



REVENUE INTERIM COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

Becky Beard Greg Hertz Shannon O'Brien Jeremy Trebas **HOUSE MEMBERS**

Larry Brewster Sherry Essmann Paul Fielder Mark Thane **COMMITTEE STAFF**

Jaret Coles - Attorney
LJ Jennings - Secretary
Megan Moore - Research Analyst

MINUTES LOG

January 22, 2024 Capitol Room 317 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Becky Beard, Chair (R)

Rep. Mark Thane, Vice Chair (D)

Rep. Larry Brewster (R)

Rep. Sherry Essmann (R)

Rep. Paul Fielder (R)

Sen. Greg Hertz (R)

Sen. Shannon O'Brien (D)

Sen. Jeremy Trebas (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Jaret Coles, Attorney
LJ Jennings, Secretary
Megan Moore, Research Analyst

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

12:01:42 Presiding Officer Beard called the meeting to order at 12:01 PM. The committee

secretary took roll.

REVENUE ESTIMATING AND MONITORING

12:03:08 Sam Schaefer, LFD

EXHIBIT1 EXHIBIT2

Committee Discussion/Questions

12:19:31 Vice Presiding Officer Thane

REVENUE ESTIMATING AND MONITORING-Cont'd

12:22:28 Sam Schaefer, LFD

Public Comment on Revenue Estimating and Monitoring

12:26:52 NONE

TAX CREDIT REVIEW: PRESERVATION OF HISTORIC BUILDINGS

12:27:17 Megan Moore, Lead Staff, LSD

EXHIBIT3 EXHIBIT4

Committee Discussion/Questions

12:43:07 Vice Presiding Officer Thane

12:44:09 Rep. Essmann

Public Comment on Tax Credit Review

12:46:03 NONE

TAX CREDIT REVIEW: PRESERVATION OF HISTORIC BUILDINGS-Work Session

12:46:54 Megan Moore (See Exhibit 5)
12:48:52 Presiding Officer Beard Rep.
12:50:01 Brewster
12:51:25 Rep. Essmann

2024 INCOME TAX CHANGES OVERVIEW

12:53:31 Jaret Coles, Staff Attorney, LSD

EXHIBIT5 EXHIBIT6

Public Comment on 2024 Income Tax Changes Overview

13:32:29 Sen. O'Brien

13:32:40 NONE

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

13:33:12 Scott Mendenhall, Deputy Director, DOR

Income and Property Tax Rebate Update

13:36:52 Derek Bell, Administrator, Business and Income Tax Division,

DOR EXHIBIT7

Committee Discussion/Questions

13:40:25 Rep. Fielder

Update on 2024 Qualified Education Donations Portal

13:41:15 Tony Zammit,

DOR EXHIBIT8

Committee Discussion/Questions

13:43:28 Sen. O'Brien

<u>Implementation of Income Tax Changes</u>

13:45:08 Jake Ford, Bureau Chief, Income and Withholding Taxes Bureau, DOR

Committee Discussion/Questions

13:52:10 Rep. Brewster 13:52:25 Rep. Fielder

13:55:01 Presiding Officer Beard

Land Classification Study Working Group Update

13:55:50 Scott Mendenhall, Deputy Director

EXHIBIT9

Committee Discussion/Questions

14:00:15 Presiding Officer Beard

Major Case Update

14:01:16 David Stewart, Chief Legal Counsel

EXHIBIT10

Public Comment on Department of Revenue

14:06:25 NONE

ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW

14:07:13 Jaret Coles

EXHIBIT11

Public Comment on Administrative Rule Review

14:09:59 NONE

RECESS

14:40:25 Reconvened

PROPERTY TAX MODERNIZATION STUDY: TAX INCREMENT FINANCING

14:40:43 Megan Moore

EXHIBIT12

EXHIBIT13

	onsiderations
14:44:24	Robin Rude, Deputy Administrator, Property Assessment Division, DOF
"Blighted A	Area" Panel Discussion
14:48:00	Courtney Ellis, Attorney, Dorsey & Whitney
	EXHBIT14
Committee	Discussion/Questions
15:00:45	Sen. Hertz
	Area" Panel Discussion-Cont'd
15:04:04	Karen Byrnes, Community Development Director, Butte-Silver Bow
15:08:42	David Fine, Urban Renewal Program Manager, Bozeman
15:18:55	Susan Nicosia, City Manager, Columbia Falls
Committee	EXHIBIT15 Discussion/Questions
15:27:09	Rep. Brewster to David Fine
15:27:37	Rep. Essmann to Karen Byrnes
15:28:01	Vice Presiding Officer Thane to Courtney Ellis
15:30:10	Rep. Fielder left the meeting.
15:30:51	Redirected to David Fine
15:33:17	Sen. Hertz
15:35:51	Sen. Trebas
15:36:06	Presiding Officer Beard to Karen Byrnes
15:40:11	Presiding Officer Beard to Courtney Ellis
A dual in latura	tive Medele Denel Discussion
15:43:59	<u>Itive Models Panel Discussion</u> Wyeth Friday, Planning and Community Services Director, Billings
15:55:22	Ellen Buchanan, Director, Missoula Redevelopment Agency
16:04:30	Julie Foster, Executive Director, Ravalli County Economic Development
10.04.00	Authority
	EXHIBIT16
16:05:12	Sen. Trebas left the meeting.
16:08:32	Neil Cardwell, City Manager, Belgrade
16:09:15	EXHIBIT17 Sen. Trebas joined the meeting.
10.00.10	com. Trobad James the theothig.
	Discussion/Questions
16:14:46	Sen. Trebas
Public Con	nment on Property Tax Modernization Study: Tax Increment Financing
16:17:39	Bob Story, Montana Taxpayers Association
16:22:33	Todd O'Hair, Montana Chamber of Commerce
16:24:37	Kelly Lynch, Executive Director, Montana League of Cities and Towns

16:27:06 Jeff Essmann, Self

16:39:07 Vice Presiding Officer Thane

PROPERTY TAX APPEALS

16:40:13 Robin Rude

Committee Discussion/Questions

16:42:24 Presiding Officer Beard

Public Comment on Anything Within the Committee's Jurisdiction

16:43:02 Kate Cholewa, Montana Cannabis Association

16:45:34 Jeff Essmann

RECESSED

16:47:37 Presiding Officer Beard recessed the meeting until January 23, 2024.