

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS Dan Bartel Bob Brown Willis Curdy Pat Flowers Steve Hinebauch Theresa Manzella HOUSE MEMBERS Paul Fielder Steve Gunderson Jedediah Hinkle Jonathan Karlen Rhonda Knudsen Marilyn Marler COMMITTEE STAFF Joe Carroll - Attorney Jason Mohr - Research Analyst Jolanda Songer - Secretary PUBLIC MEMBERS Mike Freeman Dave Galt Jim Keane Jon Metropoulos Dan Vermillion

MINUTES LOG

December 06, 2023

Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Rep. Steve Gunderson, Chair (R) Sen. Willis Curdy, Vice Chair (D) Rep. Paul Fielder (R) Mike Freeman, Public Member Dave Galt, Public Member Sen. Steve Hinebauch (R) Rep. Jedediah Hinkle (R) Rep. Jonathan Karlen (D) Rep. Rhonda Knudsen (R) Sen. Theresa Manzella (R) Rep. Marilyn Marler (D) Jon Metropoulos, Public Member

MEMBERS PRESENT IN PERSON:

Jim Keane, Public Member

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Sen. Dan Bartel (R) Sen. Bob Brown (R) Sen. Pat Flowers (D) Dan Vermillion

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Joe Carroll, Attorney - Via Zoom Jason Mohr, Research Analyst Jolanda Songer, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

10:04:37 Presiding Officer Gunderson called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. The committee secretary took roll.

MEETING OVERVIEW

- 10:07:26 Jason Mohr, Research Analyst
- 10:11:39 Joe Carroll, Attorney
- 10:16:15 Presiding Officer Gunderson
- 10:16:24 Sen. Bartel joined the meeting.
- 10:16:35 Jon Metropoulos joined the meeting
- 10:17:01 Rep. Fielder directed a question to Joe Carroll.
- 10:18:10 Rep. Marler directed a question to Jason Mohr.
- 10:20:39 Presiding Officer Gunderson directed a question to John Olson, Remote Meeting Coordinator.
- 10:23:12 Rep. Marler
- 10:24:21 Rep. Fielder

<u>REVIEW ON BALLOT INITIATIVE 193 – Revise lawful method of hunting on landowner's</u> private property.

OPENING STATEMENT

10:24:59 Rick Schoening, Retired Game Warden, Lake County

PROPONENT PUBLIC COMMENT

10:30:45 Rep. Read, HD 93, Ronan

OPPONENT PUBLIC COMMENT

- 10:40:30 Patrick Yawakie, Director, People's Food Sovereignty Program, Flathead Reservation
- 10:46:22 Kathleen Hadley, Deer Lodge Valley
- 10:48:33 Kevin Farron, Montana Chapter of Backcountry Hunters and Anglers, Missoula
- 10:50:36 Randall Knowles, Great Falls
- 10:52:18 Frank Szollosi, Executive Director, Montana Wildlife Federation, Missoula
- 10:55:29 Jennifer Finley, Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes Council, Polson
- 10:56:55 Rich Janssen Jr., Head of Department of Natural Resources, Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes (CSKT)
- 10:58:19 Mike Mershon
- 10:59:23 Jock Conyngham, reservation landowner and Montana Sportsmen Alliance, Evaro
- 11:01:52 Andrew Posewitz, Clancy
- 11:04:21 Tom McDonald, Chairman, CSKT
- 11:07:37 John Sullivan, Missoula
- 11:09:33 John Harrison, Staff Attorney, CSKT <u>EXHIBIT 1</u> (Public testimony CSKT)
- 11:14:36 KC York, Trap Free Montana, Bitterroot Valley
- 11:16:07 Ta'jin Perez, Deputy Executive Director, Western Native Voice, Billings

CLOSING STATEMENT

11:19:55 Rick Schoening

QUESTIONS FROM COMMITTEE

- 11:24:35 Rep. Hinkle directed a question to Jason Mohr.
- 11:25:17 Presiding Officer Gunderson
- 11:25:36 Rep. Hinkle directed a question to Rep. Read.
- 11:33:09 Rick Schoening
- 11:35:41 Rep. Marler
- 11:36:27 Vice Presiding Officer Curdy directed a question to Joe Carroll.

- 11:37:18 Rep. Fielder directed a question to Rep. Read.
- 11:39:14 Vice Presiding Officer Curdy directed a question to John Harrison.
- 11:46:05 Rep. Hinkle directed a question to Rick Schoening.

COUNCIL ACTION TO "SUPPORT OR NOT SUPPORT PLACEMENT OF THE PROPOSED STATEWIDE INITIATIVE TEXT ON HTE BALLOT" (13-27-228, MCA)

- 11:48:52 Presiding Officer Gunderson
- 11:49:11 Jason Mohr
- 11:49:38 Rep. Marler
- 11:49:56 Jason Mohr
- 11:50:20 Rep. Marler
- 11:50:34 Joe Carroll

MOTION

- 11:51:23 Rep. Marler moved to support placement of the proposed statewide initiative text on the ballot.
- 11:51:32 Rep. Marler
- 11:52:43 Rep. Karlen
- 11:55:42 Sen. Hinebauch
- 11:56:16 Rep. Fielder
- 11:57:11 Rep. Hinkle
- 11:59:06 Council Member Keane
- 12:00:33 Rep. Karlen
- 12:01:33 Presiding Officer Gunderson
- 12:04:02 Joe Carroll
- 12:04:25 Rep. Marler
- 12:04:44 Joe Carroll
- 12:05:01 Council Member Keane
- 12:05:16 Vice Presiding Officer Curdy

12:05:47	Council Member Galt
12:06:17	Jason Mohr
12:06:32	Presiding Officer Gunderson
12:06:58	Jason Mohr shared the proxies for the councilmembers who are absent.
VOTE 12:08:02	Motion failed 8 – 8 by roll call vote with Sen. Curdy, Rep. Karlen, Rep. Marler, Dave Galt, Jim Keane, Jon Metropolous, and Dan Vermillion voting no and Sen. Flowers voting no by proxy.
40.40.00	

- 12:10:08 Joe Carroll
- 12:10:46 Jason Mohr

ADJOURNMENT12:11:13Presiding Officer Gunderson adjourned the meeting at 12:11 p.m.