



REVENUE INTERIM COMMITTEE 68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

Becky Beard Greg Hertz Shannon O'Brien Jeremy Trebas

HOUSE MEMBERS

Larry Brewster Sherry Essmann Paul Fielder Mark Thane

COMMITTEE STAFF

Jaret Coles - Attorney LJ Jennings - Secretary Megan Moore - Research Analyst

MINUTES LOG

March 22, 2024 Capitol Room 137 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Becky Beard, Chair (R)

Rep. Mark Thane, Vice Chair (D)

Rep. Larry Brewster (R)

Rep. Sherry Essmann (R)

Rep. Paul Fielder (R)

Sen. Greg Hertz (R)

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

Sen. Jeremy Trebas (R)

Sen. Shannon O'Brien (D)

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Jaret Coles, Attorney
Daniel Rosenberg, Secretary
Megan Moore, Research Analyst

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

08:00:12 Presiding Officer Becky Beard called the meeting to order at 8:00 AM. The

committee secretary took roll.

AGENCY MONITORING: MONTANA TAX APPEAL BOARD

08:01:11 Dave McAlpin, Chair, Montana Tax Appeal Board

> EXHIBIT1 **EXHIBIT2** EXHIBIT3

08:04:31 Sen. Jeremy Trebas joined the meeting.

Committee Questions/Discussion

08:12:23 Presiding Officer Becky Beard

08:12:28 Dave McAlpin

Public Comment on Montana Tax Appeal Board

08:12:45 None

REVENUE ESTIMATING AND MONITORING

08:13:06 Sam Schaefer, Lead Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD)

Susie Lindsay, Lead Fiscal Analyst, LFD 08:14:06

> EXHIBIT4 EXHIBIT5

Julia Pattin, Fiscal Analyst, LFD 08:40:09

Committee Questions/Discussion

08:48:54 Sen. Greg Hertz

08:51:11 Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane

Public Comment on Revenue Estimating and Monitoring

08:52:53 Bob Story, Montana Taxpayers Association

Tax Credit Review: Qualified Endowment Tax Credit

Overview of Credit

08:56:47

Megan Moore, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division (LSD)

EXHIBIT6

Required Report on Qualified Endowment Credit

09:09:02 Aaron McNay, Economist, Department of Revenue (DOR)

EXHIBIT7

Public Comment on Qualified Endowment Tax Credit

09:15:32 Mary Rutherford, Montana Community Foundation

EXHIBIT8

Work Session

09:19:16 Megan Moore

EXHIBIT9

Committee Questions/Discussion

09:20:22 Sen. Greg Hertz

09:21:26 Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane09:22:02 Presiding Officer Becky Beard

MOTION

09:23:18 Sen. Greg Hertz moved to retain the Qualified Endowment Credit as is.

VOTE

09:23:35 Carried unanimously by voice vote.

AGENCY MONITORING: DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE (DOR)

Land Classification Study Working Group Update

09:24:27 Scott Mendenhall, Deputy Director, DOR

Committee Questions/Discussion

09:32:36 Sen. Jeremy Trebas

Property Appeals Update

09:34:23 Paula Gilbert, Administrator, Property Assessment Division, DOR

EXHIBIT10

Major Case Update

09:37:42 Dave Stewart, Chief Legal Counsel, DOR

EXHIBIT11

Committee Questions/Discussion

09:41:43 Rep. Paul Fielder

Required Report: Tax Credits Claimed by Student Scholarship Organizations

09:42:14 Tony Zammit, Deputy Chief Legal Counsel, DOR

EXHIBIT12

09:45:15 Aaron McNay

Committee Questions/Discussion

09:47:50 Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane

Analysis of Property Tax Rebates

09:49:27 Dylan Cole, Tax Policy Analyst, Tax Policy and Research, DOR

EXHIBIT13

Committee Questions/Discussion

10:21:12	Rep. Paul Fielder
10:23:35	Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane
10:25:33	Sen. Jeremy Trebas
10:26:48	Rep. Paul Fielder

Public Comment on Department of Revenue

10:27:57 None

RECESS

10:28:22 Reconvened at 10:34 a.m.

Collection of Additional School Equalization Mills

10:34:29 Terri Kunz, Treasurer, Jefferson County

Committee Questions/Discussion

10:40:08 Sen. Greg Hertz10:41:15 Rep. Sherry Essmann

Collection of Additional School Equalization Mills- Cont'd

10:42:41 Jaret Coles, Staff Attorney, LSD

10:44:57 Terri Kunz

Public Comment on Collection of Additional School Equalization Mills

10:45:34 None

AGENCY MONITORING: ADMINISTRATIVE RULE REVIEW

10:45:51 Jaret Coles EXHIBIT14

Public Comment on Administrative Rule Review

10:46:35 None

Public Comment on any Other Topic Within the Committee's Jurisdiction

10:46:54 None

Committee Work Session

10:47:08	Megan Moore
10:49:07	Sen. Greg Hertz
10:50:19	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
10:51:02	Rep. Paul Fielder
10:51:42	Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane
10:52:22	Sen. Jeremy Trebas
10:52:58	Sen. Greg Hertz
10:53:53	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
10:55:08	Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane

10:56:10	Rep. Sherry Essmann
10:57:27	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
10:57:48	Sen. Greg Hertz
10:58:24	Rep. Sherry Essmann
10:58:39	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:00:55	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:01:12	Sen. Jeremy Trebas
11:03:20	Rep. Larry Brewster
11:04:29	Chair Becky Beard
11:05:56	Rep. Larry Brewster
11:06:25	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:06:40	Rep. Larry Brewster
11:06:45	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:08:44	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:09:13	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:10:44	Vice Presiding Officer Mark Thane
11:11:26	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:12:12	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:13:24	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:13:57	Rep. Sherry Essmann
11:15:22	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:15:55	Rep. Sherry Essmann
11:16:23	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:16:43	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:19:53	Presiding Officer Becky Beard
11:20:09	Sen. Greg Hertz
11:21:20	Presiding Officer Becky Beard

ADJOURNMENT

11:21:31 Presiding Officer Becky Beard adjourned the meeting.