EAIC Presiding Officer Background

Legislators often ask about the rotation for presiding officers. By statute, the only requirement is that the presiding officer and vice presiding officer must be from different political parties:

5-5-213. Officers of interim committees. Each interim committee shall elect its presiding officer and vice presiding officer from among its members. The officers may not be members of the same political party.

Historically, the EAIC has generally rotated presiding officer by party over at least the last eleven interims:

INTERIM	PRESIDING OFFICER	VICE PRESIDING OFFICER
2001-2002	Sen. Dale Mahlum (R – Missoula)	Rep. Kathleen Galvin-Halcro (D-Great Falls)
2003-2004	Rep. Joe McKenney (R-Great Falls)	Sen. Glenn Roush (D-Cut Bank)
2005-2006	Rep. Jim Keane (D-Butte)	Sen. Don Steinbeisser (R-Sidney)
2007-2008	Rep. Scott Mendenhall (R-Clancy)	Sen. Ken Hansen (D-Harlem)
2009-2010	Sen. Jim Keane (D-Butte)	Rep. Gordon Vance (R-Belgrade)
2011-2012	Rep. Tom Berry (R-Roundup)	Sen. Tom Facey (D-Missoula)
2013-2014	Sen. Bruce Tutvedt (R-Kalispell)	Rep. Ryan Lynch (D-Butte)
2015-2016	Rep. Ryan Lynch (D-Butte)	Sen. Gordon Vance (R-Belgrade)
2017-2018	Sen. Gordon Vance (R-Belgrade)	Rep. Ryan Lynch (D-Butte)
2019-2020	Rep. Sharon Stewart-Peregoy (D-Crow Agency)	Rep. Vince Ricci (R-Laurel)
2021-2022	Sen. Kenneth Bogner (R-Miles City)	Rep. Derek Harvey (D-Butte)

CHAMBER & PARTY	NUMBER OF INTERIMS AS PRESIDING OFFICER	NUMBER OF INTERIMS AS VICE PRESIDING OFFICER
House Democrat	3	4
Senate Democrat	1	3
House Republican	3	2
Senate Republican	4	2

