

## **ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL**

#### PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE FREEMAN HOUSE MEMBERS PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON – Chair JEDEDIAH HINKLE JONATHAN KARLEN RHONDA KNUDSEN MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS DAN BARTEL BOB BROWN WILLIS CURDY – Vice Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH THERESA MANZELLA

PUBLIC MEMBERS JIM KEANE DAVE GALT JON METROPOULOS DAN VERMILLION COUNCIL STAFF JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff JASON MOHR, Research Analyst JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary

# FINAL Friday agenda Environmental Quality Council

Jan. 18-19, 2024 Room 317 Agenda times are approximate

### <u>Fri., Jan. 19</u>

9 a.m. State drought plan

- Valerie Kurth, water resource planner, Planning, Implementation and Communications Bureau (DNRC)
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

### 9:30 a.m. Panel on state-federal cooperation and Good Neighbor Authority

- Amanda Kaster, director, DNRC
- Wyatt Frampton, deputy administrator, Forestry Division (DNRC)
- Leanne Marten, regional forester, USFS Region 1
- Clayton Elliott, conservation and government affairs director, Montana Trout Unlimited
- Paul McKenzie, vice president and general manager, Stoltze Land and Lumber Co.
- Julia Altemus, executive director, Montana Wood Products Association
- Greg Chilcott, county commissioner, Ravalli County
- Jason Todhunter, Montana Logging Association
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

10:30 a.m. Policy issues related to coal mining reclamation

- Sonja Nowakowski, administrator, Air, Energy and Mining Division (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

11 a.m. Federal agency and court decisions related to coal mining and reclamation

• Chris Dorrington, director, DEQ

- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

11:30 a.m. Update on Interstate Mining Compact Commission

- Dan Walsh, chief, Mining Bureau (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

Noon Director's reports (including HB190 annual plans)

- Dustin Temple, director, FWP
- Chris Dorrington, director, DEQ
- Amanda Kaster, director, DNRC
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

12:30 p.m. Public comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of EQC

12:45 p.m. Administrative matters

- Position of environmental analyst
  - o Jerry Howe, executive director, Legislative Services Division
  - Committee discussion, action
- Directions to staff

1 p.m. Adjourn

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at <u>http://leg.mt.gov/eqc</u>.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov. Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so on the council website, https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/meeting-info/. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order.

Written public comment may be sent via the committee website (https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/public-comments-eqc/) and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (jason.mohr@legmt.gov or (406)444-1640)) as soon as possible before the meeting date.