REVALUATION CYCLES IN MONT
AND THE U.S.

MONTANA USES 1-YEAR AND 2-YEAR REVALUATION CYCLES

Section , MCA, provides for the length of Montana’s revaluation cycles. By 2025, all property in
Montana will be revalued annually or every 2 years. Class ten forest property is the last class of property
to shift from a 6-year revaluation cycle to a 2-year revaluation cycle.

1-year revaluation cycle
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specified has having a 2-year revaluation transmission, pipelines, natural gas
cycle gathering and distribution, canals and

ditches, and scheduled aitlines

ANNUAL REVALUATION CYCLE MOST COMMON ACROSS US.

Data gathered by the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy and George Washington Institute of Public Policy
shows that 22 states revalued property annually in 2022.1

The other states are roughly split between those that use a period other than one year (2 years, 3 years, 5
years, or more than 5 years) and those that fall into a catchall “other” category. Montana is included in the
“other” group because the revaluation cycle varies by property type.

Notably, 3 states do not have a fixed schedule for revaluation.

1 Significant Features of the Property Tax.
, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy and George Washington Institute of Public

Policy. (Assessment Administration; accessed: 02/20/2024 10:53:24 AM).
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https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0070/part_0010/section_0110/0150-0070-0010-0110.html
https://www.lincolninst.edu/research-data/data-toolkits/significant-features-property-tax/access-property-tax-database/assessment-administration
https://www.lincolninst.edu/research-data/data-toolkits/significant-features-property-tax/access-property-tax-database/assessment-administration
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PHYSICAL REINSPECTION NOT REQUIRED IN MOST STATES

Separate from, but related to, revaluation of property is whether property is physically reinspected.
Twenty-eight states do not require physical reinspection of property. Among the 22 states that do require
reinspection, 15 states have a fixed schedule and 7 states do not use a fixed schedule.2

Montana is among the majority of states that do not require physical reinspection. Section (6)
provides the Department of Revenue (DOR) with various options for gathering property information for
residential, commercial, agricultural, and forest property, including conducting individual property
inspections, reviewing building permits, and reviewing sales verification data and electronic data.

The section also directs DOR in (6)(b) to “conduct a field inspection of a sufficient number of
taxable properties” to complete the reappraisal of residential, commercial, agricultural, and forest

property.

MONTANA VALUATION CYCLES MOSTLY SHORTENED SINCE 1972

The adoption of the new in 1972 required the state to appraise property.

Article VIII, Section 3: The state shall appraise, assess, and equalize the valuation of

all property which is to be taxed in the manner provided by law.

2 Ibid.


https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0070/part_0010/section_0110/0150-0070-0010-0110.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0150/chapter_0070/part_0010/section_0110/0150-0070-0010-0110.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0000/article_0080/part_0010/section_0030/0000-0080-0010-0030.html

Though 1975 legislation required property to be revalued every 5 years,3 the Legislature extended both
the second reappraisal cycle and the third reappraisal cycle by 2 years. By 1991, the Legislature moved in
the opposite direction and shortened the revaluation cycle from 5 years to 3 years.*

After legislation in a 1992 special session extended the first 3-year reappraisal cycle to 4 years, the 1997
Legislature planned to delay the next revaluation until 2007 for residential, commercial, agricultural, and
forest property.> The legislation also marked the first use of phased-in property values: 2% of changed
value would be phased in each year for residential, commercial, agricultural, and forest property.

*For residential, commercial, and agricultural

The 1999 Legislature scrapped the 3-year revaluation cycle, replacing it with a 6-year cycle for
residential, commercial, agricultural, and forest property and providing for a 25% per year phase in of
value for the cycle ending December 31, 2002.6 The legislation provided for a 16.66% phase in for
subsequent reappraisal cycles.

The 6-year revaluation cycle and 16.66% phase in for residential, commercial, agricultural, and forest
property remained in place until 2015, when the Legislature adopted a 2-year revaluation cycle for
residential, commercial, and agricultural property.” Forest property remained on a 6-year revaluation
cycle. With a shorter reappraisal cycle, the phase in for residential, commercial, and agricultural property
was repealed.

The 2023 Legislature made two changes to revaluation cycles: moving forest property to a 2-year
revaluation cycle beginning in 20258 and moving most centrally assessed property from annual valuation
to a 2-year cycle.?

3 Ch. 294, L. 1975.
4 Ch. 680, L. 1991.
5 All other property would be valued annually. Ch. 463, L. 1997.
6 Ch. 584, L. 1999.
7 Ch. 361, L. 2015.
8 Ch. 638, L. 2023.
9 Ch. 424, L.2023.



