

# **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE FREEMAN HOUSE MEMBERS PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON – Chair JEDEDIAH HINKLE JONATHAN KARLEN RHONDA KNUDSEN MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS DAN BARTEL BOB BROWN WILLIS CURDY – Vice Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS JIM KEANE DAVE GALT JON METROPOULOS DAN VERMILLION COUNCIL STAFF JASON MOHR, Research Analyst TONI HENNEMAN, Research Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff

# FINAL agenda Environmental Quality Council

Nov. 13, 2023 Room 317

Agenda times are approximate

Monday, Nov. 13

8:30 a.m. Call to order, roll call

• Chairman Gunderson

8:35 a.m. Update from Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ): MEPA listening sessions, transfer of hard rock mining permits, sewage dumping by street campers

- Chris Dorrington, director, DEQ
- Public comment
- Council questions

### 9 a.m. Overview of HJ18 (Study remediation of Smurfit-Stone mill site)

- Jason Mohr, council staff
- 9:15 a.m. Opening remarks on HJ18
  - Rep. Karlen

9:30 a.m. Frenchtown Smurfit Stone Community Advisory Group (CAG)

- Jeri Delys
- Council questions

### 10 a.m. Former employees at Smurfit-Stone mill site

- Larry Weeks
- Ken Richardson
- Bob Culp
- Council questions

10:30 a.m. History of sampling at mill site

- Elena Evans, division manager, Missoula Valley Water Quality District (Missoula County)
- Council questions

11 a.m. Status of berms, 310 permitting at mill site

- Tim Hall, chairman, Missoula Conservation District
- Council questions

11:30 a.m. Clark Fork River fish consumption advisory

- Trevor Selch, fisheries pollution biologist, Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks
- Council questions

Noon Lunch

1 p.m. Tribal treaty rights

- John Harrison, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes legal office
- Jennifer Harrington, CAG
- Council questions

1:30 p.m. Smurfit-Stone Superfund history and status

- Allie Archer, remedial project manager, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Emma Rott, remedial project manager, EPA
- Mackenzie Meter, community involvement coordinator, EPA
- Council questions

2:30 p.m. Smurfit-Stone Superfund: state role and objectives

- DEQ
- Council questions

3 p.m. Mill site berms and the Montana Dam Safety Act

- Michele Lemieux, supervisor, Dam Safety Section (DNRC)
- Council questions

3:30 p.m. Public comment on HJ18

4 p.m. Administrative rule review

- Joe Carroll, legal staff
- Public comment
- Council questions

4:30 p.m. Adjourn

### Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at <u>http://leg.mt.gov/eqc</u>.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov. Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so on the council website, https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/meeting-info/. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting.



## **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE FREEMAN HOUSE MEMBERS PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON – Chair JEDEDIAH HINKLE JONATHAN KARLEN RHONDA KNUDSEN MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS DAN BARTEL BOB BROWN WILLIS CURDY – Vice Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS JIM KEANE DAVE GALT JON METROPOULOS DAN VERMILLION COUNCIL STAFF JASON MOHR, Research Analyst TONI HENNEMAN, Research Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order.

Written public comment may be sent via the committee website (https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/public-comments-eqc/) and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (jason.mohr@legmt.gov or (406)444-1640)) as soon as possible before the meeting date.