

# **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR
GREG GIANFORTE
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE
MIKE FREEMAN

HOUSE MEMBERS
PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDDIAH HINKLE
JONATHAN KARLEN
RHONDA KNUDSEN
MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS
DAN BARTEL
BOB BROWN
WILLIS CURDY
PAT FLOWERS
STEVE HINEBAUCH
THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS
JIM KEANE
DAVE GALT
JON METROPOULOS
DAN VERMILLION

COUNCIL STAFF
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst

#### DRAFT Agenda

# ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL Montana State Capitol, Room 317 July 26, 2023

NOTE: AGENDA TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

#### Wednesday July 26, 2023

8:00 a.m. Call to Order - Roll Call

Sen. Bob Brown

8:05 a.m. **Administrative matters** 

- Committee member introductions
- Staff introductions Mr. Kolman
- Adoption of EQC rules (Tab 1)
- Election of the EQC Chair and Vice Chair

8:40 a.m. **Interim Overview** 

- Overview of Work Plan, Mr. Kolman (Tab 2)
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

9:00 a.m. Department of Natural Resources and Conservation – Director Amanda Kaster

- Agency Overview <u>organizational chart</u>, <u>goals</u> (Tab 3)
- Legislative Update
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

9:45 a.m. BREAK

10:00 Fire and Water updates -- DNRC

- Fire season update, Wyatt Frampton, Deputy Forestry Administrator
- Water Supply update, Michael Downey, Drought Program Corrdinator
- Drought Plan; Comprehensive Water Review, Anna Pakenham Stevenson, Water Division Administrator
- Public comment

- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

## 11:00 a.m. **Department of Environmental Quality –** Deputy Director James Fehr

- Agency Overview <u>organizational chart</u>, <u>goals</u> and legislative updates (Tab 4)
  - Sonja Nowakowski, Air, Energy and Mining Division Administrator
  - Amy Steinmetz, Waste Management and Remediation Division Administrator
  - Lindsey Kyrwaruchka Water Quality Division Administrator
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

#### 11:45 a.m. Libby asbestos Superfund Oversight Committee report (Tab 5)

- Amy Steinmetz, DEQ
- Oversight committee members
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

#### Noon Lunch

## 1:00 p.m. Yellowstone River spill update

- James, Fehr, DEQ
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

#### 1:15 p.m. **Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks** - Director Dustin Temple

- Agency Overview <u>organizational chart</u>, <u>goals</u> (**Tab 6**)
- Legislative Update
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

#### 2:00 p.m. Wolf Report (Tab 7)

- Ken McDonald, Wildlife Division Administrator, FWP
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

#### 2:30 p.m. Draft Elk Plan (Tab 8)

- Brian Wakeling, Game Management Bureau Chief FWP
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

## 3:00 p.m. <u>Grizzly bear management proposal (Tab 8)</u>

- Quentin Kujala, Chief of Conservation Policy, FWP
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC



# **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR
GREG GIANFORTE
DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE
MIKE FREEMAN

HOUSE MEMBERS
PAUL FIELDER
STEVE GUNDERSON
JEDEDIAH HINKLE
JONATHAN KARLEN
RHONDA KNUDSEN
MARILYN MARLER

SENATE MEMBERS
DAN BARTEL
BOB BROWN
WILLIS CURDY
PAT FLOWERS
STEVE HINEBAUCH
THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS
JIM KEANE
DAVE GALT
JON METROPOULOS
DAN VERMILLION

COUNCIL STAFF
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst
TREVOR GRAFF, Research Analyst
JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary
JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff
JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst
JASON MOHR, Research Analyst

Committee action, if any

#### 3:30 **Committee Updates**

- Trevor Graff, ETIC
- Jason Mohr, WPIC
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

#### 3:45 p.m. BLM Coal Screen Amendment

- Sen. Hinebauch
- Questions/discussion EQC
- Public comment
- Committee action, if any

#### 4:00 p.m. Statutory <u>administrative rule review</u> (Tab 1)

- General overview Mr. Carroll
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

#### 4:10 p.m. **Interim Work Plan**

- Member topics
- Prioritization of work
- Draft meeting calendar
- Public comment
- Questions/discussion -- EQC
- Committee action, if any

## 4:45 p.m. **Public comment**

• Any matter not contained in this agenda that is within EQC jurisdiction

Other business Instructions to staff

Adjourn

#### Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at <a href="http://leg.mt.gov/eqc">http://leg.mt.gov/eqc</a>.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so. Please email jkolman@mt.gov with your name and a request and you will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment may be sent via email in advance of the meeting to jkolman@mt.gov and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Joe Kolman (jkolman@mt.gov, 406-444-3747) as soon as possible before the meeting date.