



SELECT COMMITTEE ON ENERGY RESOURCE PLANNING AND ACQUISITION

68th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS

Mike Cuffe Denise Hayman Jacelyn Sterling Daniel Zolnikov

HOUSE MEMBERS

Joshua Kassmier Zac Perry Katie Sullivan

COMMITTEE STAFF

Trevor Graff - Research Analyst Jacelyn Sterling - Secretary Jameson Walker - Attorney

PUBLIC MEMBERS

Robin Arnold Cyndee Fang Jess Melin Jason Brown James Brown Darcy Neigum

MINUTES LOG

August 02, 2023 172 Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at https://leg.mt.gov. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sen. Daniel Zolnikov, Chair (R)
Robin Arnold, Public Member
Sen. Mike Cuffe (R)
Cyndee Fang, Public Member
Sen. Denise Hayman (D)
Rep. Joshua Kassmier (R)
Jess Melin, Public Member
Darcy Neigum, Public Member
Rep. Zac Perry (D)
Rep. Katie Sullivan (D)
James Brown, Public Member
Jason Brown, Public Member

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

STAFF PRESENT:

Trevor Graff, Research Analyst

Jameson Walker, Attorney Jacelyn Sterling, Secretary

AGENDA (Attachment 1)

VISITORS' LIST (Attachment 2)

Introduction and Review of Work Plan 09:28:52 Rep. Parry

COMMITTEE ACTION

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL			
09:01:33	Daniel Zolnikov-R called the meeting to order at 9:01 AM. The committee secretary took roll.		
INTRODUCTIONS OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND STAFF			
09:03:15	Jason Brown, Montana Consumer Council		
09:03:53	Rep. Parry		
09:04:11	Robin Arnold, Renewable Northwest		
09:04:32	James Brown, President, Public Service Commission (PSC)		
09:04:58	Cyndee Fang, Vice President, Regulatory Affairs, Northwestern Energy		
09:05:17	Darcy Neigum, Montana Dakota Utilities		
09:05:37	Sen. Hayman		
09:06:10	Jess Melin, NextEra Energy Resources, Independent Power Producers (IPP)		
09:06:55	Rep. Sullivan		
09:07:10	Sen. Cuffe		
09:08:52	Rep. Kassmier		
09:09:20	Presiding Officer Zolnikov		
09:09:57	Jameson Walker, Legislative Services Division, Attorney		
09:10:17	Trevor Graff, Legislative Services Division (LSD)		
09:10:34	Jacelyn Sterling, Committee Secretary		
09:11:39	Trevor Graff, LSD		
ADOPTION	ADOPTION OF COMMITTEE RULES		
09:14:14	Trevor Graff		
09:19:47	Presiding Officer Zolnikov		
09:20:13	Rep. Parry Moved to Accept the Proposed Rules.		
Vote:			
09:20:13	Carried unanimously by voice vote.		
Election of V	ice Presiding Chair		
09:21:21	Presiding Officer Zolnikov Nominated Rep. Sullivan as Vice Chair.		
09:22:53	Denise Hayman		
Vote:			
09:23:10	Carried unanimously by voice vote.		

	09:29:25	Sen. Cuffe
	09:29:52	Trevor Graff, LSD
	09:30:38	Sen. Cuffe
	09:31:08	Sen. Hayman
	09:32:08	Trevor Graff, LSD
	09:34:36	James Brown, PSC
	09:34:58	Trevor Graff, LSD
	09:37:18	Chair Zolnikov
	09:38:28	Sen. Hayman
	09:38:47	Trevor Graff, LSD
	09:40:01	Sen. Cuffe
	09:41:07	Chair Zolnikov
	09:41:36	Trevor Graff, LSD
Public Comment		
	09:42:20	Will Rosquist, Regulatory Division Administrator, Public Service Commission
	09:42:47	Ben Brouwer, Energy Bureau Chief, Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)

Lucas Hamilton, Chief Legal Counsel, Public Service Commission

09:43:03

ADJOURNMENT
Adjournment: 09:43:36