

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR GREG GIANFORTE DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE FREEMAN HOUSE MEMBERS PAUL FIELDER STEVE GUNDERSON – Chair JEDEDIAH HINKLE JONATHAN KARLEN RHONDA KNUDSEN MARILYN MARLER SENATE MEMBERS DAN BARTEL WILLIS CURDY – Vice Chair PAT FLOWERS STEVE HINEBAUCH MIKE LANG THERESA MANZELLA PUBLIC MEMBERS JIM KEANE DAVE GALT JON METROPOULOS DAN VERMILLION COUNCIL STAFF JASON MOHR, Lead Staff KATY CALLON, Research Analyst JOE CARROLL, Legal Staff JOLANDA SONGER, Secretary

Environmental Quality Council

March 13-14, 2024 Rooms 317 (Wed.) and 137 (Thurs.) Agenda times are approximate

Wed., March 13 (Room 317)

1 p.m. Call to order, roll call

• Chairman Gunderson

1:05p.m. Meeting overview

- Jason Mohr, council staff
- 1:15 p.m. Backgrounder on Montana Environmental Policy Act
 - Jason Mohr, council staff
 - Public comment
 - Committee questions, discussion

1:45 p.m. HJ18 (Study remediation of Smurfit-Stone mill site)

- Council letter to DNRC on outfall, berm, riprap removal
 Oresiding Officer Gunderson
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

2:15 p.m. Report on progress of future fisheries improvement program (87-1-272)

- FWP
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

2:45 p.m. Biennial report on implementation of Montana Aquatic Invasive Species Act (80-7-1006)

- FWP
- DNRC
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

3:15 p.m. Biennial report on harvest of mountain sheep from Tendoy Mountain herd (87-2-702)

- FWP
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

3:45 p.m. Update from Fish and Wildlife Commission upland gamebird and black bear hunting season-setting

- Commission staff
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

4:30 p.m. Recess

Thurs. March 14 (Room 137)

9 a.m. Administrative rule review

- Joe Carroll, council legal staff
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

9:30 a.m. Overview of Livestock Loss Board

- George Edwards, board staff
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

10 a.m. Policy issues related to hard rock mining and reclamation

- Sonja Nowakowski, administrator, Air, Energy, and Mining Division (DEQ)
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

10:30 a.m. Recovery of critical minerals/rare earth elements from Berkeley Pit

- Matt Vincent, Montana Mining Assoc.
- Mark Thompson, Montana Resources Inc.
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

11 a.m. Wildlife crossings: types and effectiveness, upcoming funding opportunities

- Dwane Kailey, chief operating officer, MDT
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

11:30 a.m. Update on Superfund remediation at Columbia Falls Aluminum Co. site

- Matthew Dorrington, remedial project manager, EPA
- Amy Steinmetz, administrator, Waste Management and Remediation Division (DEQ)
- Katherin Hausrath, supervising attorney, Natural Resources Damage Program
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

Noon Director's reports

- Dustin Temple, director, FWP
- Chris Dorrington, director, DEQ
- Amanda Kaster, director, DNRC
- Public comment
- Committee questions, discussion

12:30 p.m. Public comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of EQC

12:45 p.m. Administrative matters

• Directions to staff

1 p.m. Adjourn

Note:

All meeting materials are available on the EQC website at <u>http://leg.mt.gov/eqc</u>.

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov. Members of the public who wish to participate via Zoom may do so on the council website, https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/meeting-info/. You will be sent instructions for joining and participating by 5 p.m. the day before the meeting.

During times set aside for public comment on the agenda, members of the public who have joined by Zoom may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or Zoom manager. Comments will be taken in order.

Written public comment may be sent via the committee website (https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eqc/public-comments-eqc/) and will be provided to committee members. Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Jason Mohr (jason.mohr@legmt.gov or (406)444-1640)) as soon as possible before the meeting date.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: JERRY HOWE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • RACHEL WEISS, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES • ANGIE CARTER, FINANCIAL MANAGER