOMAN HON. JEROME McCARTHY JIMMY PATELIS – Vice Chair BRETT SCHANDELSON AMY TENNEY SCOTT TWITO COMMITTEE STAFF

LAURA SHERLEY, Lead Staff ANIA ALDUENDA, Secretary

#### Draft AGENDA (updated 5/8/2024) May 13, 2024 State Capitol, Room 102 and Zoom

PLEASE NOTE:

- All times are approximate; some agenda items may take more or less time than allotted.
- The agenda may be adjusted at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- See pages 2 and 3 of this agenda for information on accessibility and public participation.
- 9:00 a.m. Call to Order and Roll Call Chair – Rep. Amy Regier

9:05 a.m. **Department of Corrections Conditions Workgroup Update** Caitlin Flood and Valerie Meade, Criminal Justice Institute John Lytle, Citizen Advisory Council Member Scott Twito, Yellowstone County Attorney

- Public comment\* on the topic
- Council questions and discussion
- 10:15 a.m. Mental Health Programs and Community Transition Pathways for Incarcerated Youth

Superintendent Steve Ray, Pine Hills Correctional Facility

- Public comment\* on the topic
- Council questions and discussion
- 11:00 p.m. SB 11 Data Warehouse Work Group

Work Group Members

- Public comment\* on the topic
- Council questions and discussion
- Possible action on recommendations, if needed (Action item)

11:30 p.m. Lunch

continued on page 2.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • JASON MOHR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ANALYST, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES

## 1:00 p.m. Criminal Justice Data Collection by County Attorneys

Matt Jennings, Missoula County Attorney Kathryn McEnery, Powell County Attorney Josh Racki, Cascade County Attorney

- Public comment\* on the topic
- Council questions and discussion

### 2:00 p.m. Inmate Co-Pay for Treatment

Ray Antonsen, Program Service Manager, Department of Corrections Cynthia McGillis-Hiner, Health Services Bureau Chief, Department of Corrections Joe McElroy, Board of Pardons and Parole Board Member

- Public comment\* on the topic
- Council questions and discussion
- 3:00 p.m. **Public Comment\* on any topic under the Council's jurisdiction but not on this** agenda
- 3:15 p.m. Break

#### 3:30 p.m. Work Session

- Review of plans for next Council meeting
- Council action, if any
- Council discussion and directions to staff, if any
- Next meeting: July 24, 2024

#### 4:15 p.m. Adjourn

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Registration deadline for virtual public comment is May 10<sup>th</sup> @ 5 PM

The public may attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol or provide public comment either remotely via Zoom or in writing.

**In person**: A podium with microphone is available for your public comment. You may leave written comment for the committee instead of or in addition to your spoken comment.

**Virtually:** Please submit the online form for remote participation: <u>https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/cjoc/meeting-info/remote-participation-cjoc/</u> You will receive an email with the login information by 11:59 p.m. the night before the meeting.

**In writing:** You may submit written comments either through the <u>online form</u> or by mailing the comments to Criminal Justice Oversight Council, PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620. Comments

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • JASON MOHR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ANALYST, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES provided by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting will be given to the CJOC at the meeting. Comments provided after that time will be given to the CJOC at the next meeting.

\* Public comment provided in person or remotely at a committee meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posted to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting.

The Montana Legislative Services Division makes reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Laura Sherley at 406-444-4408 or Laura.Sherley@legmt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • JASON MOHR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ANALYST, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES