

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 **HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704** (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE FREEMAN

HOUSE MEMBERS PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON - Chair JEDEDIAH HINKLE JONATHAN KARLEN RHONDA KNUDSEN MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS DAN BARTEL BOB BROWN WILLIS CURDY - Vice Chair JON METROPOULOS PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS JIM KEANE DAVE GALT DAN VERMILLION

COUNCIL STAFF JASON MOHR, Research Analyst TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

BLM Miles City Field Office Attn: Irma Nansel 111 Garryowen Road Miles City, MT 59301

July 26, 2023

Please accept this letter as a formal comment on the Draft Supplemental EIS/RMP Amendment regarding the 2021 ROD/Approved RMPA.

The Montana Environmental Quality Council (EQC) today voted 10-5 with one abstaining in favor of Alternative A for the Resource Management Plan for Eastern Montana BLM land for its positive environmental, social, and economic impacts.

Created by the 1971 Montana Environmental Policy Act, the EQC is a committee of the Legislature that includes 12 legislators and four public members. The EQC generates information, reviews, and appraises state programs, conducts investigations and studies, develop, and recommends policy, and generally promotes a unified effort in carrying out state policy for the enhancement of the state's natural, economic, and social environments.

Sincerely,

Atthe

Rep. Steve Gunderson, **Presiding Officer**