

## **Economic Affairs Interim Committee**

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

## 68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS KENNETH BOGNER STEVE FITZPATRICK SHANE MORIGEAU MARK NOLAND HOUSE MEMBERS
JONATHAN KARLEN
JOSH KASSMIER
BRANDON LER
JENNIFER LYNCH
RON MARSHALL
NELLY NICOL

COMMITTEE STAFF
ERIN SULLIVAN, Lead Staff
JAMESON WALKER, Staff Attorney
LJ JENNINGS, Secretary

## **AGENDA**

July 11, 2023 8:30 a.m.

State Capitol, Room 137 and Zoom (Updated 7/10/2023)

Please note: All times are tentative

8:30 a.m. Call to Order – Roll Call – Introductions of Members and Staff

Senator Fitzpatrick, Acting Presiding Officer

8:45 a.m. Administrative Overview

Erin Sullivan, Research Analyst Jameson Walker, Attorney

- a. Staff Roles and Responsibilities
- b. Rules, Procedures, and Guidelines for Interim Committees
- c. Compensation and Expense Reimbursement
- d. Rulemaking Process & Committee Role
- e. Administrative Rule Review
  - \*Public Comment on Administrative Rule Review

9:15 a.m. Work Session – Committee Rules and Election of Officers

Senator Fitzpatrick, Acting Presiding Officer

- a. Discussion and Adoption of Committee Rules
  - b. Election of Officers
  - c. Appointment of Liaisons to Montana State Fund

9:45 a.m. Welcome to EAIC

Erin Sullivan, Research Analyst

- a. Overview of EAIC's Duties
- b. Overview of Assigned Study SJ30
- c. Overview of Draft Work Plan and Meeting Schedule

10:15 a.m. Introductions and Overviews of Assigned Agencies

10:15 a.m. Department of Commerce

Scott Osterman, Director

10:30 a.m. Governor's Office of Economic Development

Mark Blasdel, Director

10:45 a.m. BREAK

11:00 a.m. Introductions and Overviews of Assigned Agencies (continued)

11:00 a.m. Department of Labor and Industry

Erin Weisgerber, Division Administrator

11:15 a.m. Department of Livestock

Mike Honeycutt, Administrator

11:30 a.m. Division of Banking & Financial Institutions

Misty Ann Giles, Director of Administration Melanie Hall, Commissioner of Banking

11:45 a.m. State Auditor's Office

Frank Cote, Government Affairs Liaison

12:00 p.m. LUNCH

1:00 p.m. Introductions and Overviews of Assigned Agencies (continued)

1:00 p.m. Department of Agriculture

Christy Clark, Director

1:15 p.m. Cannabis Control Division

Kristan Barbour, Administrator

1:30 p.m. Alcohol Beverage Control Division

Steve Swanson, Division Operating Officer

1:45 p.m. Montana State Fund

Holly O'Dell, CEO

Kevin Braun, Chief Legal Counsel

Rene Martello, Director of Finance & Actuary

2:30 p.m. Public comment\* on any of the presenting agencies

2:45 p.m. BREAK

3:00 p.m. Work Session – EAIC's Work Plan Options and Study Priorities

Erin Sullivan, Research Analyst

a. Discussion of Work Plan and Decision Matrix

b. Member Topics

c. Public Comment\* on Work Plan and Interim Study

d. Committee Action

4:15 p.m. Public Comment\* on any topic in the Committee's Jurisdiction

4:30 p.m. Meeting Wrap Up

a. Additional Instructions to Staff

b. Next Meeting

\* Public comment provided in person or remotely at a committee meeting is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the Internet. Public comment submitted in writing at a committee meeting is a public record that will be posed to the legislative Web site as part of the minutes log for the committee meeting.

## **Public Participation in the Committee Meeting**

The public may attend the meeting and offer public comment in the Capitol or provide public comment either remotely via Zoom or in writing.

<u>To offer public comment via Zoom</u> during the meeting, please submit the <u>online form for remote participation</u>. You will receive an email with the login information by 5 p.m. the night before the meeting. The committee may be slightly ahead of or behind the time scheduled for public comment on the agenda.

Written public comments may be submitted either through the <u>online form for written comment</u> or by mailing the comments to the Economic Affairs Interim Committee, PO Box 201706, Helena, MT 59620.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Lenore Adams at 406-444-4456 or leadams@mt.gov as soon as possible before the meeting date.